BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

Modern Home Products Corp

Phone: (847) 395-6556Fax: (847) 395-9121150 Ram Rd, AntiochIL 60002-1901 Send email to Modern Home Products Corp

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

BBB has determined that Modern Home Products Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Modern Home Products Corp's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modern Home Products Corp

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The leg on my MHP grill rusted and separated from the grill this Spring. I called ***** Mechanical, an MHP authorized repair service and scheduled a time for them to replace the BBQ stand. On June 13th, **** ****** from ***** Mechanical came to my house, disassembled the grill and let me know that the grill cast was rusted and would not hold new legs. He recommended that I submit a warranty claim since this fell under MHPs lifetime warranty.

I then submitted a warranty claim through MHPs website on June 17th. "*****" immediately responded and asked for pictures of the Grill cast, which I sent on the same day (June 17) to ***************@MHPGrills.com.

I have not heard anything back from MHP since that initial email exchange. I sent follow up requests for an update on June 18, June 20, and June 30, but MHP will not respond.

I have now had a rusted out grill sitting with no stand on my lawn for four weeks and I've missed the majority of the summer grilling season. I couldn't be more dissapointed with the customer service from this company, and want them to honor their warranty commitment.

On June 13th I had an authorized

Desired Settlement
I want the company to replace the cast immediately. There is no question that it's under warranty and should not have rusted the way it did.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************
A new bottom casting was shipped out to this customer on 7/16/2014 for his WNK grill. Customer contacted ***** via email again on 7/15/2014 and was informed that she had some issues with her email service and his casting was taken care of the next day. We never received a phone call from **** regarding his problem. Looks like the only contact that was made was through email and because our system was experiencing problems we had no knowledge of his other attempts to contact us regarding his grill.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Barbecue, Cooking Utensils, Landscape Lighting, Manufacturers & Producers, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Gas Lights, Gas Burners, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/2003Business started: 01/01/1977
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1977, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Koziol (President)
Business Category

Barbecue, Cooking Utensils, Landscape Lighting, Manufacturers & Producers, Lighting Fixtures - Retail, Gas Lights, Gas Burners, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modern Home Products Corp

150 Ram Rd

Antioch, IL 60002-1901

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 150 Ram Rd 

    Antioch, IL 60002-1901(847) 395-6556

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modern Home Products Corp is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Barbecue

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.