BBB Accredited Business since

American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 579-2233 Fax: (630) 534-7114 View Additional Phone Numbers 4450 Weaver Parkway  Suite 200, Warrenville, IL 60555 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 56 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

56 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 44
Total Closed Complaints 56

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2000 Business started: 07/06/1998 in IL Business started locally: 07/06/1998
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rogers P. Freedlund, Jr., President & CEO Mr. Matthew G. Weil, Corporate Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rogers P. Freedlund, Jr., President & CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Warranty Processing Service Insurance Companies Insurance Claim Processing Services Other Direct Insurance (except Life, Health, and Medical) Carriers (NAICS: 524128)

Alternate Business Names

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4450 Weaver Parkway
    Suite 200

    Warrenville, IL 60555

  • 800 Roosevelt Rd # E300

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137

  • P. O. Box 768

    Warrenville, IL 60555


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to the extended warranty I was sold, at the cost of $5610, for repairs to my RV I would only be responsible for a $50 deductible. In August the slide on my RV required repair and I was required to pay $386.15. According to everything I have read in my contract these problems should have been paid in full minus a $50 deductible no matter where my motor home was serviced. I contacted ** **** RV, the company that sold me the contract, and they keep telling me they are checking into it, but as of this date I still have not received an answer.The motor home is now at ** **** for service and I am being told that certain items will not be covered under the warranty. Account_Number: AUMXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund That USA Travel Care reimburse me for monies I have had to pay out for repairs and in the future honor their contract and advertisement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Attorney Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Please see attached.

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: REFUND OF $ 1,699.00 PLUS 10% FORM ONE YEAR. Hold their business licenses so they cannot commit fraud anymore!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Attorney Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Please see attached.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the American guardian silver warranty on June 27th 2014. Agreement number DRVPAXXXXXXX which covers my car for 48 months or 75,000 miles. I was told that the warranty takes in effect after 30 days. On July 28th 2014 I went to have my car serviced and complained of a ticking noise from my A/C and they explained that my A/C Compressor was "going out". I told them I had an extended warranty and it was covered. They called the company and they said they would cover it. I was given a rental and told that my car would be done the next day. On the morning of July 29th I got a call from ****** ****** Nissan dealership in******* ********* and was told to contact the warranty company as they are stating the condition is pre-existing. I spoke to the claims department and the lady stated that the damages and "deterioration" done to the compressor did not happen within one day of having the warranty. I explained that I purchased the warranty a month ago on June 27th and she stated that they go by the day that the warranty takes in affect not the purchase date, meaning the warranty took in affect on on July 27th so that means that it only covers parts that are damaged after that date. I asked her for the damages of my compressor , what is the duration time that it would take for the damages on the compressor as I am not a mechanic and she could not answer me. She couldn't tell me if that would happen in a few days, weeks, or months. I was transferred to her supervisor and he explained the same thing, but could not tell me how long it would take for those damages to be done to the compressor. Later that day on July 29th I picked up my car from the Nissan dealership and returned the rental car. Because the warranty company would not cover it the service rep quoted me at $950 if I pay out of pocket because they were offering a service discount during that time. I did not have the money and couldn't afford the cost. Now on August 23rd 2014 my compressor has gone completely out. I am still paying on the warranty but feel that I should have been told this. Even if the warranty doesn't take in affect for 30 days I would think that they would cover any damages from the first date of purchase. I also found out that not only does it take 30days but the purchaser also have to put on 2,000 miles to the car. I was unaware of this information as I never received a copy of my contract until I spoke with them on July 29th and requested it be sent as the only thing I received when I purchased the warranty was a welcome letter,a brochure from American guardian, and my payment plan. Although they were supposed to send it out the day that I purchased the warranty. I am still without A/C in my car and I live in ******* where it is almost 90 degrees at 8:00AM in the morning and I can't afford to get the compressor fixed anytime soon. The original cost of the part and labor was $1,200.

Desired Settlement: I would like for American Guardian to pay for the part and labor of the A/C compressor that is covered in my warranty contract. I am willing to pay the $100 deductible that is required although they should cover that too seeing as it is going on two months later with no A/C and I am still paying on the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Attorney Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Please see attached.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company authorized replacement of my alternator and did mention that 100/hour was the covered amount. They also mentioned that they did not cover shop supplies. They claim to have authorized 3.5 hour as a "National average" for the repair. They did not discuss this as neither I or the technician would have gone ahead with out this resolved. This may be appropriate for some Gas engine RV's but is not for my diesel pusher. The alternator is not accessible from the top of the engine and is extremely difficult to reach, remove and replace being under the AC compressor. Replacing the belt is also time consuming. Also, attempts to resolve this with the adjuster have been impossible as he is not available and I and the technician have not been able to reach him. I have also attempted to reach his supervisor and he is not available or returning calls.

