BBB Accredited Business since

BCI Acrylic Bath Systems

Phone: (800) 963-8827 Fax: (847) 358-4710 524 S Hicks Rd, Palatine, IL 60067 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BCI Acrylic Bath Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BCI Acrylic Bath Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BCI Acrylic Bath Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Rosenbach, CEO/Co-Owner Tom Buzar, Dir. of Tech Support Beth Shelby, Senior Database Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Rosenbach, CEO/Co-Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Bathtub Refinishing Linings - Plastic, Membrane Baths - Equipment & Supplies Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Bath Planet

Additional Locations

  • 524 S Hicks Rd

    Palatine, IL 60067 (800) 963-8827


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We remodeled a bathroom and installed a simulated 6 inch diamond pattern breccia acrylic wall enclosure system with two corner tower caddies offered by BCI Acrylic Bath Systems. The tower caddies were supposed to match the side wall enclosures. The installation was completed by a contractor who sells BCI products, and is trained and certified to install their products. We were not made aware of any issues before we opted to purchase the BCI shower system. Upon inspection of the completed project it was obvious the two tower caddies did not match the side wall enclosure panels. The caddies were significantly lighter in color than the surrounding wall panels and look out of place. This was an issue. We worked with the contractor to try an resolve the issue. He communicated our concerns to BCI and communicated BCI's response back to us. As we worked to resolve the matter this is what we learned. The towers are molded and during the molding process the material has to be stretched. When the warm molded acrylic material is stretched the material loses color and its darker tones become lighter. We also learned with the 6 inch diamond pattern it is almost impossible to line up the artificial grout lines. The molded caddies hide any inconsistencies that may show in the corners. We were informed BCI checked their warehouse for towers that matched and also tried to mold replacement towers for our installation but were not successful. Then we were informed they were working on a new and improved process that would resolve the issue but it would take 3 to 4 months. We agreed to work with BCI and wait. As it turned out it took longer than expected to get an answer. When we got the answer we were informed they were not able to come up with a better process. After all this the contractor gave us other options which were not acceptable. One would require going through the construction process again to install a pattern completely different than what we purchased, another would require using a different shelving system that would expose the uneven grout lines, and the final option was we could do nothing at all and just live with it. The caddy towers would not be hard to replace so the resolution of this problem is simple. Provide two caddy towers that match the shower enclosure panels. BCI advertises and promotes matching colors for its bath systems and its attachments. Just look at the photos on their web site and in their catalogs. They show photos of the diamond pattern breccia acrylic wall system with a matching corner tower caddy. The tower matches the side panel enclosures. The molding process is not a new process. If they were able to make matching parts in the past by using the same molding process they are using today, then why can't they make a set of matching replacement parts with the same process now? It this a reliable process, or is this a hit and miss process? When we first inspected the completed project and voiced our dissatisfaction about the difference in color between the tower caddies and the side panel enclosures, the contractor ask if the issue could be resolved if he were to reimburse us for the cost of the towers. It was a quick response on his part almost as if this was not a new issue and a way to get out with a quick resolution. We rejected his offer. The final outcome was not what we agreed upon and it was not what we expected. This was a quality issue that needed to be addressed. Early on during the process we informed the contractor we would be willing to have someone from BCI come out and look at the installation. No one ever responded.

