Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Matrix Basement Systems

Phone: (847) 929-4602 Fax: (847) 290-8007 View Additional Phone Numbers 1435 East Algonquin Road, Arlington Heights, IL 60005 http://www.mymatrixbasement.com



Click for BBB Rating on Matrix Basement Systems

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Matrix Basement Systems is a basement contractor that provides basement design and finishing for new construction and remodeling products. This company is located in Arlington Heights, IL, and provides service to the entire Chicagoland Area and northern suburbs including Waukegan, Crystal Lake, Lake Forest, McHenry, Lake Zurich, Hoffman Estates, Schaumburg, Elgin, Aurora, Naperville, Skokie, Oak Lawn, Joliet, Orland Park, and Tinley Park. They also have a branch in Livonia, MI, and serve southern Michigan, the Detroit Metro, Ann Arbor, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Grand Rapids. Matrix Basement Systems offers basement living-space design and finishing with services including basement decoration, plumbing renovation, electrical fixtures, painting, carpentry, basement bar design, flooring including hardwood and carpet, and they provide their own wall paneling system which they manufacture themselves. Their basement wall panels are non-toxic, water and mold resistant, paintable, and this company provides these panels throughout the Midwest.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matrix Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Matrix Basement Systems. BBB of Detroit & Eastern Michigan has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Matrix Basement Systems.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2008 Business started locally: 08/01/2008
Business Management
Ms. Anne La Francis, Marketing Manager Mr. Brian Barrick, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anne La Francis, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Waterproofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Basement Waterproofing Poured Concrete Foundation and Structure Contractors (NAICS: 238110)


Additional Locations

  • 1435 East Algonquin Road

    Arlington Heights, IL 60005 (847) 290-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Delivery Issues
4/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Matrix came to my home and gave me an estimate for an Egress window and showed me a picture of what I would get for the price of $4,200.00. I was pleased with this and we signed our contract and I gave them a deposit of $2,100.00 to get the job started. Shortly after this I was contacted by the installer and he advised me that I would not get the window I chose for that price! He said I was misquoted and the window would be smaller than what I was told, but he assured me he would talk to his supervisor and get back to me within a week. I have not heard from anyone since January, which was when I met with the installer. I have made countless calls and left messages and no one has gotten back to me at all. It is now March, and I was forced to hault constructon in my basement because the Egress window is not there. They have my money and I have a receipt and signed agreement for services that I never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my deposit of $2,100 back in full! I am aware that there is a 20% cancellation fee, but this should be waived since I have patiently waited for months to hear from someone at Matrix and no one has cared to reach out to me to resolve this or get the job done. At this point I do not feel confident that the job will be completed in a timely fashion and I would prefer to give those funds to a company I can count on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@mymatrixbasement.com This matter has been resolved with the client. The refund check was mailed out and was simply an accounting/admin error. This customer has agreed to revoke this complaint and remove from BBB but not sure that this has happened. I have emailed the rep at the BBB that sent this notice to confirm and have not received a response. There is no complaint to resolve here and the matter has been settled. We have been BBB complaint free and have an A+ rating with the BBB and hope that this can be removed from our record.

2/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired Matrix Basement Systems to finish our basement. In the beginning of September, 2013 the work was begun and we were told the entire project would take 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 weeks. It is now January, 2014 and we still have issues that have not been addressed. Problems began in the beginning with the on-site project manager, and his lack of management and communication skills. Upon general completion which finally occurred in mid-October, we were under the impression we would have a final walk through with a representative of Matrix, where any final issues would be addressed and we would then receive our lien waiver releases. We never had a formal walk through, only a check with the on-site project manager. At that time, the only issue we had were discolored ceiling tiles which he assured us would be replaced. Since October, a few other issues have arisen (i.e. wood trim around the window is splitting, we discovered shims were not nailed in and a wall has started to ripple). The issues with the rippling on the wall and the shims not nailed in were not directly expressed to Matrix, as we wanted to show the Matrix representative when he arrived. We have left voice mail messages and sent numerous email messages, and all we have received is an occasional response which resulted in nothing but broken promises. We also have not yet received our lien release waivers. After threatening them with the filing of a formal complaint with the BBB, we received word last week that someone would be coming to the house on Friday, January 4 between the hours of 8:00 and 9:00 a.m. No one came or contacted us.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want the ceiling tiles in question replaced. I want the trim around the window replaced and repainted. I want the rippling of one of the walls fixed. I want my lien release waivers. I also feel a partial refund for all the aggravation is in order - 5% of our total project price - $1,661.35. They charge a lot of money for their product and provided numerous assurances that they would stand behind their product and their work. We have seen none of that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Co-owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@mymatrixbasement.com We have performed service for this customer on January 3rd and 4th and to my knowledge we have rectified the concerns. The service crew did not arrive during the schedule time block of 8AM-9AM however arrived later that day and over the weekend to work on the project and repair the walls. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/01/24) */ We still have not received our lien release, nor have we had a final walk-through with a representative of Matrix. I also recently found out that final a inspection was never ordered. I have since contacted my Village and ordered a final inspection. I have also not received any word directly from the company with respect to our request for a partial refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/02/11) */ Matrix will mail the customer a Lien Waiver today Tuesday, February 11th. We will ask for a final walk through with one of our Matrix Installers or Project Manager. Matrix has completed all contracted work, and service work at this point and will not be refunding any of the contracted amount for "aggravation". If the customer has any service work that needs to be performed in the future they can email service@mymatrixbasement.com or call 847.290.8000 and a Matrix representative will call or email schedule their service call.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

26 Customer Reviews on Matrix Basement Systems
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart