This business is not BBB accredited.

Cabinets 4U Inc.

Phone: (630) 783-1990 Fax: (630) 783-1992 350 Manor Ct, Bolingbrook, IL 60440

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cabinets 4U Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cabinets 4U Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1988 Business started locally: 05/01/1988 Business incorporated 03/20/1989 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Roger Hirschman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Hirschman, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Cabinets Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Bathroom Remodeling Wood Kitchen Cabinet and Countertop Manufacturing (NAICS: 337110)

Additional Locations


    350 Manor Ct

    Bolingbrook, IL 60440


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was extremely disappointed with the service provided by Cabinets 4 U. First, the owner, *****, improperly measured both sides of my small kitchen which created a myriad of problems and resulted in the remodeling of my little kitchen being finished approximately two months late and costing more than needed. On one side of the kitchen, due to *****'s improper measurements, two cabinets (one upper and one lower) were too deep; hence, the cabinets stuck out into the walkway between the kitchen and dining room. To remedy this problem, the owner's son, ****, came out and sawed the back of these two NEW cabinets to make them fit. This did not turn out well. Although Cabinets 4 U expected me to accept my "modified" cabinets, I refused to accept the upper cabinet due to the shoddy workmanship. Unfortunately, I felt compelled to accept the lower cut cabinet due to the fact that our granite countertop was due to be delivered the following day. Due to the initial late delivery of our cabinets by approximately three weeks and then the problem with the depth, I had previously postponed the installation of the granite countertop on two occasions and wanted to move this nightmare project along. On the opposite side of our kitchen, a mistake on the measurements by ***** did not allow us enough room for our refrigerator. Due to this error, we were unable to use a wood panel that Cabinets 4 U designed into our remodeled kitchen because there was not enough room. I also had to pay my general contractor extra money for labor and materials to make modifications to our plaster wall and new porcelain tile floor. The wall had to be patched and the floor and sub-floor had to be cut to accommodate a floor vent and the original ornate wall vent had to be scrapped. In addition, a new electrical outlet had to be installed which was flush with the wall to replace the standard outlet. None of this would have been necessary if Cabinets 4 U had measured correctly in the first place. The wood panel we were sold was never used because there was no room for it. As stated above, due to these errors by Cabinets 4 U, I paid extra money to my contractor to fix the mistakes that were made with careless measurements. In spite of all the problems that occurred with the rehab of my small kitchen, and the fact that the project took two months longer to finish than promised, Cabinets 4 U sent me a bill for the full amount that we had originally agreed to - as if the project was completed on time and with no hiccups. When I tried to negotiate a settlement with ***** on Friday, October 18th, he acknowledged all his mistakes but when we tried to discuss a compromise, he was unreasonable and threatened to take me to court and to put a lien on my house. He also had the gall to cite the contract I signed as if I was bound by the terms of the contract regardless of his craftsmanship and service. He tried to placate me by saying he sent his son and a worker out to cut down the cabinets at no cost to me. He tried to bully me by saying it will cost more for me to hire an attorney than it will to settle with him. Basically, Cabinets 4 U did sub-standard work on my kitchen and is now expecting to be paid the full amount owed minus a few hundred dollars. Besides the errors with the size of the cabinets and the two extra months of being inconvenienced and the extra money I had to spend, this project caused a lot of stress and many telephone calls to Cabinets 4 U and my general contractor to try and correct the problems Cabinets 4 U caused. And in the end, the remodeled kitchen is not the same as the kitchen was designed. This was a relatively simple remodeling project that was botched from the start by Cabinets 4 U.

