BBB Accredited Business since

Bath Planet of Chicago

Phone: (800) 487-7090 1800 S Park Ave, Streamwood, IL 60107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bathplanet.com/chicagoland


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Bath Planet of Chicago is a bathroom remodeling company which provides bathroom renovations, including bathtub accessibility products such as walk-in baths and shower surrounds, for residential customers. Located in Streamwood, IL, this company serves the northwest suburbs of Chicago, including Hanover Park, Schaumburg, Bartlett, Roselle, Elgin, South Barrington, Hoffman Estates, Carpentersville, West Dundee, Sleepy Hollow, Rolling Meadows, Palatine, West Dundee, Inverness, South Elgin, Carol Stream, St Charles, Barrington Hills, West Chicago, Geneva, Glendale Heights, Medinah, Itasca, Wood Dale, Elk Grove Village, Barrington, Deer Park, and Kildeer. The company has been in business since 2011 and provides free, no-obligation design consultations for their customers.

This company specializes in bathroom redesigns and renovations, especially for disabled and handicapped customers such as the elderly, who may need to have their bathroom renovated in order to provide better access and safety. Products and services include tub-to-shower conversions, walk-in bathtubs and showers, tub liners, replacement bathtubs, bath wall surrounds, replacement shower bases, shower liners, shower wall surrounds, tub-to-shower conversions, step-through inserts, barrier-through shower bases, bath and shower fixtures, grab bars, shower caddies, shaving stands, soap dishes, and ring towel holders. Each of their products are available in a variety of colors and patterns to match the décor of the customer's home, and the company's design consultants can assist the customer in finding the appropriate color and pattern for his or her home.

Visit the website for Bath Planet of Chicago to learn more about their services, view their different products, and contact the company to request a free, no-obligation design consultation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bath Planet of Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bath Planet of Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bath Planet of Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2012 Business started: 05/01/1994 Business started locally: 05/01/1994 Business incorporated 05/25/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dimitris Nacopoulos, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dimitris Nacopoulos, Owner
Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Disability Access Equipment Bath Liners Baths - Equipment & Supplies Home Accessories Shower Doors & Enclosures Baths Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bath Planet of Chicago has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1800 S Park Ave

    Streamwood, IL 60107 (800) 487-7090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early May 2015, our master bathroom was to be remodeled by Bath Planet. We had a custom shower door and they told us that would be installed 5 days after the completion of the project. Two weeks went by and the door was never installed. ******* sent me an email asking how I enjoyed my "Dream Bathroom." I emailed ******** ********** (owner of Bath Planet) and told him my "Dream Bathroom" isn't completed. One week later the door was installed. The installer of the door told us to wait two days before using the shower so the glue can settle. We waited 4 days before using the shower. After using the shower, we noticed a puddle of water on our floor. We figured out there was a leak in the shower door as it was not sealed/installed properly. While this issue was going on we noticed our freezer in the garage was unplugged. This is the outlet the first installer used while doing his work (cutting) in our garage. The installer failed to plug the freezer back in. With that being said all the food was bad and we ended up throwing all the food away. Now there were two issues I emailed ******** about, the shower leaking and the food his installer cost us (approximately $500). My wife ******* and I would email ******* about the issue and he would call us a day later and he would leave a message to call back. We would then call him back, as we work as well, and leave a message with his secretary. During one of the emails we sent ********, we attached a photo of the puddle of water from where the shower was leaking and we also attached a list of all the food we had to throw away due to his installer not plugging the freezer back in. My wife and I wrote down every item we lost as we threw the food away. After numerous emails and phone calls, ******** has not fixed/solved our issues. On July 25th, I was putting my kids in the car (5:30pm) to take them to my daughters softball game, when a truck pulled up. This guy (******) said he was in the neighborhood and ******* told him to stop by to see the shower. This to me seemed sketchy, so I asked to see a business card. ****** ******* went to his truck and gave me his business card. There was a problem though. His business card wasn't from bath planet but from ***************************, Inc. ****** said he was going on vacation and he would be back on Monday and he would give me a call to set up a date to fix the shower. Well I haven't heard anything from ****** or ********. We are now in July and have not been able to use our shower for over a month. My last phone call to ******* was on July 1st, where conveniently he was busy again and couldn't take my call. During the message to his secretary I told her to let him know my wife and I want a resolution to our problem and this would be the last phone call I make before writing to the BBB. Bath Planet prides themselves on giving the customer the bathroom of their dreams. To be honest, this entire process has been nothing but a nightmare. These issues have even taken a toll on my wife and our marriage as we argue about what to do in order to solve this issue. My wife and I have even mentioned to ******* in an email that we don't care if it's a gift card, cash back etc..., we just want the food replaced and the shower fixed. Now this has cost us time, money, stress and an upset wife. I wish they would come back and tear apart our bathroom as it brings us bad memories! Please help us out! Sincerely, ******* *******