Desired Settlement: I want the full time for repairs covered at their agreed labor rate which is actually less that I had to pay,

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************* Atty Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Please see attached response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The response and the explanation and discussions I had, as well as the additional compensation were satisfactory.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car starts to make noises I take it in to get checked and it's the transfer case and the bolts that have come loose. Inspector comes out denies my claim they insists the bolts caused this and they don't cover the bolts Really!!! This is unheard of what the hell did I pay for a warranty for if they are not gonna cover anything and look for excuses not to. I've only had the car 6 months and put 6000 miles on it. My warranty is 100,000 100 deductible but I am canceling because if something else happens they deny me and I'm screwed again.. I urge anyone not to do business with either one of these places. Stay away!!

Desired Settlement: Honor warranty and fix my car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Staff Atty Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** Please see attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The warranty company offered to pay some of the cost of repairs. 2/3 of the 3700.00 the dealership did not offer anything.I appreciate the warranty company for doing so.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/5/2013 I purchased Compass Protection Plan for my 2006 Cadillac. I requested a GMPP but was assured by the dealer that Compass was comparable and less expensive. I took my Cadillac to ******* Cadillac because of a strange noise in the engine compartment. I was told I needed a new power steering pump because of a leak in power steering pressure hose. Compass would cover the pump but not the hose. I am confused. In order to replace the pump the hose had to be replaced also , so why isn't the hose covered? I was told that GMPP covers the hose, but not Compass. Needless to say I am not happy with Compass. I filed a complaint with them the same day and still have not heard from them. That is why I am filing this complaint. Account_Number: VSAXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $396.69

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Staff Att Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** See attached response Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I purchased the ******* ********** **** for $2500 and was assured that this plan was comparable to ******* ****** ********** **** which is what I originally asked for. My complaint is if the CPP is comparable to GMPP and GMPP covers said power steering hose, then CPP should also. Now, if the product was misrepresented by one of your agents, then that is your responsibilitythat is if you stand behind your product. Quite frankly I don't understand **** ******** comments about being surprised. How is this even relevant? I did not build this car. I did not create any of the problems that you grudgingly had to pay for. That is why I purchased your product. If you're not going to honor your product, then refund my $2500. It sounds to me that you would rather litigate than satisfy a customer. Your arrogant response suggests that you might have to brush up on your customer relations skills. Look up the word "tact", that might help you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/05/27) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I need more info from BBB re: arbitration. I stand by my position that AGW is responsible for their product and how it is presented or misrepresented.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sensor in my passenger front side tire went bad and the company paid for a claim for a different tire in ************ today they said it was denied X-XX-XXXX called several supervisor to try and resolve this and was getting the run around. Which is not good business for the company.

Desired Settlement: Would just like for the company to honor the warranty just like they did in 2011 and pick up the bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ See attached

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this extended auto warranty from a very reputable local repair center for my 2004 Mercedes Benz Coupe. Before I made the purchase, I called with some questions to make sure this warranty would give me maximum coverage. I specifically asked about the heating/AC system. I wanted to make sure it was ALL covered. I was told with the Optional electronic high tech, with the SILVER package that includes extended air conditioning, My system would be covered. I also purchased the optional 50.00 deductible package. This total package cost me 2954.00. Up to now, they have covered my repairs, however last week my car developed a issue with the heating/AC where cold air was coming into the car along with the heat. My local repair center recommended I take it to Mercedes, since they were not able to find the issue. When Motor Werks ran the tests they said it needed a 'multifunction temperature sensor'. To my surprise American Guardian declined to cover it. The repair rep who call me said they claim it's not listed! I called them my self, as well as Mercedes, and now all of a sudden, the high tech package and the extended AC coverage only covers 'certain' parts. I asked how a integral part like a simple temperature sensor could not be covered. I was told rather harshly (as was Mercedes) that 'it isn't covered' period. I was then told that the parts are listed and if it's not on there, I'm out of luck. That's a far cry from what I was led to believe prior to purchase. It seems these companies leave out details until you need them, and then it's to late. This repair cost me 464.13. This repair was noted to them prior to me taking it to Mercedes by the local repair shop that couldn't find the issue. The service rep at ********** and the rep at ****** **** ****** in Schaumburg both were at a loss, agreeing it should be a covered part. I ask for your help to help me cover this repair under my extended warranty. A company can not simply pick and choose what they want to cover. I looked at the contract, but it's worded so above me, I can't make heads or tails of it. I emailed them explaining I was a senior citizen on disability. But I never got a reply! I will forward you a copy if you want. They need to train their customer service person '*****' not to be so curt and rude. ***** ***** experienced the same treatment when they called. One of the bylines on their brochure states 'NO EXTRA REPAIR CHARGES'. I expect them to honor that. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I had to pay for the repair out of my own pocket. AGW should do the right thing, and cover my repair. I would like a refund of 414.13, the cost of my repair 464.13 Less my 50.00 deductible = 414.13

