Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bird-X Incorporated

Fax: (312) 226-2480 View Additional Phone Numbers 300 N Oakley Blvd, Chicago, IL 60612 http://www.bird-x.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bird-X is a pest control company which provides bird repellant and pest control solutions for residential and commercial customers. This company serves a national customer base as well as customers throughout the Chicagoland area, including those in Naperville, Schaumburg, Highland Park, Crystal Lake, Deerfield, Lake Forest, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Joliet, Aurora, Tinley Park, Oak Park, Park Ridge, River Forest, Evanston, Skokie, West Chicago, Warrenville, Wheaton, Dundee Township, Carpentersville, Niles, Blue Island, Midlothian, Bensenville, Burlington, Rockford, DeKalb, Romeoville, and Rosemont. Products available from this company include electronic pest control, sonic and ultrasonic bird control, bird spikes and bird netting, laser bird control, visual scares, and organic animal repellent.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bird-X Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bird-X Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bird-X Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1964 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 01/17/1964 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Tilles, President Ms. Alison James, Dir Cust Svcs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alison James, Dir Cust Svcs
Principal: Mr. Dennis Tilles, President
Business Category

Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls Insect Control Devices Pest Control Supplies & Equipment Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops Exterminating and Pest Control Services (NAICS: 561710)

Method(s) of Payment
check, Visa, Mastercard, American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
http://www.bird-x.com/our-guarantee-pages-128.php 

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item was purchased in June 2014 and returned on 7/1/14 for refund as per the merchandiser's agreement.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a settlement of $70.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ This gentleman is not a Bird-X customer. He ordered his item directly from an independent seller, the web distributor ************, at the end of April. ************ received this customer's money and requested that Bird-X drop-ship this product to him. It shipped May 1st. Once he decided to return the item, his return was received back at Bird-X on or around July 7th and a credit was immediately issued from Bird-X to ************ July 7th. Bird-X has exercised all responsibilities in this matter promptly. ************ is responsible for refunding this customer's purchase. We have been in contact with them to request expedited attention to this matter, and we expect a positive response to any oversight on their part without delay. Bird-X will post an update once this matter is resolved. Final Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/31) */ Please see attached documentation of FULL refunds provided to customer from his vendor ************ dated July 22 and 23rd, 2014. While the customer has not yet responded via BBB, we believe that the matter is settled. Again, please note that Bird-X Inc. is NOT the seller in this case. This customer purchased his unit from ************, a web dealer. Thank you, ****** ***** Bird-X, Inc.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: USX Ultrasonic X Device was shipped to us 5/30/14 Customer No. XXXXXX P/O No. XXXXX Order No. XXXXXX Web Site information indicates this device is effective in repelling bats it has no effect what so ever, they continue to fly with in inches of the speakers all night long while the device is operating. The device has been operated on various settings, per the manufactures instructions, and for continuous periods of time. No operational setting has an effect or changes the manner of the bats reaction there is none. Although we have not returned this device in the time period indicated in the delivery paper work and therefore may be subject to full financial loss we would like to know that other consumers are warned that this device does not work to repel bats.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate some financial reimbursement but our primary objective is that Bird-X clearly state on their web site that this device has no effect on bats. At over $700 in total cost for the device, shipping and tax it is very disappointing to find that this device (the Ultrasonic X)is so totally worthless.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Dir Cust Svc Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ***************** Our customers' satisfaction is of primary importance to Bird-X, so we were extremely surprised to receive this communication out of the blue. This the first opportunity we have had to address any concern or return request from this customer. According to our records, we have had no contact from this customer requesting help or a refund/return prior to her lodging this complaint. A return inquiry was made via our website simultaneously, the same date that the BBB was contacted, Saturday July 19th. We have responded at length to the customer via email, attaching a prepaid return label for the product and promising a full refund once it is received. We have also offered a detailed explanation of efficacy and animal behavior variables. (Full text follows.) If the customer had contacted us prior to contacting you, we would have offered her the desired refund promptly and courteously with no difficulty whatever. We await her response and the return of the unwanted item. As soon as it arrives, we will credit back the original purchase price to her credit card. Text of our full response follows: Dear ********* We received your inquiry from 7/19 Saturday on returning to the office Monday morning. We also received notice from the BBB that you lodged a complaint simultaneously, also on 7/19 (attached). We pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service, and we are surprised that we have no record of any opportunity to set things right for you or to discuss your problems before the issue was escalated. Have we overlooked any contact that you have had with anyone here subsequent to your purchase? If so, please let me know. We would have appreciated the chance to address your concerns directly in all courtesy as your vendor, and we regret that we were not able to do so. Our response in any case like yours would be the same, without need for recourse to any outside party. We do understand that sometimes customers are not able to deploy their purchased units immediately, and we routinely honor our guarantee by accepting returns beyond the normal 30-day period. You only needed to have asked. Bird-X has been in business for over 50 years and we are proud of our reputation and our products; we do all we can to satisfy our customers. We are certainly willing to accept your unit back and to provide you with a full refund. Since you also wish to discuss issues of effectiveness, we should also make it clear that overall results cannot be extrapolated from a single experience such as yours. This is especially the case since we have not had occasion to work with you in understanding the exact location, the building type, the bat species, the history of the infestation, etc. Humane animal control is a complex science and not an exact one. That said, there are many reasons that wild animals congregate in any given location. These include the local availability of food and shelter as well as behaviors such as breeding - all of which may affect and possibly limit the animals' willingness to relocate. These also vary seasonally. Spring/summer is especially sensitive for many bat species, as they are breeding at this time and under pressure to protect their young. Depending on the species, it may take up to four months for young bats to mature and leave the nursery. A device which is highly effective in the winter may be less so if introduced in the summer. Location of the device is another important variable: from your written inquiry below, it is not clear whether you had the speakers positioned in the optimal location for bat deterrence under your particular circumstances. This is why we make our customer service specialists available for extended support during normal business hours. We are always happy to help our customers achieve the maximum possible success with their units. Our web pages clearly show our toll-free telephone number as well as multiple online ways to contact us. We make this very clear so that we can help any customers who are experiencing difficulties or who need any type of help or support with their purchase. While we do offer our products for sale online as a convenience, as you chose to purchase, our website is filled with ways to get in touch with us if there are any questions. Unlike lethal means of control, effectiveness of behavior-modifying devices is not an all-or-nothing result. We have many satisfied customers with a history of using various versions of our ultrasonic devices to deter bats, including the USX, QB-4 and Transonic-Pro. However, as stated above, since ultimately individual success cannot be predicted 100%, our desire for 100% customer satisfaction is exactly the reason that we offer our performance guarantee and the generous amount of customer support of which you could have availed yourself. Please find attached a prepaid UPS return label for your device. When we receive it back, your full purchase price will be credited back to your card. Thank you. ***********************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bird-X Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)