Desired Settlement: If I could have Bath Planet come back and tear the bathroom apart and refund our money that would be great as it only brings bad memories to my wife and I. My wife and I are looking to be reimbursed for the food we lost and we are also looking to be reimbursed for the stress and time we have put into this matter when this should have been completed over a month ago. The food itself is approximately $500 and I can't put a price on stress or our time but whatever can put a smile on wife's face is what I'm looking for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/07) */ To Whom It May Concern: All of our custom shower doors begin with a custom glass order, the glass itself can take 2-3 weeks to arrive at our vendor, once the vendor receives the glass the building process begins. Once the door is built it is delivered to us on the following Thursday, as that is when we receive our shower door deliveries. There would be NO possible way that all of that would be accomplished within 5 days, and no one from Bathplanet would ever lead a customer to believe that, so I'm sorry that you were under an assumption that is not accurate. Next, in all of the years of installing bathrooms we have never once had a complaint of one of our installers failing to plug something back in after using an outlet, or even unplugging something that a customer had plugged in. I personally do not believe that BathPlanet or our installer unplugged your freezer therefore, I don't reimburse for food. I have made numerous attempts to work with you on this, and you have chosen not to work with me. We appreciate your business, and your bathroom is complete and we do hope that you enjoy it. Sincerely,

6/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After initially sitting down with salesman and going into detail about product and services I would recieve and expressing my concerns about having bad experiences in the past with different companies product/services, I was assured that this would be done correctly in all aspects of the service/product. So after some thought and somewhat trusting the salesman I went with this company. The day of install after old tub liner was removed, I measured its thickness which was 1/4" thick then measured the thickness of the new tub liner which was 1/4" - 5/16 thick. Complaint #1: At the time of sale I was shown samples of tub liner thickness for what I currently had and what Bath Planets was going to install and told that my current tub liner was the much thinner product and because of that it would get hairline cracks at the drain area which would lead to water getting under tub liner(which was why I initially contacted Bath Planets). So seeing a considerable difference in product thickness I was impressed. After measuring my old liner and the new liner upon arrival I noticed very little difference between both. I was told by salesman at time of sale that my tubliner would be custom fit to my bathtub and would be as close as a 1/4" from tub surface for a snug fit and was much thicker on bottom surface which would take out the flex when standing on it, again assuring me that it would be far better than my current tub liner which had a big gap between the tub surface and the liner itself. When my tub was being measured for dimensions to make new tub liner, the person measuring told me that since my bathtub was steel it was dented and dents on the bottom depending on weight etc., he said it was a common issue with steel tubs, due to that my new tubliner would not fit snug at bottom surface and that there would be a gap and flex. Complaint #2: I was told at time of sale that because the new product was much thicker and custom fit it would fit my tub as close as 1/4" from bottom of tub for virtually no flex. He never stated that there were any exceptions to his statement and being in sales for this product for many years should have known this could be a problem and explained that to me. I called the salesman the morning of the install to express my concerns about the thickness difference between the product and he assured me that his product was as thick as he showed me saying it was 3/8" thick and thinned out a little at the mold curves ( again I measured the new liner at a flat point and it was a hair over 1/4" almost identical to my old tub liner. He said I didn't have to worry because I had a lifetime warranty on the product, so not knowing what else to say I said ok. After thinking about it for a while I became concerned about this issue as well as the fit issue because of the steel tub. I tried calling him back 2 more times 2 hours apart leaving messages but never received a call back. I talked to the installer who was preping surfaces and waiting for new tub to arrive, expressed my concerns and he called the office to have someboby contact me. I was contacted by a gentleman who nicely and respectfully asked me what my issues were.He explained the facts about the product but said there was nothing more he could do except appologize for what happened. I felt deceived by the salesman and there was nothing that could be done. Complaint #3: After the product was installed there is a noticable difference between colors of existing walls and new tub liner/caulk. I picked the color from the samples, physically matching the color sample to the walls. Busciut sample matched nearly perfect, final product doesn't match and caulk is way off from wall color.I am not saying that the new tub liner doesn"t look good. Installer was a nice guy but left a gash in the wall from install. Very diappointed overall. Don't really know what to do. Purchased on 5/14/15. Install/problem date 6/10/15. Sales Rep. *** ******* Paid: $1803.00 through finance plan