Desired Settlement: In short, I want Cabinets 4 U to accept responsibility for its shoddy service and workmanship. I am willing to pay $1000 instead of the $2400 listed on the final invoice sent to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, Presiden Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** One of Mr. *****'s complaints concerns the area to the left of the stove. Yes, the base cabinet was not built to the correct dimensions. As soon as we were made aware of this fact, we came over and cut down the base cabinet so that the dimensions would be correct for the granite. We offered to replace the cabinet, but it was mutually decided to rebuild the interior of this cabinet at no cost to the *****'s. See Exhibit A, lines 1 and 2. The upper cabinet, a W2142L, was built correctly and to the specifications of the *****'s. The drawing, dated 4/25/2013, Exhibit F, clearly reflects that this cabinet "sticks out." I have also included a picture that Mrs. ***** sent me showing how she wanted that cabinet to look. See Exhibit B. Even though the cabinet was built properly and to the specifications requested, we replaced it at no cost to the *****'s. See Exhibit C, line 2. The cabinets were 6 to 8 weeks late coming out of the factory. Talora (the manufacturer) had production problems, and we were caught in the middle. This is a factor beyond our control, and our Contract Form never promises an exact delivery date. See Contract, Exhibit G. The *****'s were well-informed of this. (FYI, if you were to order Talora Cabinets today, you would receive them around February 1, 2014.) I measured the refrigerator wall myself. On a separate occasion two of my installers also measured that wall. We all agreed on the dimensions. We allowed 30" for the refrigerator, a tall end panel 5/8" and 33" for a utility cabinet. That still allowed us over ¾" for a filler to the left of the utility. All these numbers can be verified by the drawing dated 4/25/13. Exhibit F Mrs. ***** provided me the dimensions of the refrigerator-29.625". See Exhibit D A 29.625" refrigerator mathematically will always fit under a 30" wide cabinet. If there were changes to the finished wall or the floor without notifying Cabinets 4U and allowing us to make adjustments in the plans, then the above pieces will not work. The wood panel in question was used by the client's contractor. I am told it was cut and used on the left side of the wall cabinet above the refrigerator. If they didn't use I'll give the client credit for it, but I would like to have it back undamaged. See Exhibit E, line 3. Cost with tax is $192.76 Well yes, I do expect Mr. ***** to honor the contract. That's why we have contracts. One party does not get to change the terms of the contract unilaterally. We have contracts to protect both parties. The fact is that *****'s have a beautiful kitchen. And they have not complained about the wonderful kitchen that is in their house. All issues were dealt with before our final invoice was issued. During this process Mr. *****'s contractor asked us if we could supply him with some molding. We gladly supplied 4 sticks of molding. See Exhibit C, line 1. We never charged the *****'s for this molding, although it was outside the scope of the original Contract. I did not threaten to take Mr. ***** to court or to lien his house. I never want to get into this position. I mentioned to him that this is what happens when people cannot come to an understanding. The courts become the arbitrators of such matters. This is never good and everyone loses. I was trying desperately to get him to talk to me-not issue an ultimatum. He did threaten to take me to the BBB. And he did this before we had any further discussion or any attempt to find a reasonable compromise. Our negotiations started very poorly. Mr. ***** wanted to withhold all of the money left on his signed contract ($2,456) Exhibit F. His first offer was zero dollars. Eventually he offered $1,500. He is now asking to settle for $1,000. I have no idea how to deal with a customer like this. I offered $2,000, if I can have that wood panel returned undamaged. If the panel was used, the settlement is to be$ 2192.76 I also think that it is reasonable to expect that Mr. ***** will offer some sort of letter promising not to denigrate Cabinets 4U in any way and through any format. I also think that this letter needs a substantial dollar penalty if Mr. ***** again decides that he does not have to abide by the conditions of this agreement. ***** ********* President Cabinets 4U Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This "dialogue" is not moving this matter forward. I would like this to be my last response since nothing new is being said. The facts are the same. *****, and only *****, came out and mis-measured the cabinets on the southeast corner of my kitchen. He measured and ordered cabinets to be 25" deep. That is too deep. I don't know how he made that mistake but I suspect he did not take into account the chimney behind the wall and that the cabinets in that corner needed to be approx 5" less deep than the rest of the south side cabinets. On the north side, I assume when he did his measurements, he did not allow any tolerance for the heating vent or electrcial plug on the wall - so he thought the north side wall cabinets