Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress Overstock of DuPage, Inc.

Phone: (623) 444-9795 Fax: (623) 466-6361 1208 E Roosevelt Rd, Lombard, IL 60148

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress Overstock of DuPage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Overstock of DuPage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2011 Business started: 09/24/2009 in IL Business started locally: 09/24/2009 Business incorporated 09/24/2009 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Becker, President Mr. Steve Becker, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Becker, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Becker, Controller
Business Category

Mattress & Bedding Stores Beds - Retail Mattresses All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
Mattress Overstock

Additional Locations

  • 1208 E Roosevelt Rd

    Lombard, IL 60148 (623) 444-9795


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a fairly pricey purchase with mattress overstock in Lombard IL. store. *** was the person who was our salesman. According to him before we made our purchase, he told us, per your store policy, that we had 60 days from the day we received our product, to exchange it if we were not satisfied. He did not state that it was from the initial sales date. I explicitly voiced my concerns many times about getting two twin xl mattresses because the middle crack may be cumbersome to us, and he assured me repeatedly, that we could always exchange them for a king sized mattress as long as it was within the 60 days of receiving the bed. After 30 days of having the bed, I reached out to *** asking if we could exchange the mattresses for one king size. He then proceeded to tell me because it was a "special" order, that we would not be able to do anything about this and that he could find me a "***" to cover the crack. His "***" was rigging the bed to attempt to keep it together (Not helpful whatsoever). Why would I buy this after spending all this money initially for the comfort your product and store were supposed to provide?!?! Had I known that this was a special order, I would have never made the purchase. I don't understand why, at the very least, we can't even exchange the beds for a king mattress as I do not see how two twin xl beds could possibly fit into the realm of "odd sized" mattresses. Please define odd sized, as it was not something we had custom made. We were extremely misled by ***, assuming because he makes commission on sales and seeing as how this was a an extremely pricey purchase, I'm sure he received a very appealing amount of commission. Nowhere on our invoice does it state that our purchase is a special order, nor that the mattresses are odd sized. Again, had I known any of this, and was not misled by said employee, I would not have made this purchase. Not only will we continue to sleep uncomfortably, we are outraged and disheartened from the outcome of this situation thus far. We raved to our family members about the bed (except for the crack in the middle) and highly recommended it, as well as, your store to them. After they tried ours out, they were going to make two purchases of the same or equal to amount, but unfortunately we reached out to them to steer them away from your store and especially that location. I want to make you aware of the misleading statements he is fabricating in order to make sales. Below is the email we had correspondence with. Hi **** My name is *********, I just left you a voicemail. I wanted to discuss exchanging our bed within the 30days of delivery. Our sale number is XXXXXXXX. We love the bed but the crack in the middle with the two twin bed is driving us crazy. We would like to exchange it for a king if that is possible. We love the frame style, but should we switch out the frames too for a king? In the long run, is it difficult to move a king frame vs. two twins? Thanks, ********* Hi *********, Per our conversation earlier, I did some looking around and found a couple of products out there that might help your situation. If you end up using one of these products, you might consider programming one of the adjustable base remotes to move/control both bases simultaneously (there are instructions for remote programming in the manual). If there's anything else I can help you with just let me know. Bed Bridge: http://************************/store/product/instant-king-twin-bed-bridge/XXXXXXXXXX Create-a-King: http://**************/Create-Instant-Connector-Unique-Together/dp/********** Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would just like to exchange the two twin XL mattresses for one King mattress as was verbally promised to us from the beginning. I would also like to be refunded the cost difference if possible. I feel as though my girlfriend and I were taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/29) */ 2 TXL mattresses in this case were specially ordered for the customer based on her decision to go with them rather than a single king size mattress for her adjustable bases. It was explained to her at the point of purchase that special order items cannot be exchanged. This point was reiterated in April of 2014 when she contacted this office regarding same issue. After speaking with salesperson regarding this issue I am certain he in no way misrepresented this company's policies. As a show of good will and to permanently resolve this issue a company representative will reach out to this customer to arrange for an exchange of the two mattresses she has presently for a king size of equal or greater value. Returned mattresses must be in perfect condition and cannot be worn or stained in any way.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per phone conversation manager is un willing to honor the 60 day return. Said mattresses are made to order this is an overstock outlet. To change brand the charge is twice as much. Paid with a Master Card in full. Claimed they were connected to the ******* Lake Store who had stock. Not true. Says it will take weeks to replace he will let me know when via phone in a few weeks. Now the ware house is in the state of TN. Wanted me to pay twice as much or he can not help me for weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund. I no longer trust this company. The mattress was delived in a uhaul truck by two men that did not work for the store. No company truck. What kind of company is this?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ Company has a 60 day comfort guarantee which allows for exchange of equal or greater value product but not a return for refund. Customer in this case called the manager who sold her the bed and said that she thought it was too soft for her and wanted the firm version of the same mattress. Manager told her we would be able to accommodate her but strongly suggested that she first come to the location to lie on the mattress and make sure it was the one she wanted. She stated that she was unwilling to come to the location and would just rather schedule the exchange over the phone. The firm version of the mattress is not is stock but once it arrives the exchange can be scheduled. Delivery/pickup charge is extra and not covered under the exchange policy. I am disappointed to hear the the customer in this case feels she cannot trust the company. We are an A+ accredited company with the BBB and address any issues our customers have to make sure that the grade will always be maintained. Customer in this case answered survey on delivery ticket indicating she was very happy with service received and rated it a 10 out of a possible 10 indicating excellent delivery service. We will strive to resolve this issue and make sure she is as impressed with this company as she was upon delivery of her new mattress. Included with this response is the customer original invoice, delivery ticket with customer survey and a copy of all policies listed on the back of customers invoice. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager states weeks to do replacement. He has not contacted me in any way. I was open to firm in any brand near the cost of the current mattress. He said all other mattresses are twice as much. That was not the pricing when I was in the store. Now I do not trust this company. the way he spoke to me was as if I did not matter. From my first phone call about discomfort with the mattress he was like I am doing nothing and you will get it in a few weeks when I get around to it. Then he stated I will call you when ever that is and hung up. To this day X-XX-XX no contact from company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/08) */ Customer came to location earlier this week (week of 8/4/14) and picked out replacement mattress that she liked. Exchange was carried out on 8/7/14.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Overstock of DuPage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)