Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eddie Z's Blinds & Drapery-Chicago

Phone: (312) 951-0400 Fax: (312) 951-0460 818 W North Ave, Chicago, IL 60642 http://www.eddiezs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eddie Z's Blinds & Drapery-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eddie Z's Blinds & Drapery-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eddie Z's Blinds & Drapery-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 24, 2007 Business started: 08/01/1991 Business started locally: 08/01/1991 Business incorporated 02/25/1992 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Lokanc, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Lokanc, President
Business Category

Blinds Window Shades Interior Finishing Retail Stores Closet Systems & Accessories Cushions Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Drapery Installation Service Home Accessories House Furnishings & Services Pillows Shutters Venetian Blinds - Dealers Vertical Blinds Window Treatment Stores (NAICS: 442291)

Alternate Business Names
EZ Blind & Drapery, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 818 W North Ave

    Chicago, IL 60642 (312) 951-0400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Eddie Z's Guaranteed a delivery time of 3-4 weeks. The order was placed on 11/23/2015. It is now 1/14/2016 and we still do not have the order. I called the company 3-4x to find out what was going on. Our sales person ****** ***** would not return emails or phone calls once the order was placed. Each time I called the staff would transfer to another person. Each person gave me a different scenario. At the end of the day the company offered a partial install after losing my first order. When I tried to discuss what happened with the regional Sales person Craig, my call was denied. I want businesses to know that a baseline level of customer service is required to be accredited. This company is far below any minimal standards.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the business explain how my lack of contact is anyway customer service, why they offered nothing for doubling the time, and why their representatives would question "why do you need to speak to Craig." AT this point an apology or explanation probably wont suffice. I have taken on a social media campaign to really tell people of my experience.

Business Response:

I would be happy to discuss the events surrounding Mr. Dipzinskis order personally. I will reach out to him today, but in the in event that I am not able to reach him, he can call me on my cell phone at 630-440-8900.

Thank You,

*** *****

Vice President

Eddie Z's Blinds and Drapery

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shades were ordered 5/26 and promised in 2-3 weeks. I called the location on North Ave after 3 weeks and spoke to several different people. All promised to look into it and call back. No one ever did. I finally wrote an email to the manager on 6/29. She emailed back and promised to call by 7/1. She finally called on 7/6 but installation had already been scheduled. Installer showed up on 7/16 but order was incorrect. Customer service promised to contact vendor and see when correct order could be fulfilled and promised to call back by the end of the day. Today is 7/20 and I still have not heard from Eddie Z's.

Desired Settlement: Correct order with discount for poor customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@eddiez.us Our customer service manager contacted the customer yesterday and was able to offer an acceptable solution today. The product is being installed as made and a price concession will be made. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that my blind would be ready in two to three weeks. This was told on 3/25/15. Each phone call or visit to the store I get the same answer. It will be ready next week. I can not go and get another blind from another store as the whole building has these blinds. It is an 8 unit building and Eddy Z's supplied all the blinds. They did say that they would replace the blind with a new one and Charge me $90.00 This was told to me three weeks ago. As of today I got the same answer. It should be in next week.

Desired Settlement: I want the same blind back so that it matches with the others in the building. My tenant is very upset that her window does not have a blind and it has been over two months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/26) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Vice President Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX ***** Contact Email: ****@eddiez.us A new blind has been made and has shipped from the vendor in Mexico. It is due to arrive in our store on 6/29. As soon as the delivery is checked in we will call the customer to let them know it is ready for pick up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told the same thing on six different occasions over the past three months. I will only believe it when I get my blind. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/29) */ The product was received in our Lincoln Park store today and a message has been left for the customer that it is ready for pick up.

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I spent a considerable amount of money with Eddie Z's, based on the fact that they offered us a lifetime repair guarantee on the blinds we purchased.Twice before this latest incident, one of the blinds has broken, and twice we were able to pick up the phone and schedule someone to come out, pick up the broken unit and make the repair at no cost to us (as promised). So you can imagine my surprise when I called this morning to have another broken blind picked up for repair and was flat-out refused.It appears that Eddie Z's has unilaterally changed the "rules" of their "lifetime" guarantee, and now refuses to honor it, telling me that:A) I must take the broken blinds in to one of their vendors myself, or --B) Pay a $65.00 service fee to have them picked up.In EITHER case, they told me I would ALSO be responsible for the cost of repair (!) -- a COMPLETE reversal of the guarantee under which we made the purchase. Needless to say, we feel that we've been taken by Eddie Z's, and that the least they could have done was "grandfathered" us into the guarantee that was promised to us. How much could it possibly cost them to simply honor their word?I spent 10 minutes on the phone with their CS rep trying to explain that customers who were given a "lifetime" repair guarantee at the time of purchase were, indeed, entitled to repairs for the life of the blinds, but she wouldn't have any of it, stating simply that the guarantee had "changed."In other words, "tough luck, pal."Needless to say, we are deeply disappointed with Eddie Z's, and quite frankly, I don't see how we could possibly do business with them anymore. What's more, we feel that we owe it to our family and friends (including our friends here on Yelp, Facebook and elsewhere) to warn them about what we believe to be a willful, unethical breach of promise in order to save themselves a few bucks.Eddie Z's pulled the rug out from under us, and I imagine they'd have little problem doing the same thing to you. Buyer beware. Product_Or_Service: Blinds Order_Number: Guarantee Not Honore Account_Number: Lifetime Guarantee

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) All we want is for Eddie Z's to repair the broken blinds as we were promised under their lifetime guarantee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** VP of sales Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@eddiez.us We have been in contact with the customer and the service issues are being adressed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The misunderstanding has been addressed and resolved. My thanks to Eddie Z's for their kind assistance. I wish to withdraw the complaint at this time.

9/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eddie Z's Blinds & Drapery-Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)