could be a few inches wider than they actually could. Due to his errors, when the cabinets came in, there was not enough room for the cabinets and the refrigerator. On the southeast side, when the cabinets arrived, they stuck into the kitchen-dining room walkway (past the molding) by two inches. For ***** to say that is how my wife and I wanted the kitchen designed - having cabinets obstruct the passageway **** the dining room - is obviously a lie. Also, he never offered to hang the cabinets for free. We sent the top cabinet back due to the shoddy workmanship done by Cabinets 4 U in cutting down the cabinets. We waited an additional 5 - 6 weeks for the new cabinet to arrive. We accepted the lower "cut-down" cabinet only because we were receiving our granite countertop the next day and did not want to postpone that delivery again. On the north side of the kitchen, due to *****'s errors, I had to spend additional money to take out the old vent and electrical outlet and have the contractor install a floor vent and different type of outlet. **** ********* of Cabinets 4 U confirmed with my general contractor that it cost me approximately $400 for the his extra work. I have attached a couple of photos showing the wall with the old vent being removed. Although my wife and I could not use the entire "floor to ceiling" board that ***** had designed into our kitchen because there was not enough room, we had to use some of it to compensate for *****'s errors (see my previous statement for a more detailed explanation on that). Prior to my filing my BBB complaint, ***** apologized to both my wife and me on different occasions during telephone calls so he knows it was his errors that caused the aforementioned problems. Thanks to my general contractor's skill and imagination, the kitchen is done and my wife and I are satisfied - but dealing with Cabinets 4 U was and continues to be one headache after another. I have given up thinking that Cabinets 4 U will accept responsibility for their mistakes. I recommend that the BBB make a recommendation on what would be fair compensation for Cabinets 4 U so that we may move this matter closer to resolution. I have never had a problem with a contractor before and am anxious to never have to correspond with Cabinets 4 U again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/18) */ Let me start by quoting Mr. *****: "We were able to get our kitchen done to our satisfaction." We are probably the only cabinet company in Chicago that does not require full payment with the order. That's because we always take responsibility for the kitchen. Mr. ***** goes on to say that it was "not because of ***** and Cabinets 4U but in spite of *****." Cabinets 4U provided all of the material, much of it free, and sent our installation crew there twice. We even offered to hang the cabinets for free to expedite this kitchen. ***** (me) and Cabinets 4U were hardly passive ********** We were involved in the process from the very beginning to the very end so that Mr. & Mrs. ***** would have a kitchen "done to their satisfaction." Since the matter has already been settled that the *****'s have their kitchen "to their satisfaction" and almost all of his issues have been addressed, let me bullet point a few responses: * I did not "conveniently" forget to enclose any drawings. I have sent you the drawings I have and the drawings to which we agreed. The drawings I sent clearly show the chimney chase and the set back. It also shows the depth of the cabinets. Mr. *****'s photos confirm exactly our position. * The upper cabinet was ordered per a photo from the *****'s. This is from a neighbor so the *****'s knew exactly what they were getting and what they wanted. Mr. ***** says, "...obviously, the upper cabinet was never supposed to stick out into the passageway..." There is no "obviously" about it. I was told this is the look they wanted. Our drawing (Exhibit F) clearly shows the relationship of that cabinet to the wall and other surrounding cabinets. * The bottom cabinet does stick into the molding. In a kitchen as small as this you fight for every inch you can get. We all agreed that we would leave the bottom cabinet as is. Both cabinets still left a clear passage ******* the two rooms. And, while I still believe we ordered the upper cabinet correctly, we changed that cabinet at our cost. We reconfigured the lower cabinet per our agreement from the *****'s. * To insist that they needed the cabinet for the granite is incorrect. They had a cabinet to use for the granite template, and I offered to reorder that cabinet along with the upper cabinet. * Let's be realistic here. Cabinets 4U did not try to "pawn off" any cabinets. We did not and could not have reworked the cabinet without the permission and consent from the *****'s. * Mr. ***** cites photographs 3 and 14 to show that if we had added "4-5 inches to the current..." cabinet, it would protrude into the doorway. Mr. *****'s own photographs support our contention that this has been resolved to Mr. *****'s satisfaction. * Particularly, photograph #3 shows the relationship of the cabinet to the range. Two things to note here. One: The bottom cabinet is clearly not in any passage **** Two: that bottom cabinet is actually inside the plane of the range front. * In the original complaint, and I