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Please see attached for response Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have that same generic answer "the part isn't covered". I specifically called and talked to their customer service department BEFORE I purchased this agreement. I was assured that under my plan, with the extended options, my system WOULD BE COVERED. At no time was it mentioned that only specific parts would be covered. When I'm told my system would be covered, then I expect them to cover it. But they say one thing before you buy, but then sing a different tune after. I'm no fool,I take nothing for granted. They can interpret the wording anyway they want to, to get out of covering something they don't want to. It was a temperature sensor that programed the temperature that needed replacement, a component in the Heating/AC system. But for a moment lets talk about their list of covered parts. In the information I have for my extended AC option, it lists 'temperature control programmer' as covered. But they conveniently interpret that to mean something else. I asked the service technician what that sensor does, and he said it programs the temperature between heat and AC, so why isn't covered? Because they can choose what they want to cover and twist the wording around to deny paying a claim. However, that being said, what really has be infuriated is that fact that I took the time to research and call prior to purchase, to make sure that something like this would not happen. If this is how they are going to handle this, I will take to social media, newspapers, whatever I have to do to let everyone know of the tactics being used. All I ask is that they make good, when I'm told my systems covered, I expect it to be covered, not all of a sudden be told different. I ask that you intercede to help bring this incident to an acceptable ending. I never get this worked up over things, but I really feel that a company should stand behind their word. This part in question is part of 'My heating & AC system'. They said my 'system' would be covered. That's it. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/06) */ American Guardian Warranty Services, Inc. holds steadfast in its position detailed in the response dated January 16, 2014. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I also hold steadfast to my position. They are hiding behind a bunch of contract legalize that no one understands. I was TOLD my system would be covered, I expect it to be covered. A tempurature regulator sensor went bad. They should cover it, it's part of the heating/AC system.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty from this company. They are denying all the component failures and are requiring me to pay out of pocket for tear downs they are requesting and for diagnostics. They were very rude and would not tell me their names. I advised that if they are not willing to honor their warranty than I want a refund they told me to call the dealership and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs to my vehicle resolved. ASAP!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***************** Ad Contact Email: ******* Please have the consumer provide additional information as we have multiple consumers with this name. Unfortunately none with a matching address. The contract number or the last six numbers of the VIN will yield the most accurate identification. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Warranty # is MSAXXXXXXXX The name on the account is **** **************** I am also the owner of the vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/23) */ Please see attached

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the Platinum protection for my Lexus LX570 late last year. My heated seats stopped working so I had my mechanic file a claim. The claims person from ******* came out and said this was a known problem for LX570's years 2009-2011. He indicated it would not be a problem to have them fixed. Once my mechanic submitted the bill...over $3000 for new computer controllers required for the 2 front seats the claims adjuster indicated I would have to pay a substantial amount of the bill. The extended warranty I bought indicated this would be taken care of with the payment of $100 deductible paid by me. In addition there is a service bulletin from Lexus indicating this is a known problem in the LX570. These people are unethical and are definitely playing games. They also indicated I would not get Lexus parts but generic 3rd party parts to get my car fixed. After paying over $2000 for a top of the line warranty that indicates they will cover issues like this one I feel deceived. I hope the BBB can help me either get the money back I paid for the warranty or make them fix my car. Product_Or_Service: ******* ********** **** Order_Number: VSA XXXXXX Account_Number: VSA XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want them to honor their commitment per the contract and fix the heated seats in my car with genuine Lexus parts. I'm willing to pay the $100 deductible as noted in the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Please see attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. ****** **** Better Business Bureau of Chicago 330 N. Wabash Ave, Suite 2006 Chicago, IL 6061 Case No: XXXXXXXX Service Agreement: VSAXXXXXX Claim File No: XXXXXX Dear Ms. ****: This is a submittal to the response regarding consumer complaint case number XXXXXXXX. The ******* ******* contract administered by AGWS was purchased from ********* here in ******** ********** on October 6, 2012. I reported a claim on or about November 2, 2013. The appraiser reviewed the complaint and inspected the vehicle. The initial response from the inspector was that this was a valid claim that would be covered by the warranty. Although there was a Technical Service Bulletin (TSB) that was issued by Lexus which called for the cushion to be replaced, I did not request that the cushion be replaced in an attempt to gain new seat cushions. My concern was surrounding the use of Lexus OEM parts versus aftermarket replacement parts. I am not seeking "repairs beyond those needed to correct a Breakdown". The recommended Lexus replacement part number for the ECU is 85861-60021 and 85861-60011 and the seat climate control unit part number 85864-60010, 85865-60010, 85864-60020 and 85865-60020. The reason is that Lexus states "after replacing the Seat Climate Control ECU proceed to replacing either the seat cushion or the seat back Seat Climate Controller" (See page entitled Seat Heater inoperative after 10 minutes page 3 of 5). Additionally I have included the invoice from Lexus to ***** ********** for the cost of the parts. It is not my goal to repair the car beyond OEM specifications, only to bring the vehicle back in line with factory specifications in full working order. I do not desire a refund of the cost of the warranty, my desire is that only for AGWS to honor the Platinum Coverage of warranty that I purchased. Based on the TSB it appears that those 2 parts are required. However I am willing to accept the initial 2 parts with the understanding that should the parts not repair the issue AGWS will honor the contract and replace the parts as needed to bring the car to full working order. Sincerely, ******* ** ***ón Attachments: Technical Service Bulletin, Lexus Estimate for Parts Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/01/30) */ An agreement has been reached with the consumer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have decided to take the full refund of $2600.00 from AGWS. Please send the release forms to ************ as soon as possible. ******* *****