Desired Settlement: In future dealings with other potential customers would like the Salesman to give proper information/details to customers so they don't feel the way I do. Very disappointed in the fact that the product/service that the salesman sold me on was really not much different from what I already had and quite different from what I was shown and told (or not told) at time of sale. I purchased this product because of the salesmans pitch. I spent quite a bit of money for this whole episode and I feel I could have gotten almost the same product and installed for less. Maybe Bath Planets could correct the color issue of tub/caulk? or discount my cost? I now have to fix the gash in my wall as well (I know accidents happen but it was not mentioned).I would have been happy if everything just went right as the salesman assured me it would.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/11) */ Dear Mr. ******, Our samples which you are shown in the home at the time of the estimate are the EXACT same material as the tubliner (finished product) is made from. It would not be possible for the color to be different on the tubliner as to that which you were shown in the home. You did not choose to cover your walls with our product, you chose only to cover your bathtub, so we have no way to ever guarantee that our colors would match with a pre-existing tile or walls. Our mini-tubliner which we show you at the time of the sales estimate is the exact thickness of the installed tubliner (finished product) and our silicone (caulking) is color matched to the color of the tubliner, which in your case is biscuit, and they are Kohler Biscuit, so they definitely match one another, and again we can't guarantee anything with your existing wall color since we did not supply or install them. We appreciate your business and know that you will enjoy your bathtub liner, we have provided everything to you, and installed the exact color that you were shown and chose. Sincerely, ******** ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Mr. **********, I understand that the caulk matches the tub color as it should and that the color swatch I looked at up against my wall may look lighter in bigger form versus the small sample. I'm also sure you have caulk that matches my walls alot closer than the bisquit caulk. Since I am not a Specialist in Bathroom Shower/tub lining I would have thought that maybe your salesman could have guided me towards choosing the correct closest color to match my walls,even if biscuit caulk was used around the bathtub. You say the tub sample being shown is the exact thickness as was sold to me.Then all I can figure is that the competitors tub sample being shown is thinner than their actual product because the difference between the two samples was big enough to make an impression on me, yet my old tubliner was nearly the same thickness with no impressive difference. I purchased your product because of the noticeable difference as well as the fact that the salesman said it would fit my tub very close to the bottom.I understand that because my tub is steel it can dent in areas where weight changes can cause that,but your salesman never mentioned to me that if my tub was possibly steel this could be the issue. Had he mentioned that to me it's possible that I might have changed my thought process and either not gone ahead with this or maybe would have decided that I could live with that.But finding out the day of the install is not the right way. As I said I am not a bathroom specialist so I don't know all the questions that need to be asked that's why I put my trust in the salesmans information since he is the expert. I have never filed a complaint on anyone and I have had some businesses that I could have. But having explained to the salesman that some of my past experiences were not good he assured me that I could count on him. Having a feeling of being deceived or not being told all the facts leaves me once again feeling wronged. It is hard to just sit back and once again settle for something that wasn't explained or left out and settle for less when I spent quite a bit of money.It seems like the salesman didn't give me all the facts I needed to make a proper decision. Sincerely, ***** ******

6/1/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parents hired Bath Planet to renovate the shower in their newly purchased home in ***** ***** They were promised a new shower in a day. My father is temporarily disabled and cannot get into a bathtub. The work was complete in less than a day. Both the salesman and the contractor told them their custom shower doors would be delivered in 5-7 business days. 10 days went by and they didn't hear anything. They called and the secretary in the office said the doors would be delivered in 14 business days. After I publicly complained on ***** a company rep contacted me and asked for my parents' information to fix the problem. Now they're being told their doors will not be ready until the end of the month. My elderly parents were taken advantage of and pushed into a contract with these people. They haven't been able to shower!!! And why the discrepancy in time how did it go from 5-7 business days to a month?