Desired Settlement: The tower caddies would not be hard to replace so the resolution is simple. Provide and replace two caddy showers to one's that exactly match the shower enclosures. When we decided to remodel our bathroom we looked at several alternatives. We narrowed it down to two choices. We opt to go with the BCI bath system. Had we been aware of any issues before we opted to purchase the BCI products we would have gone elsewhere. If BCI is not able to produce matching caddies then they should reimburse us for the entire cost of the bath system including labor, and all the extras i.e. flooring, fixtures, essentials that we purchased to match the shower system so we can go elsewhere and get shower system that meets our satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/25) */ Thank you for making us aware of this issue. BCI has been a long-standing member of the BBB and although we've had very few complaints over many years, we take them very seriously and address them quickly. We stand behind our products and our goal is to satisfy our customers. It is the nature of all acrylic products to stretch during the molding process. Some colors are more noticeable than others, and our brecchia material happens to be one of them. We apologize for the issues that Mr. Naydol has experienced and would like to offer a number of resolutions which are fair for both parties. Option 1: The existing system can be replaced using the same color in a different pattern. BCI has several other patterns available in the brecchia color: smooth, 4x4 simulated tile, 6x6 simulated tile, 8x10 simulated tile, 12x12 simulated tile, subway simulated tile and windmill simulated tile patterns. These other options do not have issues with the molded grout lines matching up so the tower caddies would not be necessary and they can be replaced with our single tier caddies which do not stretch. Option 2: The BCI single tier corner caddy does not experience the same stretching issues as some other caddies. BCI would be happy to provide multiple single tier corner caddies in brecchia to replace the tower caddies. These caddies would color match the existing walls and they would also show the molded grout lines not lining up, which is actually industry standard for this pattern. Option 3: The existing system can be replaced using the same pattern in a different color. The following colors are available in the diamond pattern: white, almond, biscuit, almond-white marble, silver-white marble, roman stone, and valencia granite. While tower caddies in these colors do still stretch, the color difference is not as apparent. With any of the options above, BCI would be happy to provide replacement acrylic materials to the contractor that Mr. Naydol worked with at no charge. We will also work with that contractor to help offset some of the labor charges, whether they would have been charged to Mr. Naydol or not. As the issues Mr. Naydol is experiencing are typical with acrylic products, not just those purchased from BCI, we feel the above options are fair to both parties. We look forward to Mr. Naydol's response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have reviewed the response from BCI in regards to our complaint and take issue with their findings. We also reviewed the options they presented for the resolution of this problem and find them unacceptable. There are two options acceptable to us. Option 1: Replace the existing tower caddies with tower caddies that match the existing side panel enclosures. This is a win-win situation for all parties involved. It is the most cost effective solution for BCI, it is the preferred option by the contractor (Bathenvy), and it is acceptable for us. We would have towers that match the side panel enclosures, it would take the least amount of time to complete, and would be the least disruptive process. Option 2: BCI reimburses us for the cost of replacing the shower enclosure system. They should reimburse us for the material costs and contractor costs. As well as materials that was purchased to match the shower system including sink and vanity, flooring, paint, curtains, all matching fixtures and labor costs for removing and replacing these item and other items that have to be removed and replaced when the floor is replaced. In BCI's response to our complaint they use the following to describe their products: When talking about the products they offer, they address the discoloration that takes place from the molding process in this way: "It is the nature of all of our products to stretch during the molding process. Some colors are more noticeable than others, our breccia material happens to be one of them". If we would have known a part of the system we were considering to purchase was molded and during the process it was stretched to a point it would be discolored and might not match other parts of the system, we would not have purchased the product. If we would have known a product we were considering to purchase was one of the colors that was even more noticeably distorted during the molding process than that of the other products, we would not have purchased the product. BCI presented us with three options: In Option #1, BCI wants us to replace the existing system using the same color in a different pattern. Before making our purchase we researched different shower system options from different companies. We narrowed our selection down to two companies. Each company had one color and one pattern we liked. We choose a shower enclosure system from BCI. We also choose the tower caddies because we thought they were nice feature. BCI offered only one pattern which appealed to us. There was no other product in their line of products that was appealing to us then, and that has not changed now. We should not be compelled to accept something that was not acceptable to us because of a quality issue on their part. In Option #2 BCI offers to replace the tower caddies with multiple single shelves. These caddies would match in color but "they would also show the molded grout lines not lining up". It is absurd for BCI to think we should try to resolve one issue and expose another issue. It wasn't until the shower enclosure system was installed that we were made aware any issues. The first issue being the grout lines from the two side walls did not match the grout lines with the back shower panel. The second issue was the discoloration of the tower caddies caused by the stretching of the materials during the molding process. We should have been notified about this beforehand, no after the fact. In Option #3 BCI states "The existing system can be replaced using the same system in a different color. "While tower caddies in these colors do still stretch, the color difference is not as apparent". I we had known they had any issues with matching any colors together, we would not have purchased any product from BCI then, nor do we want to do it now. BCI states their goal is to satisfy their customers. Customer satisfaction is a marketing tool used to measure how products supplied by a company meet customer expectations. I expected to get what I ordered, what I paid for, and what I was promised. We had high expectations but BCI did not deliver. They fell far short of our expectations and it was disappointing. The simplest solution would be to replace the existing tower caddies with different tower caddies that match the shower enclosure side wall panels. Nowhere does BCI address this as an option. One has to wonder why this option is not presented. One has to wonder if BCI ever could make matching towers? If they were able to match them in the past, they should be able to match them now. It's discouraging for BCI to talk about replacing the shower system. We should not have to be thinking about this again. They want us to experience the construction process again. It is a disruptive process. We have to live with the contractor saying it will take only two days, when it took longer. We have to wait for the contractor that says he will be here the first thing in the morning but does not show up until mid-morning or later. We have to deal with the foot traffic going in and out of our house, the construction mess, the dust, and the strong and unpleasant smell from the glue. We have to deal with the frustrated contractor who has trouble with the plumbing. We have to disrupt our life style again to make sure we are around for them to redo the work. It's easy for BCI to give us options. You know what option would have been easy? If BCI would have been up front when marketing the 6" diamond pattern breccia acrylic wall enclosure system and optional tower caddies. It would have been easier if they told us "It is the nature of all of our products to stretch during the molding process. Some colors are more noticeable that others, our breccia material happens to be one of them". Or, that the grout lines did not line up and the tower caddies hid the defect. That way we would have selected the best option of all. We would have walked away. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/10/21) */ The agreement for the bathroom remodel is between Mr. Naydol and the local dealer, Bath Envy. As the manufacturer, BCI does not have visibility to the agreement or the amount paid. We are requesting that Mr. Naydol provide a copy of the original agreement (front and back) as well as pictures of the issues for our review. Once we have received those documents, we will be happy to review these issues further and work towards a resolution.