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We believe that this company is using unethical practices and misleading consumers regarding their extended warranty plan. They are denying claims that should be covered. They are picking and choosing what they want to consider or not consider under their plan. When this plan was purchase, questions were asked regarding the coverage. My husband and I were told this company was excellent with coverage and assured we would not be wasting our money. We purchased this plan on 10/20/2012. We were told that the only thing we were responsible for is paying our deductible, which is a $50 for the platinum coverage. Agreement number is VSA XXXXXX/**********XXXXXX. On January 3,2014 my regular mechanic that has been working on cars for 30 years+ changed to wheel bearings on my car on the passenger side due to the tires being able to be moved when on lift in park. There was a loud noise in the rear of my car. He checked all the wheels at the time. The warranty company did cover these bearings and told the secretary in the garage he could start the work before the approval process was complete. However after I left the garage and noise still continued in the rear of the car. Therefore there was still something wrong with wheel bearings. On January 16 I came back to the garage to have the drivers side bearings checked and replaced, and the warranty center was again called. The secretary and manager were on the phone with the company for over one hour rebutting the coverage for these. The company stated that I must be using the vehicle for commercial use because of the amount of miles accumulated within the thirteen days. However the mileage was reported wrong by the garage who was doing the repairs. I don't understand why they would state this. I am disabled and have many appointments I must go to for my conditions. I have children that are busy. It should not matter and coverage should not be based on this. They only cover the policy up to 100,000 miles anyways and they have already received payment from the bank for the policy in full. The salesperson, **** at extension ******** the company was rude to the secretary and manager at the garage and very sarcastic and swearing at them. He said all work had to be seized and I had to leave the car for 48 hours at the shop for the inspection. I could get a rental car in the meantime that would be covered. The garage manager and I reviewed the policy and it did not state I had rental car coverage. The manager hung up on him because of ******* inappropriate mannerism. **** at first did not want to talk to me, then did and was rude to me too. He stated that he has never seen four bearings go on my make of vehicle at the same time but only has five years experience in mechanics. At that point I requested to speak with his supervisor who was **** at extension **** that was more appropriate. The solution was to set up a time where it could work out for me to have an inspector inspect the vehicle one week later first thing in the morning. The bearing that was making the loud noise was already replaced and the front one was almost replaced. Therefore the inspector will not be able to really inspect the vehicle appropriately.

Desired Settlement: Replace wheel bearings without paying deductible. Honor a bill for loss of work time with ******* ***** ***** for secretary, manager, and mechanic that were utilized for one and a half hours due to spending time on phone and losing work/shop time. Pay for wheel bearings and labor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Please see attached letter for detailed response. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2014/01/30) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ It is my understanding that the consumer is in direct contact with American Guardian and an agreement is being worked on.

