Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mepco Finance Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 397-6767 Fax: (866) 656-6518 205 N Michigan Ave STE 2200, Chicago, IL 60601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mepco Finance Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Mepco Finance Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1964 in IL Business started locally: 04/01/1964
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Collins, President & Chief Executive Officer Mr. Anthony Hammes, VP of Compliance and Corporate Communication
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Collins, President & Chief Executive Officer
Customer Contact: Mr. Anthony Hammes, VP of Compliance and Corporate Communication
Business Category

Auto Warranty Plans Billing Service Payment Processing Service Financial Services Other Direct Insurance (except Life, Health, and Medical) Carriers (NAICS: 524128)

Alternate Business Names
Mepco Acceptance Corporation
Products & Services

Mepco Finance Corporation ("Mepco") is a servicer of payment plans related to vehicle service contracts. However, Mepco has no involvement in the development, marketing, sale, claims processing activities, or other administration of these vehicle service contracts, and Mepco does not engage in any form of telemarketing. Mepco's sole role is that of the servicer of the payment plan related to the vehicle service contract, sending bills and collecting payments, and is not the seller or administrator of the vehicle service contract. Customers would need to contact their sales agent, dealership or service contract administrator's offices directly for any information regarding discrepancies with product representation, service reimbursement, cancellations, reinstatements, refunds, or any other vehicle service contract related issues.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mepco Finance Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 111 N Canal St Ste 375

    Chicago, IL 60606

  • 205 N Michigan Ave STE 2200

    Chicago, IL 60601


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up with Endurance for a warranty on our Ford Focus in February of this year. Upon further information about the company, we decided to cancel. In March of this year Endurance sent us a refund and that should have been it. However we discovered that Mepco was taking $99** out of the account for three months and we only realized it when we became overdrawn on the account. On June 10th of this year we contacted Mepco about it. They informed me that Endurance was who we should call. I did. I told them that I cancelled in March of this year and they looked it up on the computer and found that I indeed did cancel and a refund was sent to us and cashed. I asked why they were still taking monthly payments out of our account and they informed me that they turned the account over to Mepco and I should call them. So I called Mepco back and tried to get our money back and they directed me back to Endurance . I tried to tell them I already had and they refused to givean answer and hung up on me. Because of this we are overdrawn on our account and had to pay overdraft charges plus $15.00 for a new debit card so they can no longer get money from our account. Please help us to get our money back. It's almost $300.00 they took and with both of us on a fixed income that money is needed as soon as possible. Thank you for looking into this for me. Your help is appreciated very much. ***************

Desired Settlement: We wish to receive our money back that we feel was stolen from us.

Business Response:

************** * *********** * ****** ********

Dear Ms. ******* - 

Thank you for contacting Mepco Finance Corporation ("Mepco") - We strive to provide exceptional customer service and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Please understand that Mepco services payment plans for providers of vehicle service contracts and is in no way responsible for the development, marketing, sale, claims processing or other administration of the vehicle service contracts.

Upon receiving your complaint, Mepco contacted the selling agent of your vehicle service contract, Endurance Direct Warranty Services, and confirmed that they had processed a cancellation on your policy. In light of this information, Mepco has processed a refund to your card in the amount of  $298.65 - you sould see this credit to your account within 48-72 business hours.  

If we can be of further assistance, please contact our Customer Service department directly at ***** ******** Monday - Friday from 8A - 5P CST. 


******* ****** * **** *********
Compliance and Corporate Communication
Mepco Finance Corporation 

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Delivery Issues
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Delivery Issues
1/7/2015 Delivery Issues
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Delivery Issues
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck to ***** ****** on Feb 6 2014 because i was having trouble with it shifting gears,noise in the transmission, missing when it rains and coolant leak.Three or days later they finally got a hold of the warranty company Endurance Warranty Service.They are who MEPCO subs out to.Well ********* wouldn't pay for the other work to be done so that let me having to pay for it.***** ****** told them then that it needed a transmission,suspension work and the other work that they refuse to pay for.Well they wanted ***** ****** to tear it down further and Mr. ****** told them again that it would need a transmission,but they said tear it down further.Mr. ****** ask them if they were going to pay for this and they said no. ********* called me and told me that ********* wanted them to further disassemble the transmission and that they had denied the payment on the other work and that i was going to have to pay for it.And i asked what the hell was i paying them 2400.00 for?.He then said that i would need to put down 500.00 in order for them to continue.I asked what for,and he said because this company is notorious for have work done then not pay for it.So i had to cough up 500.00 for them to either put it back together or continue with the game that endurance was playing.Since i have a life i had to rent a truck from Feb 11 to Feb 15.I called ***** ****** on the 17th and they said it wasn't ready yet,because they were waiting to here back from **************** about the 21st Mr. ****** told me that ********* called and said that they were only going to pay 2000.00 towards another transmission.That was ludicrous because there were used transmission around that ***** ****** could find for my truck that they would guaranty and the only other option was a rebuilt from GMAC which was 4400.00.So on the 26th to March 5th i rented another truck to get around since ********* wouldn't provide one for me.I call ********* then MEPCO to find out why they tied my truck up for over a month on something that they were told need to be replaced 3 days after it was in the shop.I talked to a man name ***** at Endurance and he must have thought i was a retard because he said that the max payment was 2000.00.I said that didn't make sense because i didn't need to buy a warranty if that was all they were going to pay.I paid more that that for the policy.I told him that they could have had this done on the 9th of Feb.I had sent in for my reimbursement on the 2 rentals and they were denied.He said that was part of the max pay out on the transmission.I asked how in the world is repair coverage going to include rental,that is freaking stupid.I said ya'll have screwed me over,it cost me 2600.00 to get my truck out and there is no need to try and get the engine work done because i will get screwed even more.Ya'll have lied and deceived me on this policy and i will take this to another level to get my money back.I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado,I purchased it on Oct. 11,2012,the acc# is XXXXXXXXXXXXXX,I paid 600.00 down and 118.39 a month. I mailed 120.00 every month.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking 1100.00 back because they cause me to spend an unnecessary 700.00 and to cover my 2 truck rentals.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Please see attached Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You can't take the money for the cow and when its found tainted think that you are in the clear. They are as guilty as everyone that shared in my payments.I don't care how this problem is resolved but they are part of it.They knew this company was dirty when they were accepting my money.Pass it along to whoever it needs to go but get it done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/16) */ Please see attach

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2014 Delivery Issues
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Delivery Issues
12/30/2013 Delivery Issues
12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Mepco Finance Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart