Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eva's Bridals of Chicago Inc.

Phone: (773) 777-3311 Fax: (773) 777-6473 3339 N Harlem Ave, Chicago, IL 60634 http://www.evasofchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eva's Bridals of Chicago Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eva's Bridals of Chicago Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eva's Bridals of Chicago Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 02/02/1988 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Flo Kloska, Assistant Sales Manager Mr. Kamil Sweis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Flo Kloska, Assistant Sales Manager
Business Category

Bridal Shops Dress Trimmings Dressmakers Womens Apparel - Retail Clothing - Retail Bridal Gown Preservation Formal Wear Tuxedo Sales & Rentals Internet Shopping Online Retailer Boutiques Bridal & Millinery Supplies Bridal Registries Women's, Children's, and Infants' Clothing and Accessories Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424330)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $350 for alterations on my wedding dress. They told me that these alterations were successfully done. They were not as my wedding dress broke during my wedding since they failed to properly alter it.I called Sunday, 4/27, and spoke with a manager. She called back Monday and it was clear that she had the wrong story so that just means that she didn't write down anything I said. She told me she would call me back right away and still has not. My wedding dress in unsalvageable and I deserve the money I spent for alterations to be credited back to me.

Desired Settlement: $350 minimum

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******************** Contact Phone:*********** Contact Email:************************ Customer called 4/27/14, wedding was 4/26/14. I understood there was a problem with the zipper on her gown but apparently it was just the hook and eye at the top of the zipper ! Full alterations were done on the gown which included the hook and eye on the dress being re-enforced,( I have verified this with the seamstress ) Other alterations were, shortening, taking in at the hip, bustling and pressing.The gown fit perfectly at the final fitting. The gown left the store in perfect condition and all work was completed. There is no refund on this order. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No bustling took place as I did not have a train, so I have no idea where this claim is coming from. I was told that the hook would be tightened because I had complained it was loose. I could not see this for myself as I needed someone else to help put the dress on me. It was your seamstress who put this on me and said it was fine and that she tightened it. She did not. Although you claim it was reinforced, it was not reinforced. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/05/07) */ The seamstress who did the work on the dress has worked here for over 20 years and has always been honest about her work, I have no reason not to believe her, if she says she re-enforced the eye and added a metal one, that is what happened. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I signed the receipt after I verbally asked if it was reinforced. It was not reinforced.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Won't give me the dress they promised me for the quoted price of $399. They switched dresses on me, and will not give me a refund either!!!

Desired Settlement: I do not want the dress they gave my fiance'. I want a refund, because it is NOT the dress I ordered.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/11/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As is/no returns/no exchanges ONLY refers to items a customer orders or purchases. By no means does it apply to a bait and switch scheme. The response above from the manager implies that there were two people present when this occurred. There was only one employee of their store with us, and she was NOT a stock girl. The employee, ****, removed a dress from the room while I was still wearing the one offered to me at $399. The dress she removed was the one they switched with the one I wanted. I have no idea what the price of that dress was, because we were NOT interested in it. **** was very impatient with us when I had my fiance' write down the numbers and prices from the tag of the one I was still wearing, but he was able to write down the number and the two prices off the tag. The numbers he wrote down, and the prices do NOT even match the dress they gave us. The final price on the tag was $559, NOT $599 like they were claiming. Also, the tag stated the one we wantsd was white, **** told the manager the one we wanted was ivory, so I suspect that **** is even telling the manager something that is not true. Either her memory is foggy, or she was covering herself for offering us a dress for $399 when she wasn't supposed to. She DID say we could only have it for that price THAT day. I am NOT trying to pull something as this manager is implying. She stated that I am trying to get a $599 dress for $399. Remember the dress I wanted, the tag already had it marked down to $559, and they offered it to us at $399. NOW they are trying to say the one I wanted was more than the price on the dress???? ...and WE are trying to pull something???? Surely she jests! After the way they treated us, I want neither of the two dresses, so I have NO motive for making this up! Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/11/16) */ The dress the customer has in her mind is NOT marked down to $559, the sale tag is still on the dress and is $1329.95, we offered it to her for $599. The customer has not moved to try and resolve this but keeps changing the story on prices and incidents. As stated in our last email, the dress is here and the price is $599, if she wishes to exchange the dress and pay the difference we are open to that, even though our rules are " no exchanges " and the sale "as is " and final.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eva's Bridals of Chicago Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)