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: One purchases a extended warranty to cover the costs that would be incurred from a failure after the factory warranty expires. On December 4, 2007, for a term of 84 months, at a cost of $1,820.00 I purchased this extended warranty/service contract. This is in regard to his Keystone Fuzion 382 5th Wheel, VIN ***FXXXXXXFXXXXXX, Contract # USV-TT ***** The contract price was built into my purchase price and financed with the RV. Due to a history of problems with this company on previous repairs, my selling dealer *********** RV) refuses to service my RV and work with this company, which incidentally is a requirement of my contract. I am forced to take it to another service center that is authorized by the manufacturer, however instead of being 10 mile round trip, its now a 40 mile round trip. My contract is a EXCLUSIONARY WARRANTY. Meaning if its not specifically listed, or excluded, its a covered item, simple. Also my max out of pocket is a $50.00 deductible per visit, no matter the number of repairs or complaints being addressed. Furthermore I am required by the contract to address the issues, if I don't it gives them grounds to not cover the the items. So working with this is a catch 22. If I don't turn it in and try to fix it myself, I am denied. If I turn it in, continue to use, get denied, have a failure, then I get denied for not having it fixed under the terms of the contract. Their actions are a direct breach of the contract that I have with them. The front Carrier air conditioning unit leaks, freezes up, and does not produce cool air, leaks, and is noisy. The failure was documented by the repair shop. This unit requires replacement as Carrier no longer makes RV units, and parts are not available. The unit is covered under Section II, Item 5 of the warranty. The heating system has little or no air pressure coming out of the vents, except the one closest to the furnace. Even after trying to block off certain vents to force air to low volume vents, does not work. The RV stays relatively cold because air is not moving properly which then in turn makes the furnace run much longer than normal using up expensive propane, and battery power when dry camping. The repair shop identified the issue, and noted the repairs required. This is covered under Section II, Item 8 of the warranty. Hydraulic fluid is permeating through the lines of the slide hydraulic system,forcing me to occasionally add fluid. The lines need replacing and the pump examined. This is a slow leak and not one that is easily seen. This is covered under Section II, Item 13 of the warranty. The LP line mounting bracket under the slide broke off. I informed them this propane piping support is a required item under ******** **** ********** *********** 1192, 5.3.18 to This is covered under Section II, Item 7 of the warranty. The automatic satellite system must be powered off and on several times to lock in a signal, the problem is intermittent and documented by the manufacturer of the system as being a main board or LNB. This unit is no longer made, nor are parts available. ******* determined the receiver is not causing the problem. This unit needs replacing. I paid a surcharge for optional coverage under Section IV, which covers this item. Labor Rates, they refuse to cover local going labor rates. I do not control what shops charge, or agreements they have in place with companies like AGS, this is their job to negotiate those rates, not of the customers. I am not the only one who has this problem with this company, if you do a simple ****** search, you will find lists of people who have complained about these very things and how they operate.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to be a stand up company, service my ** under the terms of my contract, fix the issues, and never give me an issue again should I have problems again down the road until my contract expires.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ Please see attached Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They do not explain the different in labor charges, as I do not control the fees shops charge in the area. I do not take my RV to any dealer. I only take it to AUTHORIZED service centers as authorized by ******** RV, the maker of the unit. Anyone else has not gone through training as required by ******** to service their units. They say that PRC RV Finance was my selling dealer? This is incorrect, they were only my FINANCE COMPANY. The selling dealer of the RV was ********** RV, plain and simple. Furthermore PRC RV Finance has gone out of business, so even if I could contact them it would be impossible. Lastly I will take it back in but I fully expect the unit to be covered under my initial $50 deductible as all of the issues have not been dealt with, and they had the unit for 6 weeks, and i needed it back for a trip over Thanksgiving weekend and another one coming up over Christmas. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/14) */ American Guardian has been in direct contact and believes to be working toward a resolution with this consumer. If you need us to forward email correspondence please advise. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will only accept this proposal with the following amendment - "The opening of a new claim WILL NOT result in a new deductible being paid, the original deductible will cover the new claims deductible. The new claim will pay the hourly shop rate as charged by Camping World" I will sign the release for the reimbursement of the "increased shop hourly rate" that payment can be made directly to ******* ****** as see no point in me paying it only to have to send it back over to ******* ******

12/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Through ********* **** the representative/senior program advisor Mr. *** ******* purchased extended warranty on my *** ***** on ******** I had a 30 day (or mileage requirement) waiting period for coverage to begin; which was ******** My auto's sevice light went on after the 30 day period and I made appt with ******** service department. *********** ********** **** denied my claim over the phone saying it was a "pre existing condition." As it turned; Volvo service department dx: head gasket blown. This was not a 'pre existing' condition, impossible. I could not have driven my car and no overt signs of trauma were identified by ****** I asked the representative from warranty company to view car & talk with ***** service. They did and maintained their claim of 'pre existing' condition. Their mind was made up before they even saw the car, albeit their 'explanation' ridiculous and impossible per ***** mechanics. Volvo mechanics/service department clearly state & have provided explanation letter that this was not a pre existing condition. Product_Or_Service: ******* ********** **** ******** Account_Number: DRVPAXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund My cost of repair was $2520.04