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made the mistake of contacting these people for an estimate. They called me back on a Saturday Morning at 8am and I set an appointment with them, but asked them not to call me early in the morning (which had also been specified in the online form). The next day (Sunday) at 8AM, I get a call from... yup, Bath Planet. Wanting to set an appointment. Explained A. Already had one and B. was annoyed at the call and asked if could I speak to a supervisor. After a long hold, I get a supervisor. I ask her why, if I already set an appointment, are they calling me again, and outside the hours I specified? She doesn't know. I ask if she thinks that is good customer service. She says she doesn't know. I ask for the number for her corporate office. She says she doesn't know. You get the idea. Eventually she hung up on me. I call back, ask for a different supervisor, who puts me on speakerphone (I can hear other people in the background making comments like "this guy is a ****!") Again, I ask for their corporate office info I'm told they don't know it. I ask what telemarketing firm they work for - they say they work directly for Bath Planet. I ask how they can work for a company, and not know where it is located. I hear a plethora of giggles in the background. I tell them I would like to receive no further calls from them, and that they need to cancel the appointment that has been made, and to please remove my number from their database. They say they will do these things, and then they hang up. Monday Morning, 8AM, I get another call - asking if I'd like to set an appointment - like none of the other calls ever happened. Again I ask to be taken off their list - and this time they said a supervisor was "not available". Really? On a Monday Morning there is no management at your company?

Desired Settlement: Do not call or contact me ever again, unless it's from your management team to apologize for the behavior of your call center.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/10) */ Dear ***** Thank you for making us aware of the issues you had with the call center for Bath Planet of Chicago. We are truly sorry for the error the call center made by contacting you multiple times, as well as calling you earlier in the morning than you would prefer. As I am sure you are aware, Bath Planet is not a franchise. Each of our dealers are independently owned and operated. We looked into this and the issue is with the call center of our local dealership, not BCI. We have reached out to the local dealership on your behalf. It is our understanding that the dealership no longer employs that particular call center due to occurrences of repeat calls and early/late calls to their customers. If you have further comments or concerns regarding this issue, please feel free to contact the local dealer directly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Despite getting my name wrong in your response, I'll accept the resolution - I did speak with the local dealer, and the calls ceased immediately thereafter.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2008, we hired **************** to install an acrylic bathtub liner manufactured by BCI. At the time, we were given specific instructions to only use certain cleaners on the tub to prevent scratches and abrasions. We followed the instructions and only used 'Fantastik' spray cleaner on the acrylic insert and surrounding walls. Over time, we started noticing small cracks around the drain and along the edges of the tub where the side walls meet the base of the tub. Last month, we noticed several of the cracks had gone clear through the acylic liner and water was now getting trapped between the liner and the underlying tub. We contacted *************** who informed us the warranty was with BCI and would be their responsibility. So, we called the Customer Service Manager at BCI. She told us it was ***'s responsibility to replace the liner. Neither company is responding to our requests for resolution. It has been three weeks now that we are without a tub and shower.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a refund for full costs of materials and labor for our bathtub and wall surround (since the tub was installed first, the entire wall needs to be removed to replace the liner) I would, however, consider replacement but it is my understanding that *** is no longer in this line of business and only does general contracting.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Thank you for making us aware of this issue. BCI has been a long-standing member of the BBB and although we've had very few complaints over many years, we take them very seriously and address them quickly. We stand behind our products and our goal is to satisfy our customers. We've reviewed the *****' complaint and reviewed the photos that were provided. Fantastik is a recommended cleaner, however, the cracks around the drain are not consistent with regular use of that product. They are consistent with the use of other, non-approved chemicals, which would not be covered by our limited lifetime warranty. That stated, it is still our desire to stand behind our products. We understand that the purchase was made through **************** five years ago and they may no longer be in the bath remodeling business. We stand behind the products we manufacture, but it is the local dealer who provides the installation service and any labor warranty. Although we don't believe this to be a warranty-covered issue, we are willing to remanufacture and ship a new acrylic bath to replace the *****' current tub at no charge to them. However, there will likely be costs associated with the removal and re-installation of the tub, since K&H does not appear to be willing to stand behind this (even though the *****' contract is with them and not BCI). We have made contact with ***********************, a reputable bath remodeler in the ****** area and we would be happy to connect the *****'s to them for purposes of having the bath re-installed. *********************** would determine the installation labor pricing and provide a labor warranty. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept the offer for a new liner - since we have never used "unapproved" cleaners and are certain the cracks are not consistent with their use. The cracks along the sides and back of the tub are clear through and there is water between the liner and the tub. We will be contacting BCI to arrange for a new liner. While we understand our 'contract' is with K&H, our product warranty lies with BCI. K&H will be held responsible for costs of removal and reinstallation. Thank you.