Desired Settlement: I want their shower doors installed in a timely fashion and their money back. They should not have had to wait this long when there are plenty of reputable companies out there who could have done the work faster.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ The customer has a completely custom shower, which requires custom shower doors. When we order custom shower doors, we send over all of the dimensions and requirements to our shower door vendor. In turn, they need to custom order the glass first, which they only do one time per week. Once they actually receive the glass they need to completely build the door. This entire process can take anywhere from 14 plus days, depending on the length of time it takes the shower door vendor to get the glass from their supplier, to how backed up the shower door company is when it comes to building the door. BathPlanet is at the mercy of our vendor. We specifically address such instances on the back of our contracts (which the customer did sign). They are as follows: 2. Time Delivery of Installation: Customer understands that any delivery or installation date is merely company's best estimate of when performance will begin, and that performance is subject to delays. Company's failure to meet a given delivery or installation date shall not be a breach of the agreement entered into by and between Company and the customer, and the company shall not be liable to customer for any delay in company's performance under the agreement. We apologize, but certainly you can understand that under certain circumstances, especially in the case of a custom shower door or any other custom materials that we have no control over when glass, materials, frames, parts, etc. are received by our vendor and then in turn sent to us. Our sales people, and office staff certainly try to give a best estimate, but have no way of knowing exact dates, which is why we include all of this verbiage on our contracts and also allow our customers with custom items, such as shower doors, to hold back payment until they are installed. Sincerely, ******** ********** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our issue is with the two separate Bath Shower employees who came to our house and told us face to face that our custom doors would be delivered in 5-7 business days. The receptionist then told us 10-14 days. We still do not have an estimate when our doors will be delivered. We understand it is the glass supplier holding up the project but who tries to make custom doors out of back ordered glass? Bath Planet employees should not be promising a time frame for delivery that they can't abide by. If we were warned verbally that there may be a delay because of the supplier of the doors, we would not have signed the contract or entered into the project. Having it hidden in fine print in a contract is not enough. We feel we were lied to because of the "shower in a day" selling point. Its deceptive advertising. Our shower was complete in a day but still unusable because it doesn't have doors. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/23) */ The glass is not necessarily backordered, it is Custom Ordered, which means that the glass itself is not ordered until the exact dimensions are provided, then once the vendor (shower door company) places their order, there is always that chance that their glass supplier may be on a backorder etc. which we would clearly have no way of knowing. I can guarantee you and all of our customers that we never, every promise our customers dates of arrival for custom shower doors. I do not believe that you were present for the presentation that your parents received, but I promise you we never gave them a date of when those doors would be received. We also do not "hide" anything in fine print. Not only was that clearly written on the back of the contract, it even had it's own specific number on the back of the contract, and not only is it legible and readable, but we also have the customer's signature on the contract, in numerous places saying that they read and understood the contract. As soon as we have the ETA on your door, we will certainly contact you to install. Sincerely, ******** ********** President Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/05/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The shower doors have finally been installed. Dropping our complaint.

4/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had them come to the home to give us a bid on bathroom remodel. They gave us a price and signed a contract. 2 days later they cancelled the contract because they under-bid the job. That was fine with us BUT would not send our deposit (check) back. We had to pay $35 to stop payment on the check

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the stop payment bank charge because they could not send my check back. The bank charge is $35.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/08) */ Hello, I just called the ******'s and spoke with them regarding sending their check back. We are more than happy to mail the check back, which I told them that we will do immediately. Our normal protocol is to VOID the check to avoid mailing such documents but since they requested the mailing I am happy to do so. I will also be more than happy to reimburse them the $35 for the fee that they incurred. The ******'s did state to me that they are retracting their complaint against us because I am more than happy to honor their requests. Please follow up with me and let me know that the complaint has been retracted. Sincerely, ******** ********** President

3/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a contract with Bath Planet to remodel our shower. We were told it would be complete the same day. After our old shower was removed, the worker told us they had the wrong size floor for the shower and would have to order a new one. They also told us we would not be getting a ceiling for the shower only greenboard which is like drywall. I wanted a complete shower, not just part of one. I contacted the project manager and he yelled at me saying I didn't pay for a ceiling and he also said I was getting a good deal and I shouldn't complain. I wish I could have recorded this conversation because he belittled me so much and I was very upset and emotional. I said I would pay extra but I want a completed shower with a ceiling. After much arguing and frustration, he agreed to give me a ceiling but it would be several days to complete. Then I told the worker I didn't want a new faucet/valve or a shower head because the old ones are still good. He said he had to replace everything. After the shower was complete I tried it out and the value was hard to turn for hot and cold water. He said it would loosen up. It never loosened up and my husband (he's 89 years old) has a hard time turning it and was burned by very hot water several times. I called Bath Planet and the same worker came out and said it will loosen up after a few years. My husband and I are elderly and want to use the shower now and we have trouble turning the valve. The worker said his boss will call me but he never did. After a few weeks I called and spoke to a manager who said he can send out someone else to look at it but I have to pay a $135 service fee. I refused to pay the fee so he said he won't send anyone out. I threatened to contact the BBB but he didn't care. So for now, we have a brand new shower that we cannot use because the hot/cold water is too difficult to regulate. The salesperson who handed me the contract said we would be 100% satisfied he guaranteed it. In the meantime, we also had to change the shower head and the drain because we kept tripping over it it was recessed in about 1/2 inch and the shower head was a cheap little shower head that would not put out enough water. Even with the new drain and shower head that we purchased, we are still not using our brand new shower that we paid a lot of money for.

