BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Architectural Builders Supply

Find a Location

Phone: (773) 809-3667Fax: (773) 341-7498210 E School Lane, Prospect HeightsIL 60070-2547 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Architectural Builders Supply is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Architectural Builders Supply's rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Architectural Builders Supply

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/24/2013Delivery Issues
11/05/2013Delivery Issues
09/27/2013Delivery Issues
02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to place an online order shipping was 9.67, for some reason the order would not go thru so I called and placed the order. I didn't ask how much the shipping was as I didn't think it would be different. I got the debit amount and it was $10 more so I called and they said that is the shipping, do you want it or do you want to cancel. I called back and cancelled and reordered on line with the correct shipping. They they tell me that the order was picked up and it would be $15 to cancel! Come on within a half hour the order was made and shipped? SO I HAD TO CANCEL THE SECOND ORDER WITH THE CHEAPER SHIPPING. NASTY CUSTOMER SERVICE TOO. WHAT A RIP OFF. I wish I read the review BEFORE I ordered. I dealt with ****.

Desired Settlement
The $10 I was over charged for shipping.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
VENDOR REFUSED TO REFUND ORDER OF $140.46 USD EVEN THOUGH ITEM WAS LATE AND NOT AS DESCRIBED. REFUND WAS NEVER ISSUED AND VENDOR KEPT THE ITEM.My wife and I tried everything to get a refund of $140.46 USD for the purchase from ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY but to no avail due to seller plainly refusing to do so ever since we received the item that was misrepresented and of very poor quality which we immediately returned back to the seller. We have contacted the seller through email as well as talked over the phone in regards to the refund whereof the seller mentioned that once the item resells; he would be willing to refund our money which has never happened. I have included a copy of USPS confirmation details below this message to prove the authenticity of the return shipment and delivery to their address to ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY 210 E SCHOOL LN PROSPECT HTS XXXXX-XXXX on January 28, 2014 at 2:04 pm. Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated.USPS Tracking XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XX Scheduled Delivery Date: 01/27/2014 Shipped to: ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY210 E SCHOOL LNPROSPECT HTSUNITED STATES XXXXX-XXXXDate & Time Status of Item Location January 28, 2014 , 2:04 pm Delivered . PROSPECT HEIGHTS, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014, 9:08 am Out for Delivery. MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 8:58 am Sorting Complete .MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 8:14 am Arrival at Post Office .MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 Depart USPS Sort Facility .PALATINE, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 3:54 am Processed through USPS Sort Facility .PALATINE, IL XXXXX January 25, 2014 Depart USPS Sort Facility .PHOENIX, AZ XXXXX January 25, 2014 , 1:30 am Processed at USPS Origin Sort Facility .PHOENIX, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014 , 4:14 pm Dispatched to Sort Facility . SCOTTSDALE, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014, 3:55 pm Acceptance . SCOTTSDALE, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014 Shipping Info Received
Product_Or_Service: Bradley 9541 Shower Seat
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: Return Code: XXXX-XX

7/30/14 info from consumer:
We have not heard from the company and never received a refund.

Desired Settlement
Refund

04/24/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Materials, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Fire Extinguishers, Internet Shopping, Glass - Plate and Window, Tools - Hand, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Key Holders, Hardware - Retail, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Doors, Door Frames, Closet Systems & Accessories, Bathroom Accessories, Signs, Millwork, Weather Stripping

Additional Information

top

Consumer Alert:

Consumers please be aware that it has been brought to our attention that an individual received a check via express mail. We were informed that the envelope had no letter of instruction or phone numbers but a PO Box in Florida.

Architectural Builders Supply has no affiliation with the business in question. So Please be aware that someone out there is using an accredited businesses name in order to try and deceive people.

If you come across the same situation please inform the BBB Immediately.

BBB file opened: 04/22/2008Business started: 08/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2002, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Howard (President)
Business Category

Building Materials, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Fire Extinguishers, Internet Shopping, Glass - Plate and Window, Tools - Hand, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Key Holders, Hardware - Retail, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Doors, Door Frames, Closet Systems & Accessories, Bathroom Accessories, Signs, Millwork, Weather Stripping

Alternate Business Names
ABSupply.net, Architectural Builders Supply, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Architectural Builders Supply has received 1.15 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Architectural Builders Supply

210 E School Lane

Prospect Heights, IL 60070-2547

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • PO Box 6814 

    Miramar Beach, FL 32550-1011

  • 102 Main St Suite 200 

    Park Ridge, IL 60068-4028

  • 210 E School Lane 

    Prospect Heights, IL 60070-2547

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Architectural Builders Supply is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Building Materials

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.