Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Barcodes Inc

Phone: (800) 351-9962 Fax: (312) 212-1800 200 W Monroe St.  Floor 10, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.barcodesinc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Barcodes, Inc. is a bar coding service company which sells bar coding, mobile computing, and RFID equipment for commercial and governmental customers, including bar code scanners, ID cards, and bar code labels. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves a national and international audience, as well as companies in the greater Chicagoland area, such as Schaumburg, Crystal Lake, Joliet, Naperville, Bolingbrook, Rockford, St Charles, Tinley Park, Brookfield, Romeoville, Rockford, DeKalb, Arlington Heights, Deerfield, Great Lakes, Lake Bluff, Evanston, Skokie, Rolling Meadows, Park Ridge, Edison Park, Lincolnwood, Winthrop Harbor, Gurnee, and Blue Island. The company has been in business since 1994 and is an approved government contractor under the United States General Services Administration and the Department of Defense. The company has also served the White House, Congress, the United States Postal Service, the United States Air Force, and all 50 states of the Union.

This company sells bar code technology and accessories, as well as mobile computing solutions and RFID equipment. Their products include handheld scanners, iPhone and iPad scanners, Android scanners, Bluetooth scanners, and bar code scanners for particular industries, such as hospitality and healthcare scanners. The company also sells bar code labels and label printers, which include wristband printers, industrial printers, desktop printers, and ticket printers. Their label types include color labels, blank labels, and shipping labels, as well as preprinted labels such as caution and warning labels, and specialty labels such as metal labels and hospital wristbands. Other products include ID cards, access control systems, and bar code system accessories.

Visit the website for Barcodes, Inc. to learn more about their services, read about the company's history, and view their full list of products to buy car code scanners, printers, and labels.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barcodes Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barcodes Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Barcodes Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1994 Business started locally: 09/01/1994 Business incorporated 09/06/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Nettesheim, President & CEO Ms. Jeanneane Hamilton, Customer Relations Team Lead Mr. Erik Newboe, Accounting Lead Mr. Chicku Poothicote, IT Specialist
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeanneane Hamilton, Customer Relations Team Lead
Principal: Mr. Dan Nettesheim, President & CEO
Business Category

Bar Coding Service Labeling Office Supplies Labeling Equipment Labels - Plastic, Metal, Foil Marking & Coding Equipment Printing Supplies Tickets & Coupons - Printers & Suppliers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Labels - Paper All Other Business Support Services (NAICS: 561499)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Barcodes Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 200 W Monroe St.
    Floor 10

    Chicago, IL 60606 (800) 351-9962

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an inventory management system from barcodes inc. They sold us software and scanners together as bundle that THEY told us would work together. We received the software and scanners only to find out that they did NOT work together. We contacted Barcodes inc and they informed us that they made a mistake and the compatible scanners would be an additional $800. Due to this we told them we did not want the system any longer and would go with a different option. They informed us they could only refund the price of the scanners. After much back and forth we finally spoke with a manager who promised he would refund us in full. We returned the scanners and waited for a refund. After weeks of waiting for said refund we began contacting them again and they kept telling us the refund was issued however we never received any refund. We finally made a charge back to our credit card and they refunded the scanner price right away. However we are still awaiting a refund of almost $1800 for the software. They have had the charge back in their possession for WEEKS now and have still not issued the refund. We have IN WRITING that they were going to issue a refund for the software but we still do not have it. This company is completely unethical, lies, broken promises and is a major headache to deal with even when the problem is caused BY THEM to begin with.

Desired Settlement: FULL refund of the remaining amount we paid for the software totaling approximately $1,800

Business Response:

We regret that we were not able to get this resolved before it escalated this far. The account manager handling this order was using knowledge based off of the manufacturer's specs for the customers specific project.  Unfortunately we were misled and provided the wrong fit, which caused the customer to return the product. With returns on software and hardware to different manufacturers and distributors , the return process did take much longer than anticipated.  The account manager's manager was in direct contact with the customer to help get this resolved. At this time, all of the items have been refunded to the customer. We have instructed the sales team to verify on all configurations prior to shipping to the customer and to follow through on the return process in a timely manner to prevent these situations from re-occurring. We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to our customer as a result of our delay.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

All monies have finally been refunded as previously agreed.

