BBB Accredited Business since

Modern Home Products Corp

Phone: (847) 395-6556 Fax: (847) 395-9121 150 Ram Rd, Antioch, IL 60002 http://www.mhpgrills.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Modern Home Products Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Modern Home Products Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Home Products Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 10/26/1977 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Koziol, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Koziol, President
Business Category

Barbecue Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Cooking Utensils Gas Burners Lighting Fixtures - Retail Landscape Lighting Gas Lights Manufacturers & Producers Full-Service Restaurants (NAICS: 722511)


Additional Locations

  • 150 Ram Rd

    Antioch, IL 60002 (847) 395-6556

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The leg on my MHP grill rusted and separated from the grill this Spring. I called ***** Mechanical, an MHP authorized repair service and scheduled a time for them to replace the BBQ stand. On June 13th, **** ****** from ***** Mechanical came to my house, disassembled the grill and let me know that the grill cast was rusted and would not hold new legs. He recommended that I submit a warranty claim since this fell under MHPs lifetime warranty. I then submitted a warranty claim through MHPs website on June 17th. "*****" immediately responded and asked for pictures of the Grill cast, which I sent on the same day (June 17) to ***************@MHPGrills.com. I have not heard anything back from MHP since that initial email exchange. I sent follow up requests for an update on June 18, June 20, and June 30, but MHP will not respond. I have now had a rusted out grill sitting with no stand on my lawn for four weeks and I've missed the majority of the summer grilling season. I couldn't be more dissapointed with the customer service from this company, and want them to honor their warranty commitment. On June 13th I had an authorized

Desired Settlement: I want the company to replace the cast immediately. There is no question that it's under warranty and should not have rusted the way it did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ************************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****************** A new bottom casting was shipped out to this customer on 7/16/2014 for his WNK grill. Customer contacted ***** via email again on 7/15/2014 and was informed that she had some issues with her email service and his casting was taken care of the next day. We never received a phone call from **** regarding his problem. Looks like the only contact that was made was through email and because our system was experiencing problems we had no knowledge of his other attempts to contact us regarding his grill.