Desired Settlement: All we are asking for is a new value for the hot/cold water that we don't have to struggle with to turn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/26) */ To Whom It May Concern, We are sorry that the ********** are having a difficult time, but we have gone out to the home and confirmed that there is absolutely nothing faulty with their faucet. We install thousands of these exact faucets each year and they all have the same quality, same amount of "tightness" etc. due to the fact that in order to hold temperature and the nature of the design, faucets can't be "loose" or they would fall to the center position and not hold the water pressure and temperature. Again, we have gone out to the home and confirmed that the faucet is absolutely perfect, in excellent working condition, we tested in numerous times, and that the water pressure, and the overall faucet is functioning properly. Mrs. ******* had mentioned that she had a surgery that affected her wrist, and that could be the cause of the faucet feeling more difficult to turn, but over time it may get easier. Unfortunately we can't replace a faucet that is functioning perfectly. Sincerely, ******** ********** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I asked ******* if my previous faucet can be reinstalled which was working perfectly but they decided they did not want to send someone out again to do the work without charging me. The person that was here previously was the same person that installed the faucet. I wanted someone other than the installer to come out. I had my plumber come out and look at it and he said he can fix the problem but I will have to pay for it. Why should I pay more money to fix something that was just installed? Why can't I have my old faucet back? This whole shower installation was a nightmare in the very beginning. I was yelled at, belittled and tramatized by these people and was told that I should be grateful that I didn't pay more. I should be 100% satisfied and I am not. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2015/03/30) */ ******* from Bath Planet stated that he had contacted ***** the manufacturer of the shower faucet, therefore, I also contacted them yesterday. They stated that my problem with the faucet is probably a faulty faucet cartridge, therefore, they are sending me a new cartridge free of charge. If Bath Planet would like to install it, that's fine, otherwise I will hire a plumber and send them the invoice for payment since I have a lifetime warranty on the shower and all accessories. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/03/30) */ We will contact the customer and schedule a time to come out and replace their cartridge. Sincerely, ******** ********** President

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $3,000 on 2/11/2015 and cancelled the agreement on 2/12/2015 on the phone with ***** and he said to follow how to cancel on the agreement . So I drove to the office 2/13/2015 and had it signed off that I had cancelled. The agreement say I will receive my a check in 10 days. I have called and get a run around. Today I called again and they said the owner is not in leave a message. It is 2/27/2015 and I have not received a call or check. When I made the deal they had agreed to hold my check for 10 days since I was still getting quotes on the job. They did not do that and they cashed the check the next day. Product_Or_Service: Tub and wall purchase Account_Number: BathPlanet

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money back today!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/05) */ To Whom It May Concern: Mr. ******* cancelled the contract that he had signed with us. Our protocol is to refund any money due 14 business days after the date of cancellation. Mr. ******* received his refund on Monday the 2nd of March because he didn't want it to be mailed. We followed Company protocol, and certainly did not give Mr. ******* any sort of run around as he stated. Anytime money is refunded or issued in any capacity it is handled by one specific manager and there may have been one day when that person may not have been in the office, or available, but that certainly didn't mean that it wasn't being handled in a timely manner. We apologize that Mr. ******* felt the need to file a complaine, when we only followed our Company protocol for a cancelled transaction and issued refund, but he has received his refund now. Sincerely, ******** **********

