BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2007

Bath Fitter-Northbrook

Phone: (847) 934-0510Fax: (847) 934-0592View Additional Phone Numbers1945 Techny Road, NorthbrookIL 60062-5350 Send email to Bath Fitter-NorthbrookView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2007

BBB has determined that Bath Fitter-Northbrook meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bath Fitter-Northbrook's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter-Northbrook

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bathroom remodel purchased 2011. Account #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Immediately, plumbing completed by a "licensed plumber" was done backwards. Hot water was cold and cold water was hot. This began the series of service calls we have had over the last two years. The "seamless" tub surround sold to us at the in home consultation is not seamless. Weak silicone caulk fills a seam and rubs away with the slightest bit of pressure making cleaning a challenge. Trim pieces at the ceiling and the towel bar in the shower have begun to fall off multiple times. When we call, bath fitter comes, glues the pieces back in place and leaves.

Desired Settlement
We want the bathroom to last. We do not want to have to call for service again. We expect that any necessary service calls be handled professionally. We expect repairs to be completed in the best way possible, not just constant patch work. We expect service providers to have no communication barriers and to have courtesy for the customer.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Bathfiiter
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
we inspected ***** *****'s issues on 2/3/2014. We found that there is a gap between her wall and her ceiling that is causing her silicone issue to keep causing her issue;s. We are building down her ceiling and putting in a new ceiling in order to resolve this issue. This will be completed by 2/15/2014 and will resolve her problems. Please considered this complaint closed and let us know if there is anything else we need to do. Here at Bathfitter we strive to have world class service for every customer and apologize that ***** ***** had these issues.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Several weeks ago I referred my neighbor Mr. ***** to Bath Fitters for some work they were interested in having done.They told Mr. Evans they would be sending me a check for $50.00. There was some confusion regarding my last name and also Mr. ***** was told that the person(s) in charge of this referral check had either left the company, was on vacation, etc.
On November 12, 2013 I called Bath Fitters personally and spoke with the manager who said his name was ****. I explained why I was calling and he said he would contact his corporate office and I would be receiving my check. I called again on December 2nd, 2013 and spoke to **** & he said I should give it another week. Well now its over a month and still no check. I am frustrated that a company that services the public and to some extent relies on word of mouth would give a past customer the runaround for such a small amount. They state they give this money for referrals but its like pulling teeth to get a straight answer or any positive action from them.

Desired Settlement
I'm looking to receive the $50.00 that the company stated I would receive.

Business Response
Contact Email: ********
The Check was Mailed to Mrs. ****** on December 11th. She never received it. I have requested that the check be cancelled and re-issued. I have offered to make the process quicker by getting her a gift card. She said she would rather have the check. The process has been started over. She should have her $50 check the week of the 20th.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

Industry Comparison| Chart

Bathroom Remodeling, Baths, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Bathroom Accessories, Bath Liners, Bathtub Refinishing

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/02/2006Business started: 02/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jim Keith
Related Businesses
Bath Fitter - 1150 N. Main St, Lombard, IL
Bath Fitter-Mokena - 9960 191st St Ste G, Mokena, IL
Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling, Baths, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Bathroom Accessories, Bath Liners, Bathtub Refinishing

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Bath Systems, LLC, Chicago Bath System

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bath Fitter-Northbrook

1945 Techny Road

Northbrook, IL 60062-5350

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1945 Techny Road 

    Northbrook, IL 60062-5350(847) 934-0510
    (847) 844-7660
    (866) 722-0730
    Fax: (847) 934-0592
    Fax: (847) 934-0592
    Fax: (847) 934-0592

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bath Fitter-Northbrook is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 844-7660
  • (866) 722-0730

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (847) 844-7696

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Bathroom Remodeling


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.