Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Medela, Inc.

Phone: (800) 435-8316 Fax: (815) 759-2525 View Additional Phone Numbers 1101 Corporate Dr, Mchenry, IL 60050 http://www.medela.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Medela, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Medela, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Medela, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1980 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 08/19/1980 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anita Matheson, Director of Human Resources Melissa Gonzales, Managing Director Ms. Donna Morris
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anita Matheson, Director of Human Resources
Business Category

Breastfeeding Supplies & Information Manufacturers & Producers Offices of All Other Miscellaneous Health Practitioners (NAICS: 621399)


Additional Locations

  • 1101 Corporate Dr

    Mchenry, IL 60050 (815) 363-1166 (800) 435-8316

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order (WA 1355786) and received the products on 9/12/16. I did NOT receive one of the items I ordered (Quick Clean Micro-Steam Bags). I have emailed the company 3 times - once using the email address provided in the paperwork in the box and twice using the contact forum on the website page. As of 9/19/16 I have not received a response. The email provided on the paperwork (onlinestore@medela.com) bounced back and no response from the online forum. Not even an acknowledgment that the information was received.

Desired Settlement: I want the item I ordered and did not receive. It would have been nice to receive a response to the emails of the contacts that came directly off your paperwork and website.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Received a a call and product (plus an extra) was shipped. Thank you

Sincerely,

Cynthia *********

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a breast pump from Medela. Using website www.medelabreastfeedingus.com. They advertise that I can order my insurance covered breast pump directly through them with no cost to me. When you go through the process of ordering on their website you must put in your insurance information and they say my plan covers pump. Well it was not and I have not opened it and just want to return it. It says on several stickers on the box that you cannot return opened items, but it says nothing of returning unopened merchandise. The reps automatically tell me I cannot return the pump. I would have not ordered throught them had i known this. All I want is to return the pump and not be charged for it as it more expensive than a retail location.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the unopened pump to Medela and not be charged for it.

Business Response: Email return was sent to customer issuing a return

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

1/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently i have ordered breast pump(order no:- WA1233263) from Medela website because they display product as insurance covered with zero cost to customer, I received the EOB from my insurance company as my claim is denied and when I contacted Medela support they advised as I cannot return this item, I have not opened this package and I do not have any clue why I cannot return unopened box Website Link:- http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/ I need your review as they advertise product on website as zero cost to costomer and their return policy 1) Misleading info provided on their website that’s shows breast pump is covered by my insurance and my cost will be zero, my question is how website claims “XYZ” item is covered by my insurance before contacting to Health Insurance Company How this process works:- 1) Provide your insurance company (insurance ID) detail to website 2) Provide patient information 3) Provide physician information and upload prescription 4) Next page shows “XYZ” breast pump is covered in your plan And your cost will be zero 5) However before submitting order they ask me to check some term and condition But that also does not provide any Info about return policy and I do not understand why and how website claims as “XYZ” Brest pump is covered by my plan and cost will be zero? 2) I am unable to return un-opened item , I contacted to their customer support and received feedback as “Insurance orders cannot be returned”, I do not have much knowledge on consumer law but as per basic principle says every consumer should have right to return un-opened item, I have not broken company packaging and seal

Desired Settlement: I should be able to return this product as i have not opened this box and have not broken company packaging

Business Response: Please see the attached for emails and responses to customer.

Business Response:

Please call me at ************. I've sent the attachments to customer.relations@chicago.bbb.org; this email address reached out to me to send all attachments which I have. We've already sent the return information to the member. Here is the email that was sent and who I replied back to with all documents. I am attaching them yet again. Please call to discuss so we can ensure you have all that you need.

From: Customer Relations [customer.relations@chicago.bbb.org]
Sent: Wednesday, December 30, 2015 12:10 PM
To: Medela Customer Service
Subject: Response for Complaint #********

Please forward your attachment to this email, or fax to 312-595-9760.

Thank you

Your BBB Representative

Better Business Bureau serving Chicago and Northern Illinois

General Inquiries: 312-832-0500

Dispute Resolution Inquiries: 312-245-2510 E-Mail: Customer.Relations@chicago.bbb.org

Fax: 312-595-9760

bbb.org/chicago Start With Trust®


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Medela, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)