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/07) */ See attached for a response to this consumer complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please see copy of Volvo's explanation; they do not agree that this could possibly have been a pre-existing condition. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/25) */ See Attached

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Policy Agreement: UPVXXXXXXXX Cost: ********* Deductible: $100 On ******** I purchased an "Ultra Protection Plan" policy to cover mechanical problems with my car. The policy is guaranteed to cover the following: Engine, Water Pump, Turbo/Supercharger, Transmission, Transfer Unit (4x4) Drive Axle, Seals and Gaskets, Taxes and Fluids. It's good for 60-months or 100,000 miles (whichever comes first). I purchased it with ******* miles on my car. The car now has ******* miles on it. The warranty company refuses to honor the warranty on the engine due to "lack of lubrication". Here's a brief timeline: I got an oil change at ***** **** on ********* On ********* The engine oil warning light came on so I took the car to another ***** **** location and had them top off the oil. The techs there said I had an engine oil leak and that I should take it to a mechanic. The next day, I brought the car to ***** ****** in ******** to repair the car. (XXX-XXX-XXXX) ***** determined that there were several leaks - an Engine Oil leak from an oil pressure sensor and a Coolant leak from a water pump assembly. American Guardian paid for the water pump assembly to be replaced after my $100 deductible. They did not cover replacement of the oil sensor - though according to their warranty, oil sensors are covered (Page 9 item 19 of the warranty guide). The cost came out to around $600 for me. I picked up the car on 6/11/2013 and unfortunately, after driving a short distance on the highway, the engine oil warning message reappeared. I stopped, topped off the oil and returned the car to the shop the next morning. ***** ****** noted that the oil level was normal. After dropping the engine oil pan, they found that one of the four connecting rod bearings had rotated. After disassembling it, they found evidence of wear/ scouring on one of the connecting rod bearings. An inspector for American Guardian came to the shop to look at the engine and take pictures. He asked the shop to remove the damaged bearing and those on either side. The other bearings show normal wear but no evidence of damage. I have pics available. I spoke to ***** ****** and they told me that American Guardian wouldn't cover the damaged engine. American Guardian never called to explain what was going on. I called American Guardian and was referred to a manager who told me that the bearing showed discoloration from "lack of lubrication". They then denied coverage due to "lack of lubrication". This is not true and I feel the company is denying the claim to avoid paying out. If a car has been maintained and there's a mechanical failure of a part due to faulty design, age, etc., the warranty company should stand by their warranty.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like for AGWS to honor their warranty and repair / replace the engine. A rebuilt engine cost is estimated to be $4,300 to $5,500+. A secondary, less acceptable solution would be for AGWS to refund my purchase of their warranty for $3,293.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ please see attached

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******'s ************ in ******** ** confirmed my transmission needed to be replaced.**n ****** 23, 2013 I authorized them to use the warranty to replace it. Initially American Guardian Warranty sent out a "broken" transmission so I had to wait for another transmission to be sent out.**n ********* 24, 2013 after another transmission was sent out I finally got my vehicle back. I thought it was strange that a broken transmission would be sent out the first time since my contract states,"Replacement of any part may be made with like kind and quality, serviceable used or remanufactured parts." The contact also states $2,000 per transmission and $1,500.00 per transmission case.**n ******** 4, 2013 I went to ***** **** in ******** for general repair work. I mentioned I'd recently replaced the transmission. The mechanics looked at each other and said, "have you seen the transmission?" I said No and they took me under the ******** to look. What I saw was a filthy, greasy, rusted old transmission that looked like it came straight from a junk yard. It was so junked the mechanics and I couldn't find a serial number. The mechanics at ***** tire even suspected the transmission might have been in a flood it was in such horrific shape.**n ******** 5, 2013 I called American Guardian Warranty and voiced my complaint. I spoke to a woman named ****** who said, "Is it working?" I said yes but the condition was unacceptable. She put me on hold and came back saying, "As long as it works we're done." I was shocked by her response. I asked from where the transmission came from and she said *** ************* I asked for their phone number to get some details as to where they got that transmission. ****** put me back on hold and when she came back she said,"we don't give out the phone numbers to our suppliers." She was clearly getting frustrated. I finally gave up and called ******'s ************ in ********* ** who put the transmission in my truck. I asked him to confirm that a dirty and rusted old transmission was sent to him from the warranty company. ****** said, "that's what they sent and that's what I installed." The entire process from American Guardian Warranty was poorly handled and I am completely dissatisfied with the product. As a matter of fact, the transmission that was installed in my truck is in such poor shape that ****** from ******'s ************ wrote on the ****, "******'s ************ holds no responsibility on transmission. No warranty given or implied." When my wife picked the truck up he told her, "You should have fixed your own broken transmission. We don't know where this one came from."

