Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

West Suburban Bank-Lombard

Phone: (630) 629-0278 711 S Meyers Rd, Lombard, IL 60148 http://www.westsuburbanbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Suburban Bank-Lombard meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Suburban Bank-Lombard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Suburban Bank-Lombard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Business Management
Mr. Duane Debs, President/CFO Mr. Kevin Acker, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duane Debs, President/CFO
Business Category

Banks Credit Cards & Plans Financing Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Safe Deposit Box Rental Insurance Services - Commercial Financial Services Financing Consultants Savings Institutions (NAICS: 522120)

Alternate Business Names
West Suburban Bancorp, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 711 S Meyers Rd

    Lombard, IL 60148 (630) 629-0278

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As early as 2007 West Suburban Bank had been sending me coupon booklets with a due date of the 1st of each month and a grace period until the 16th. I had been relying on the information that was being printed on the coupon statements to send in my payments. In 2011 I had inquired on why I had been incurring late fees when I had been making my payments before the 16th. The bank informed me that their 3rd party vendor that is responsible for printing their coupon booklets had misprinted a number of coupon booklets for many of their customers. They then informed me that my grace period should've been printed as the 11th of each month rather than the 16th. I had informed the bank that I should not be penalized for something that occurred due to an error on their vendor's part. I have spoken to several different representatives on multiple occasions to get this rectified and the fees reversed however they are not willing to work with me. My final attempt to get this resolved occurred on 3-26-15 when I spoke to a representative at the St.Charles IL branch by the name of Dominick. He informed me that they would be willing to waive $330.20 of late fees as they acknowledged and agreed that there was an error on their vendor's part. However this offer was only contingent upon me signing a statement drafted by them that same day stating I agree to accept the offer of the 330.20 waiver and that the offer was only valid through the next day of 3-27-15. I felt this was odd that they were giving me such a limited amount of time to decide whether or not to sign the letter. I would've liked to have gone over my financial records before signing such a statement and I didn't understand why they were so adamant about me signing this statement regarding the waiver and its deadline that was only the very next day. The letter also stated that I could not dispute "any other past due fees inaccurately charged prior to receiving the corrected payment books". I feel like I have been taken advantage of and they were not giving me ample amount of time to go through my finances to determine if there were any other inaccurate charges on my account due to this misprint error. The bank is only willing to waive a partial amount of my late fees. The bank should be accountable for removing any and all of the late fees on my account that were a direct result of the error made by their payment book vendor and I would like to get this resolved. I have spoken to ***** ******* who had informed me that he was the Vice President of West Suburban Bank and he was not helpful either. I am filing a BBB complaint as a result of the unjust and inaccurate late fees that were assessed to my account # ********** that the bank is not willing to reverse due to their error.

Desired Settlement: Fee reversal

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@westsuburbanbank.com West Suburban Bank prides itself on providing the absolute best customer experience possible. All feedback is taken seriously and steps are taken to address any concerns a customer may have. We have investigated the information submitted and have concluded the customer was made whole in the instances where there was a bank error. Our records indicate that on March 26, 2015, the customer came to one of West Suburban Bank's branch to discuss late charges on her commercial mortgage. Upon reviewing the account, the bank determined there was a period of time in 2011, in which the payment book reflected an inaccurate date of when the late fees would be assessed. According to the note, a late fee is assessed if the payment is not made by the 11th of each month. However, the payment book stated a late fee would be assessed if payment is not made by the 16th. After reviewing the payment history, we determined there were five instances when the system assessed a late fee on the 11th while the payment was made by the 16th. Based on the account research, we waived $330.20 (five fees at $66.04 each) of outstanding late fees. The remaining late fees assessed would not be waived since those payments were received after the 16th. West Suburban Bank did ask the customer to sign an acknowledgement identifying the circumstances. The customer asked for additional time to review the acknowledgment statement and take it home to compare it to her records. We agreed to this request and the customer returned on March 31st with the signed acknowledgment. West Suburban Bank did not give her a deadline of March 27th nor was there any verbiage in the letter stating she could not dispute any other inaccurately assessed fees. West Suburban Bank has maintained an open dialogue with the customer for a number of years.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on West Suburban Bank-Lombard
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)