BBB Accredited Business since

Safeguard Business Advantage

Phone: (801) 341-3555 Fax: (801) 341-3997 600 Central Ave Ste 228, Highland Park, IL 60035

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safeguard Business Advantage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Safeguard Business Advantage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safeguard Business Advantage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2012 Business started: 01/19/2012 Business started locally: 01/19/2012 Business incorporated 01/19/2012 in MO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Christiansen, Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Christiansen, Counsel
Number of Employees


Business Category

Business Consultants Coaching - Business Tax Return Preparation Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Business Services - General Business Plan Preparation Bookkeeping Service Process, Physical Distribution, and Logistics Consulting Services (NAICS: 541614)

Alternate Business Names
Universal Small Business Solutions LLC
Products & Services

Tax Preparation
Audit Representation
Entrepreneurial Library
Entity Setup
Corporate Credit

Asset Protection
Phone Consultations
Business Plan

Additional Locations

  • 600 Central Ave Ste 228

    Highland Park, IL 60035


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 20, I purchased from Safeguard, a 2 tax return program to be able to understand the in's and out's of the Real Estate investment. The gentle man I talked with ( I do not have his name) told me that their would be a program on line that I would be able to follow as well as assistance to do my taxes. They called me once to make sure that had the right person and I have not heard from them since. I am waiting on the program, and I tried to get ahold of Safeguard and they have some faulty phone system because It keeps hanging up on me. When I read the paper I received from Safeguard about what I was purchasing, I felt he told me I would be getting more. The information on the paper to me is bogus, I could have went to a CPA to get this right here in my hometown. I can not get ahold of these people and what they told me I was getting and what I am supposedly getting is 2 different things. I want my money back and any money they are taking away from me monthly stopped.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking all they money I have paid them and any money they are taking from my charge account for monthly services to be stopped. $1795.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ Contact Name and Title:****************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email:********************* Thank you for allowing me to respond to Ms. *****'s Complaint. On April 13, 2015, I spoke with Ms. ***** about her purchase, and informed her the company would cancel her account. The company is already in the process of honoring her cancellation request. I am a little displeased that Ms. Bowers filed a complaint after we had already agreed to provide the refund. With that in mind, the refund is being processed and she should have it in the next seven days. Thank you, ****

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/31/2014, I talked with************ about setting up a C-corp and an LLC. A full refund of the $3,495 was promised if I decided not to proceed. I talked to******************* a sub-contracted attorney who actually sets up these entities, on Tuesday October 4, 2014 and decided not to proceed. Both I and **** notified************ of my decision not to proceed. I left a voicemail on 10/4 with **** which he responded to via email. They will not even pick up the phone. I have disputed the charge with VISA and am waiting for an update.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the $3,495 which they charged my VISA card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************** I spoke to Mr. ***** yesterday, and the company is going to refund him in full.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 25, 2014, my mother, my husband and myself, as business partners, entered into an agreement with Safeguard Business Advantage for their premium tax package. At the point that we authorized the debit from our respective accounts, the Safeguard representative, Mike Watson, scheduled an appointment for an initial consultation via teleconference for February 27, 2014. A representative of the business was to call at 6:30 PM that evening to discuss next steps. The representative failed to call. We called on February 28, 2014, to advise that we wanted to cancel the agreement, and in an effort to retain our business, Safeguard scheduled another teleconference appointment for March 4, 2014 (outside of the rescission period). A second time, the Safeguard representative failed to honor the appointment. At this point, the partnership made a final decision to terminate the arrangement. A cancellation of service was sent via certified mail, requesting a full refund. Safeguard has refused to issue the refund, and the partnership is now incurring interest charges. Safeguard made it impossible to cancel within a three-day period by scheduling the appointments outside of the cancellation period.

Desired Settlement: The primary reason for signing up with Safeguard at the time that we did, was for their tax service to include 2014 federal tax preparation. Safeguard failed to perform it's duties, and are, therefore in breach. A full refund is expected immediately. Failure to issue a full refund will result in litigation, and the expectation that Safeguard also cover interest charges dating back to the date the charge was made, February 26, 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ************ Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@*************** Thank you for allowing me to respond to **. ******'s complaint. I have spent the last few days trying to determine the facts of the situation. It does appear,***. ****** purchased the services from Safeguard Business Advantage. It also appears that the representative who was assigned to provide the tax services unintentionally missed his appointment with her. At this point, Safeguard will issue a full refund to Ms. ******. A representative will contact her today. Thank you **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Though not outlined in the initial complaint, the request was for a full refund, which was to include the monthly fees that have been charged to date, and immediate discontinuance of the monthly charges, as we are not receiving any kind of a service for those fees. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/07) */ Ms. ******, I will request a refund of everything Ms. ****** paid. Thank you, ****

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/23/2013 Delivery Issues