Sincerely,

***** *****

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a scanner from this company and it turn out to be a used/defected product. I called customer service and they told me that they will correct the situation immediately and will FedEx to me. For the next three days, I didn't receive anything. I called customer service back and they told me that the item is still in pending. I then asked for RMA and they told me that it will take another three days. This is really not a good company to deal with and I don't understand why BBB gave an A+ rating for this company. I choose this company because the rating from BBB but it's not true at all.

Desired Settlement: As of right now, I just wanted to return the used/defected product and stay away from this company.

Business Response:

Customer is correct. Order was placed on 2/2. The item, that was shipped direct from the manufacturer, did arrive defective. When we were notified of this, an RMA and new order were immediately entered into the system. We ran into a delay with getting the RMA number from this manufacturer, which delayed us being able to send this information to the customer. Additionally, the manufacturer pulled the remaining stock they had to double check functionality. Because of this, we were unable to fulfill the replacement order the customer placed. When the customer was informed of this, he opted to cancel the order. The order was cancelled and the customer was refunded. The customer has also been sent the RMA information to return the defective item.

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an order from Barcode Giant because an item I saw from ******* Design was on Back Order. Luckily, I thought, I saw it for sale on Barcodes Inc. I ordered it for a client of mine who was opening a store today. I placed the order two weeks ago. 4 days ago I noticed the item hadn't come in and with the impending store opening of my client we really needed the cash drawer. I called but got no answer I was probably calling outside business hours. So I called again the next day and a customer service agent told me he would find out what happened with the warehouse and call me back. The call never came. Then I called again and one more time I was told this agent would find out what happened and contact me back. On a fourth call I told the agent to just refund my money and ordered from another retailer. I had to pay for overnight shipping that was $50 because of the lack of professionalism I received from Barcodes Inc I would never recommend anyone shop there.

Desired Settlement: Got my refund already but lost 14 days and the trust of my client.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to the customer by the missed shipment of this product. The product ships directly from the manufacturer, and unfortunately in this case there was an error in transmitting the order that caused it to be missed by the manufacturer and therefore not ship out. We have reached out to the customer to apologize for the error and provide a discount on his next order to compensate for the expense incurred from this error.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

9/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We receive a weekly email from barcodes, inc. When you click to unsubscribe it takes you to their website not an unsubscribe page. When I used their chat function to ask to be removed I was told that I would have to email them. When I emailed them I was given an auto response that said my email would be seen to within one business day. This does not seem to be compliant and no one should have to jump through hoops just to be unsubscribed from email marketing.

Desired Settlement: I would like the unsubscribe link to be compliant with state and federal law and I request again that my email be removed from further email marketing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* VP Mktg Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@barcodesinc.com We apologize for the error that this customer experienced regarding unsubscribing from our email marketing. The error occurred due to a coding mistake in the email unsubscribe link which was corrected when it was brought to our attention. We have also verified that this customer has been unsubscribed from our mailing list. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an Order (WXXXXXXX) with order from Barcode Discount. they sent to my email the money of order ($1,780.73) not withdrawal and I should pay via bank transfer new total amount ($ 1,805.73). I chatted with Customer Support to inform the company the money already withdrawals from my Master Card actually and the transaction accepted, but the employee said to wait a moment the she disconnected the conversation. I am waiting, shipping confirm because it sold within 24 hours or refund the money, but nothing. I want to return my money back or ship my order.

Desired Settlement: I want them send to me the package within 48 hours or if they will refund the money I will buy from other company and if the price for new order will be higher than my previous order they should pay the additional balance

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****************** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *******@barcodesinc.com We apologize for the miscommunication with the customer regarding this issue. A hold for funds was placed on the customer's credit card as part of normal activity to process the customer's order. Due to some specific details of the customer's international location, we found that we were unable to process the transaction via credit card, and we canceled our credit card payment processing and requested that a bank wire transfer be arranged to complete payment. While no charge was ever made to the customer's credit card the bank hold did take a day or two to clear. This unfortunately is controlled by the credit card bank and not Barcode Discount. We attempted to explain this to the customer although it appears that we were not successful in doing so. Our subsequent attempts to contact the customer regarding this transaction were unsuccessful. No actual billing ever occurred, and all holds should be released at this time.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Barcodes Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart