Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ace Bakery LLC

Phone: (312) 225-4973 3241 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60608

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Ace Bakery is a bakery that provides cakes and pastries for special occasions. This company serves downtown Chicago, including the neighborhoods of Bridgeport, Pilsen, Bronzeville, Back of the Yards, University Village, Little Italy, Armour Square, and Douglas. Products available from this company include wedding cakes, birthday cakes, doughnuts, pastries, coffee, and special order sweets and desserts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Bakery LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Bakery LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 07/27/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Pack, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Pack, President
Business Category

Bakers - Retail Cookies & Crackers Delicatessens Wedding Supplies & Services Baked Goods Stores (NAICS: 445291)

Additional Locations

  • 3241 S Halsted St

    Chicago, IL 60608 (312) 225-4973


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a cake from Ace Bakery on Oct 25, 2013 for my baby shower Sat. Nov. 2, 2013 . I ordered a fondaant full sheet choclate cake,half fresh strawberries & half fudge. I recieved a fondant yellow cake with half strawberry jell & fudge. I paid $ 290.00 for cake. I had no choice but to give my guest this cake. Phone contact with bakery manager ******.She offered $30.00 instore credit,then offered $65.00 cash to resolve issue and go away. She asked that we take a picture of the cake and email it to her. this was done per her request. She neve said to bring the cake in. After the email several calls maid to resolve issue. No return calls. Contact was then made with the owner ****, who said she didn't know what I was talking about, but refused any refund do to the fact that people liked the cake and ate it. **** informed us that we should have went to ****** and purchased a cake and bring the one from their bakery back to them. **** then said deal with my manager, but said she will not refund any money back. We had no choice but to serve this cake because it was late Saturday evening and the bakery was closed and again closed on Sunday. I was informed that a picture of the cake would be good enough. I am know asking for the full refund of my cake because I didn't get what I paid for. They were very rude in resolving the situation. I had no choice but to serve my guests this cake. This has been going on trying to resovle this issue for over a month already. Ace refuses to acknowledge that their baker made a mistake at my expense and then they are basically telling me to move on.

Desired Settlement: While trying to resolve issue for over a month. I was originally asking for the amount of $ 135.00. The amount I paid for a choclate cake with fresh strawberries and fudge filling,and no choice but to serve my guest their mistake of a cake and rudness. I am asking for the full amount of $290.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* Ace Bakery was originally contacted about this cake by someone calling on behalf of the purchaser. The caller stated the cake was beautiful, decorated exactly how they wanted it but they asked for chocolate cake and received yellow cake. Per Ace Bakery policy the caller was then asked to bring the cake back to the bakery so that I can verify the mistake and resolve the issue. The caller stated they didn live close and complained about having to bring the cake back in. In effort to work with her, I then asked if she could email pictures of the cake. I received said pictures and contacted her back with a refund offer for store credit, which she refused. In effort to resolve the issue I then upped the refund amount to a cash refund of $65.00 (half of the cake price) which she still wasn happy with. I explained to the caller that if she still had more that half of the cake left she would have to bring the remaining cake into the store and I could work on getting her a larger refund. I was then told that she would talk to the purchaser of the cake and I never heard anything back until Ms. ******** came into the store. I then explained the situation again to Ms. ******** and gave her the same offer as the original caller. I also pointed out to her the policy we have posted in the store the states store credit only and how we have tried to work with them so that everyone is satisfied with the results. Ms. ******** stated they no longer had the cake and even though her guests ate and enjoyed the cake she still wanted a full refund of $130.00 our cash refund offer to split the amount since they ate the cake was just not good enough for her. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 22, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Will be in to collect the refund with proper i.d. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/01/21) */ Ace Bakery is glad this issue is being resloved and Mrs.******** can stop in anytime for her $65.00 cash refund.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Bakery LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)