quote, Mr. ***** says "The wood panel we were sold was never used because there was no room for it." And yet, Mr. *****, in photograph #8, clearly shows us that very panel that he does not want to pay for because it was "never used." Previously, I did not have proof that this panel was actually used and I said so. I had only been "told" it was cut and used. If I was wrong I was willing to "give the client credit for it." Mr. ***** provided the proof that I was correct: the panel was used and should be paid for. * I am having a difficult time understanding Mr. *****'s reasoning behind the "free molding." Mr. ***** states, "if the kitchen design and implementation had been flawless wouldn't the molding be part of the original price?" He then goes on to state that the molding was needed to correct the problems created by *****. (The molding was, in fact, needed and requested by the contractor for the unlevel ceiling). What's his complaint here? I gave him the molding for free. According to Mr. ***** the molding should have been included in the price and he should have had to pay for it, but he didn't. Is he saying that he now wants to pay for it? * Just to give the BBB some perspective on tolerances for refrigerators, it is industry standard to put a 30"wide opening and cabinet for a refrigerator that is anything less than 30" wide. Cabinets 4U recognizes our vulnerable position when we let customers have our product without payment. But we are confident that we will service our customers until they are happy and full payment is made. We have been in business for over 25 years, and this philosophy has served us well. We do not expect our customers to abuse our good will. And, if problems arise, we expect to work them out together. Mr. ***** has the advantage of holding Cabinets 4U's money. Mr. ***** has nothing to lose by filing this complaint. Anything he can save is bonus money for little or no effort on his part. Our goal is for all customers to say, as Mr. ***** did, "We were able to get our kitchen done to our satisfaction." -------------------------------------------------- 12/3/13 additional info from business: I agree with Mr. *****. This has gone on long enough. I just need to respond to clarify a few points. 1. I am not a liar. 2. In correspondence 1: Mr. ***** says, "The wood panel we were sold was never used." Correspondence 2: Mr. ***** shows us a picture of it installed. When called out about this he changed his story: "I could not use the entire floor to ceiling board..." Sorry, but a little used is used. 3. Mr. ***** is obfuscating the facts about the cabinets to left of the range. A.Yes, the base cabinet was ordered too deep -- 25" instead of 18". Cabinets 4U cut the 25" deep cabinet down to the 18" so that there would be a template cabinet for the granite. The *****'s decided to keep this cabinet rather than have us order a new cabinet. We then ordered the drawer box and proper hardware for an 18" deep cabinet. We also ordered new hardware and new sliding shelves for the lower part of the cabinet. We furnished and installed this for free, of course. It cost Cabinets 4U more money than if we had just replaced the cabinet. B. The wall cabinet that is above this base cabinet was designed to be 12" deep. A W2142. The *****'s agreed to this and even sent us a picture of how a neighbor's kitchen was designed. We duplicated this with that 12" deep cabinet. See "Exhibit B". Since this cabinet is only 12" deep, and is placed above an 18" deep cabinet, it never even approached intruding "into the kitchen-dining room walkway." I believe that it was their contractor that suggested an even smaller, in depth, cabinets. Cabinets 4U replaced the W2142 with a cabinet only 7" deep - again at our cost even though all evidence show the *****'s requested, ordered, and received the proper depth cabinet. 4. Cabinets 4U had no part in the contracting work in this kitchen. We were never asked any questions. Plans were given to the *****'s so they had plenty of opportunity to discuss details with their contractor. Somehow the fact that a vent and an outlet had to be moved was missed in the contractor's original bid. Whether the *****'s had to pay him extra money before the cabinets arrived or after they arrived is really the same. It needed to be done to accommodate the drawings that they had in their possession. Cabinets 4U has/had no idea what arrangements the *****'s made with their contractor. Here are the distilled facts about this kitchen: The *****'s signed a contract for $4,521.66. Cabinets 4U promised to deliver a "kitchen done to our satisfaction." We did everything within our control to make this happen. After several months, plus three separate rounds of correspondence with the BBB, the *****'s have not presented even one thing on a punch list. Not even one! Everything has been "done to our satisfaction." Cabinets 4U never abandoned the *****'s. We never billed them for the extra material, never billed them for design changes, and never billed them for any labor. We worked with their contractor and did everything we could to insure that the *****'s had a beautiful kitchen that satisfied them. The *****'s signed the contract for $4,521.66. They paid a deposit of $2,000. They still owe Cabinets 4U $2,521.66 for product they received and used.