Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Wide Mattress meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for City Wide Mattress include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on City Wide Mattress
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2005
Business Management
Mr. Rick Brocies, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Brocies, President
Related Businesses
Village Mattress & Waterbeds
Business Category

Bedding All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)


Additional Locations

  • 223 N Lincolnway

    North Aurora, IL 60542 (630) 892-3670

  • 700 W. Jefferson St

    Shorewood, IL 60404 (815) 744-5212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extra long adjustable bed and mattress from Citywide Mattress on 5/30/13 and it was installed on 6/10/13. The first mattress they delivered was not extra long and they replaced it. The extra long mattress was also not staying correctly on the base. It was off at least 3 inches and pushing into the bar or wrapping around the bar at the feet and not keeping its shape. I called the owner, **** *******, to report the problem and he was very rude and called me names and said I was a rotten woman and he knew he should have never sold me the bed. He called an hour later and said he had a solution. He brought a piece of material (like material you put under a throw rug). He put it under the mattress but it did not resolve the issue. I called ******* and ***** who makes the adjustable frame and talked to *************. ***** came out to the house on 1/9/14 and saw the mattress did not fit. He ordered another bar to see if this would help but it didn't help. He told me that he saw the mattress did not fit the adjustable frame and that I should not sleep in the bed. He gave me the phone number of ***** and told me to file a warranty claim. I called ***** but called **** at Citywide first on 1/9/14. He was very mean and said if he has to come out, he is going to charge me. He said he was going to call ***** and his rep. I also called ***** to give them the information. I spoke to at least 3 different people at ***** and finally after a month, they told me Citywide is the owner, he has no rep and ***** is not responsible, the owner of Citywide is responsible. Since the owner is not willing to help me, I contacted Prairie State Legal Services. They recommended filing a complaint. I have also talked to other mattress companies and have been told the mattress is too light for the bed.I have a 85 yr old disabled husband and I have arthritis of the neck and numerous other medical conditions. The adjustable bed is making my neck hurt more because it keeps sliding. Product_Or_Service: Adjustable bed and mattress purchased on 5/30/13

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would prefer to have the money for the mattress refunded so I can purchase the correct mattress from another vendor.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Contact Email: *************************** ************* purchased a Leggett and Platt adjustable Twin Extra Long bed. She chose the ***** Dreamhaven 8" memory foam mattress. Upon delivery the issue arose that the mattress was in face a Twin not a Twin Extra Long and therefore it was replaced correctly.The new mattress was the correct size and fit square on the frame. At a later date ************* complained that the mattress was sliding down off the adjustble base at the bottom. It is "impossible" since there is a stopper at the end of the base to hold the mattress in place. However, I purchased no skid pad to put in between the mattress and the bed. The customer was satisfied with the remedy. In January 2014 I received another call from ************* saying that the mattress had "shrunk". I told her politely that in 40 years of business and thousands of mattresses that have passed through my stores , NOT one has been reported to shrink. I told her that I would contact my ***** Rep,which I did, with her issues as ***** makes the mattresses and they warranty it. At this point it was no longer in my hands. I have no knowledge of what transpired between ************* and ***** Mattress company or any assesments made by the Independent contractor who services the adjustable bases for Leggett and Platt. In conclusion, ************* chose the ***** mattress that fits the adjustable base correctly and performs as it should. I will not take the mattress back as it is not a warranty issue or refund the money as I am not licensed to sell used mattresses and ***** will not take it back. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The mattress is wrapping around the stopper at the end of the bed. I attached 4 pictures showing how the mattress slides down. I never said the mattress shrunk. I said the mattress was sliding down. The above response said I chose a ***** Dreamhaven 8" memory foam mattress but my invoice says Twin XL ***** Aurelia 8" Memory Foam Mattress. I purchased the mattress based on his recommendation. I called ***** on 3/5/14 and talked to ****** and they again told me that they are not responsible and that City Wide is responsible. I received a warranty from City Wide for the adjustable base but never received a warranty for the mattress. He told me the warranty was on the label attached to the mattress and I can't find it. He claims there is nothing wrong with the mattress but he brought a non skid pad to keep it from sliding. The skid pad is typically used to put under a throw rug to keep it from sliding. It measures 21" x 28" and it did not resolve the issue. I told him I would try it but I never told him I was satisfied with the remedy. So in conclusion, I feel this matter is not resolved. I feel I purchased a product that does not work for my adjustable base and I would like to pursue this matter. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/21) */ The mattress is not and was not wrapping around the adjustable base stopperbar upon my inspection. Pictures prove nothing as they can be fabricated. The nonskid pad is the most common solution in sleep adjustions. For example, mattress sliding or a box spring. Her claim proves nothing. It is hearsay. *** did say the mattress shrunk. That is what we are dealing with not a change of words as replies go further. The Aurelia mattress that she received is part of the DREAMHAVEN line made by SERTA She did receive the correct mattress that SHE selected. The EXACT SET SHE PURCHASED WAS ON DISPLAY and she raised the head up and down as well as the foot of the adjustable prior to her purchase. She was satisfied with the comfort of the mattress. She was offered a more expensive thicker and heavier foam by ***** that we carry but she declined based on cost. Again her choice. The warranty card as explained by the store is attached to the side of the mattress. It was left there on delivery and if she misplaced this or discarded the card it is her responsibility. In closing, we delivered the product that she chose and it performs as it should. I will not replace or refund the mattress as it is not defective and there is not return policy based on feel WE do not resell mattresses and cannot as I explained further. I will not respond to any further accusations made from this customer as I have followed all BRAND and store guidelines.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on City Wide Mattress
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)