1/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/13/2014 we (******, ******* & I) met with *** ******* to discuss remodeling our bath area. *** was friendly and helpful. He was writing up the contract, and towards the end of our meeting he talked about the shower door and showed us a picture. He said the S doors are really nice. Thereafter he said, now one last question, do you want the glass to be clear or obscure. I wanted the clear but went with the majority wanting the obscure. I signed the contract thereafter.**** & ***** arrived at 8a.m. on 11/21/2014. They were diligent workers. I checked on them off and on. Towards the end of their work day they called us into the bathroom and asked that we take a look. We immediately noticed the shower doors, and were shocked. They were almost identical to what we had - Had I known that, I would have kept the old shower doors, cleaned them thoroughly, and re-installed them. I informed the workers of the mix-up. **** went outside to make a call. He came back and said he would have to come back to swap out the doors. He asked for payment. I told him to use the same card I used for the down payment. He said they would hold back a couple hundred until the correct doors were put in. That meant the charge would be $4,000. The following Monday morning (11/24/14) I received a text alert from my credit card carrier that $4,200 was charged to my account. Later in the day (4-5pm) I received a call from Bath Planet and was told that the shower door swap was not going to happen. I was instructed to look at the contract and notice that Bypass was checked off, as if I was supposed to know the names of their products. I argued a bit and was told the owner, *******, said no to the door swap and that was it. They could not have cared less about what transpired on 11/13/2014. To me it was a clear bait and switch. Was that the intention? Only *** knows. HOWEVER their handling of the situation leads me to believe I am not the first person to be confused about the shower doors. *** ******* could have returned my calls, which he never did. He could have apologized. They could have offered a discount. They should have called me BEFORE charging the full $4,200. I want it to be known so others are not taken, so that they pay close attention. Maybe it was my fault for not noticing the doors before the install, but honestly the smell of whatever they use to stick the liner and walls is so strong I felt sick and had to go to the basement while they worked. I am happy with the work performed by **** & *****, they did a nice job. Unfortunately I am disappointed with the shower doors and Bath Planets handling of the situation.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund for the cost of the shower door.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/10) */ To Whom It May Concern: We have reviewed the contract to see if a mistake had been made, and we did deliver the exact door which was on the contract, which was a door with obscure glass. There was nothing stating that the door was supposed to be an upgraded S-Curve shower door, if there would have been, we would have notified the customer that the S-Curve door is not even available in Obscure glass and asked them right away if they would like the glass changed to a different type, one which is offered in the upgraded S-Curve shower door. We apologize that the customer is not happy with their door, but this is the door that we were contracted to provide to them. Sincerely, ******** ********** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/01/05) */ 1/2/15 I am still waiting. Can you please advise me of the status of my complaint. We received a call from bath planet, ***** ********** and he said he can't do anything because he is only the middle man. When We asked for a refund of the door he said they would get back to us. They never did. Again, we could have kept the door we had. It just needed a cleaning. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/01/06) */ 1/6/15 Case #XXXXXXXX Re: **** ******* To Whom It May Concern, We just received correspondence that the customer is wondering what the status of their complaint is. Nothing has changed since our last response, we have reviewed the contract that the *******'s signed and agreed to and confirmed that BathPlanet DID in fact deliver the exact door which was contracted for, which was a 60" bypass shower door with chrome frame and obscure glass. The "style" of the door checked is "bypass", not "custom" with S-CURVE specified next to the word custom, which would be the upgraded S-CURVE door which the customers are saying that they thought they were receiving. Again, the S-Curve shower door does NOT even come, and is not even made with Obscure glass, which is again what they contracted. If they did in fact contract for the S-Curve door, we would have immediately told them, even in the house during the sales presentation and estimate that this door is NOT available in obscure glass. Once again, we apologize that the customer is not happy with the door that they contracted us to provide and install, but we have only provided them with EXACTLY what they agreed to on their contract. If they would like an S-CURVE shower door, we will be happy to sell them one in the available glass options, which are clear and rain. This is a custom door and will have a longer lead time on it, but we cannot refund the door which we have already installed, as we have not made a mistake or done anything incorrectly, we only followed the contract to a "T" and provided exactly what was agreed to on the contract. If they would like, we would be more than happy to offer them a quote on a new S-Curve shower door in one of the available options. Sincerely, ******** ********** President

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/28) */ Hello, I am sorry to hear that Mr. ****** has filed a complaint, especially since we've spoken to him on a regular basis, answered all of his calls, and actually went out to his house to fix his problem, only to be told by him that it was not a good time and he needed to reschedule. We then in turn rescheduled his service call for Saturday, September 7th so we could accommodate his schedule. Mr. ****** confirmed that this day and time would work for his repair. This repair has been scheduled for a period of time already, so why Mr. ****** filed a complaint?-- I am unsure. But if he would be kind enough to let us know in advance if Saturday the 7th of September will not work for him, so we don't send a repair man out when he is unavailable. Sincerely, ******** ********** President