This business is not BBB accredited.

Architectural Builders Supply

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 809-3667 Fax: (773) 341-7498 View Additional Phone Numbers 210 E School Lane, Prospect Heights, IL 60070 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Architectural Builders Supply include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Architectural Builders Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Architectural Builders Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2001 Business started locally: 08/01/2001 Business incorporated 02/01/2002 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Howard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Howard, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Building Materials Closet Systems & Accessories Door Frames Doors Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Hardware - Retail Key Holders Lighting Fixtures - Retail Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Tools - Hand Glass - Plate and Window Internet Shopping Fire Extinguishers Medical Equipment & Supplies Weather Stripping Millwork Signs Bathroom Accessories Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Alternate Business Names Architectural Builders Supply, Inc.
Additional Information

Consumer Alert:

Consumers please be aware that it has been brought to our attention that an individual received a check via express mail. We were informed that the envelope had no letter of instruction or phone numbers but a PO Box in Florida.

Architectural Builders Supply has no affiliation with the business in question. So Please be aware that someone out there is using an accredited businesses name in order to try and deceive people.

If you come across the same situation please inform the BBB Immediately.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Architectural Builders Supply has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    102 Main St Suite 200

    Park Ridge, IL 60068


    210 E School Lane

    Prospect Heights, IL 60070


    PO Box 6814

    Miramar Beach, FL 32550


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to place an online order shipping was 9.67, for some reason the order would not go thru so I called and placed the order. I didn't ask how much the shipping was as I didn't think it would be different. I got the debit amount and it was $10 more so I called and they said that is the shipping, do you want it or do you want to cancel. I called back and cancelled and reordered on line with the correct shipping. They they tell me that the order was picked up and it would be $15 to cancel! Come on within a half hour the order was made and shipped? SO I HAD TO CANCEL THE SECOND ORDER WITH THE CHEAPER SHIPPING. NASTY CUSTOMER SERVICE TOO. WHAT A RIP OFF. I wish I read the review BEFORE I ordered. I dealt with ****.

Desired Settlement: The $10 I was over charged for shipping.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: VENDOR REFUSED TO REFUND ORDER OF $140.46 USD EVEN THOUGH ITEM WAS LATE AND NOT AS DESCRIBED. REFUND WAS NEVER ISSUED AND VENDOR KEPT THE ITEM.My wife and I tried everything to get a refund of $140.46 USD for the purchase from ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY but to no avail due to seller plainly refusing to do so ever since we received the item that was misrepresented and of very poor quality which we immediately returned back to the seller. We have contacted the seller through email as well as talked over the phone in regards to the refund whereof the seller mentioned that once the item resells; he would be willing to refund our money which has never happened. I have included a copy of USPS confirmation details below this message to prove the authenticity of the return shipment and delivery to their address to ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY 210 E SCHOOL LN PROSPECT HTS XXXXX-XXXX on January 28, 2014 at 2:04 pm. Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated.USPS Tracking XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XX Scheduled Delivery Date: 01/27/2014 Shipped to: ARCHITECTURAL BUILDERS SUPPLY210 E SCHOOL LNPROSPECT HTSUNITED STATES XXXXX-XXXXDate & Time Status of Item Location January 28, 2014 , 2:04 pm Delivered . PROSPECT HEIGHTS, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014, 9:08 am Out for Delivery. MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 8:58 am Sorting Complete .MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 8:14 am Arrival at Post Office .MOUNT PROSPECT, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 Depart USPS Sort Facility .PALATINE, IL XXXXX January 28, 2014 , 3:54 am Processed through USPS Sort Facility .PALATINE, IL XXXXX January 25, 2014 Depart USPS Sort Facility .PHOENIX, AZ XXXXX January 25, 2014 , 1:30 am Processed at USPS Origin Sort Facility .PHOENIX, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014 , 4:14 pm Dispatched to Sort Facility . SCOTTSDALE, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014, 3:55 pm Acceptance . SCOTTSDALE, AZ XXXXX January 24, 2014 Shipping Info Received Product_Or_Service: Bradley 9541 Shower Seat Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX Account_Number: Return Code: XXXX-XX 7/30/14 info from consumer: We have not heard from the company and never received a refund.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: a refund for 72.83

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ the published lead time is 2 - 3 weeks. We will ship within the published lead time. Did it occur to the client he could call us? **** XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want the order cancelled. I already tried calling the business and they do not answer their phone. The shipment availability is buried on their site. Also they told me previously during a chat a 2 week lead-time would be fine. The business should refund my order fully for merchandise not shipped yet. It's not rocket science. Thanks ! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/25) */ The lead time is clearly indicated on the site. the materials are made to order (see my cancellation policy). We will ship within the published lead time and you will get a tracking number once it ships. If you called and there was only a voice mail, you called before or after hours (hours are published on the site). Third time to you sir - did it ever occur to you to call me - **** XXX-XXX-XXXX

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service