Desired Settlement: I paid over $1,000 for the warranty. I want another transmission sent out and replaced in my truck or the cash value to have another one purchased and installed. I want one that's been cleaned and remanufactured. Not an old transmission that came coated with rust and grime. Their refusal to give me any details about the transmission is unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Please see the attached for a response to this matter.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreement No.VSA XXXXXX Our 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited(bought used in 2011 along with warranty) was making a noise.Took to **** ****** ******** in Erie,Pa on Sept 15,2013,and is still there.I was made to authorize putting on diagnostic computer and dismantling engine components in order to find problem. Problem was a piston fell out and ruined two rods.Which is caused by faulty or defective wrist pin. American Guard.asked for **** of sale on vehicle,registration and all receipts for oil changes.Which my husband does himself.So,they wanted a hand written letter that said he changes his own oil. I found some receipts but not all of them,but enough to show in good faith we take good care of this vehicle we are still paying on and have only had two years.And I have all service records as well. (who saves the receipts after the oil is in the vehicle?And they know that!)American Guardian stated that wasn't good enough. Oil changes have absolutely nothing to do with the faulty or defective wrist pin. It's now Oct 16,2013.I sent what they requested three times faxed from ******** Dealer,wouldn't return phone calls and stalled in every way they could.Thirty one days we have been without a car! I finally called the main number to get someone other than **** ********* claims agent and another person looked up the claim and said it was denied yesterday,the letter went out yesterday as well. I believe they are trying to get out of fixing the Jeep because we paid less for the warranty($2000) than what it **** cost to fix the Jeep.($5,439 + tax,per **** ****** ********* A defective part caused this.This is why one buys extra coverage,for the just in case. We did nothing to cause this.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the Jeep.We have Platinum Coverage and a $50 deductible.What happened to it is covered under engine components.And we will pay our deductible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/21) */ Please see the attached for a response. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We could not afford to fix the Jeep since the warranty co refused to pay the claim. I thought that's why one buys a warranty! This Jeep went back for repossession because we could not afford to pay for what the warranty co would not. So,now we have no vehicle! This was not our fault.I don't care what the warranty co says!Ever!They suck!I **** urge anyone I can to never buy a compass/wheelz or anything associated with American Guardian Ins! Our credit has taken a hit because of them and we have no car! Merry Christmas! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/13) */ Please see attached.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this warranty through **** ****** *** in ******** of 2012; address *********** *** **** ******** ************* ********** ** XXXXX; phone number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was sold the Platinum level coverage. The total amount of for coverage was $4597.92, paid in installments of $255.44 for 18 months, automatically charged to my credit card. The products and service of this warranty were sold to me as being equal to the factory warranty, providing bumper to bumper coverage with $100.00 deductible. I drive a 2008 ******** ** ******* which roughly 53K miles, and the factory warranty has long expired. I was told that the parts to be used were official ******** **** new factory parts. It was never disclosed to me during the sale that they would have the option of using refurbished, used, or rebuilt parts. They never disclosed that I would be dealing with another company (American Guardian), which I discovered when I called the customer service number on the insurance card. I received the warranty insurance card and package about eight weeks after the sale was already made. I took my car in for repairs regrading the steering rack assembly issue on Friday ****** 23, 2013. The repair work was completed at **** ******* located at **** ******** Rd, ********** ** XXXXX, phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX, on Wednesday ****** 28th 2013. Not only did American Guardian refuse to pay for the new part, but also were trying to get out paying the full amount of the actual labor cost. The factory ******** part was $1200.00, American Guardian indicated that they would pay $800.00. The actual labor cost was for 6.9 hours. They were trying to pay up to a maximum of 4 hours. The shop owner got involved with much bickering and negotiations, American Guardian agreed to pay for 6 hours. I was without a vehicle for four days; they refused to pay for the car rental I was entitled to. This policy was sold to me clearly through hook and crook under false pretenses. I was stuck with a bill for $620 dollars, in addition to being without a car for four days. I was clearly taken advantage with the sale of this warranty. These warranty companies are legally obligated under the law to disclose all terms and conditions before the sale, not two months after the sale. And if I have to deal with another company, that should be disclosed as well. I have filed this complaint with the ******* ***** ********** and ******** ******** I have also filed a complaint directly with American Guardian, which I have done today *********** I have demand that they pay me an additional $580.00, which covers the original repair agreement and car rental that was sold to me in the first place. I visited both website **** ****** *** and American Guardian. There is absolutely no pertinent information regarding accurate terms and conditions, nothing about how repairs would be done, and what parts would be used. The sales person at **** ****** indicated that I would be responsible only for paying the deductable and the warranty company would pay the rest.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer to cancel the warranty and get my money back including what they owe me on the repairs. They have been charging me on a monthly basis since ******** of 2012 in the amount of $255.44; these are installments to pay the $4597.92 over an 18 month period. But it looks like they have all kinds of surcharges to cover their tracks.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Please see the attached for a response. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Case is pending further investigation, we will be in touch. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/01) */ Please see attached.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that this company is using unethical practice and misleading consumers regarding their extended warranty plan. They are denying claims that should be covered. They are picking and choosing what they want to consider or not consider under their plan. When this plan was purchase, questions were asked regarding the coverage. I purchase plan on ********** We were told that the only thing we were responsible for is paying our deductible, which is a $100. Agreement number is XXXXXX. I have previous taking my car to the dealership more than twice only to be denied coverage from this company. The policy states consumer must call for repair prior to having service done to vehicle. The service people would contact them regarding the service contract warranty that the service team felt was covered under the contract, only to be denied. The written language is deceptive because it doesn't clearly states what is covered under the warranty. I have a Bronze Powertrain Plus including items 1-6. On ********, 2013, I went to FireStone Complete Auto Care. I knew that the air compressor was the problem. I had Firestone to call ******* ** get permission to fix the problem. ******* **** Firestone that I had to pay for the diagnostic and labor to be done on the car first even though they were inform of the problem. I express to the Service Advisor ***** that all I'm required to pay is $100 deductible. I was charged $19.99 for air conditioning performance check. ******* *** callback and told that the problem was the compressor. Firestone told ******* **** information and said that A/C Evacuate need to be done to find out the leak. ******* **** Firestone I had to pay for this at a cost of $166.47. I should not had to pay for a diagnostic test or labor cost of any kind if all I'm responsible for is a deductible.This should have been covered under the AC warranty because the results was related to the AC compressor needing to be replace. The service guy ***** said he didn't understand why they won't cover the drier and parts especially when it is normally apart of the AC. He stated "In order to fix the AC compressor problem, he had to open up the compressor. He stated the Drier is what holds moisture and that it needs to be replace if new compressor is put in. ******* ************** didn't want to pay the cost that Firestone had quoted for AC compressor and clutch. I was told that I had to pay for the drier and labor cost, which doesn't make since the compressor would already be open. ***** (Firestone)said the ******* ************** was being knit picky with everything and refusing to pay what was needed. I'm constantly spending out money for services that the contract should be fulfilling but is not. To add insults, ***** (Firestone)inform them of my radiator leaking and needs to be fix or it may cause damage to engine. The representative wanted to put it in his records so that if the engine does go out that they **** not be responsible. I was charged $1800 for this warranty and it is not worth the paper it is written on. I'm certain that I'm not the only one who has complain about this company practice. I had this contract for nearly 19 months and have not been able to use it for any services covered. People are being railroaded in buying this extended warranty with the clear knowledge from ******* **** they have no intention of paying for anything or as little as possible. They are putting the service cost back on the consumers. No where on the contract does it says I must pay all diagnostic test and labor cost prior to calling them to fix a problem that was pointed out before hand. It is like they want the consumer to pay upfront cost for everything before they do anything and this is not fair to the consumer because it is not specified in the warranty agreement that was purchased (For paying upfront cost). This company has had multiple complaints regarding warranty issues from other places.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking refund for the money spent on diagnostic and labor cost for A/C. I also want my AC fixed. They were inform about the problem prior to car being service. The AC wasn't working and continue to not work after they were informed. This is not the first time they were advised about similar problems in which I spent money out and resulted in me leaving without any resolution to the problem. I spent out a lot of money and tired of the same old run around.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/08) */ Please see attached Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Although the matter has been partially resolved satisfactory(only after I receive my refund for diagnostic payment **** it be satisfactory),I still stand by the statement regarding my complaint. Even when I return my car for repairs,it took an additional 2 hours as ***** (Firestone)went back and forth with their representative (*******.)about the cost and parts. ***** was asking if they could reuse the freon and ***** responded no. ***** informed me after two hours that they wanted to ship their parts to Firestone. I don't accept their response because I was still getting the run around and the warranty suppose to prevent all of this from happening in the first place. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/21) */ Please see attached for a response to the rebuttal

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/09) */ Please see the attached for a response. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/08/12) */ Some rude person called from AGWS today. He basically would not help in the complaint. All I want is the truck fixed. It basically has not been handled to our satisfaction. I was accused of being rude and also accused of altering the transmission previously. It was never altered as long as I have owned it. This is unacceptable and I will seek legal counsel if this is not taken care of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/08/19) */ Please see attached for a response

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2013 Delivery Issues
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Delivery Issues