BBB Accredited Business since

Lepke Auto Transport, LLC

Phone: (312) 733-3478 Fax: (312) 281-8647 2432 W Polk St, Chicago, IL 60612 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lepkeautotrans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lepke Auto Transport, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lepke Auto Transport, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lepke Auto Transport, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tobias Lepke, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tobias Lepke, President
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies Specialized Freight (except Used Goods) Trucking, Local (NAICS: 484220)

Alternate Business Names
Lepke Auto Dispatch

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 29-2015 ***** transport company picked up my AUDI A8L from ******* *********** on its way chicago my vehicle was damage which will cost $350 to repair , I immediately called ****** to alert him what was going on and he promised to be responsible for the repair and I ve since done everything humanly possible to resolve this issue with no progress .

Desired Settlement: Filler gas door for 2004 AUDI A8l

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** - Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lepkeautotrans.com We have worked with ***** to ship many vehicle for him. This is the first damage claim that we have had. ***** claimed upon delivery his vehicle was missing the door to the gas cap. I advised ***** that we will need the BOL with documented damaage to file a claim through the carrier's insurance company. ***** said he did not receive a BOL. I asked the carrier for the BOL and they provided me with a BOL signed by ***** that noted the gas cap door missing when picked up at the auction. ***** believes that BOL was forged. I provided ***** with a copy of the carrier's insurance certificate but advised him that I have no way of proving that the BOL was forged nor filing a claim due to the BOL clearing them of damage. I also tried to work out a deal with ***** to give him a discount on future shipments to help him with this cost even though we did not have any proof that the carrier was responsible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again this's another lie by ***** ***** just because the only hes good at was to collect customer money and any problem he doesn't want to be responsible. ******** ***** never provide me with any insurance and i have email exchange between us to prove that .(2)Upon delivery of my vehicle the driver doesn't provide me with any BOL . I asked him he told he doesn't have one with him , he begged that he will send it to my email and ask him about the missing gas door he told me that how he picked up in ******* *********** at that time i don't have any reason not believe him, i immediately file an arbitration claim from the auction , the Arbitration manager contacted me immediately after investigation with evidence that the car left their lot with the gas door and per NAAA rules, any cosmetic damage must be noted on the gate pass ****** it leaves the auction and this was not done by ****** ***** and his driver . (3) After satisfactory evidence from the Auction Tobia now agree Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/04/01) */ ***** didn't report the damage until the day after delivery. I did provide ***** with the carrier's insurance certificate. Lepke Auto transport is not responsible for any damage done by the carrier. If ***** provides me with a BOL with the damage documented then I will be happy to help him file a claim with the carrier's insurance. I also told ***** that I would give him a discount on his next few shipments to try to offset his repair costs. But then ***** kept declining my quotes and wanted me to pay for the repair directly. I was not willing to do that.

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Auto Transport and I signed a contract stating they would pick up my car in ** and deliver it to *** They did not pick up the car. They only called back after repeated phone calls and emails. I was told they could not pick it up until 5 days after the agreed upon date and that they could not deliver it until 7-10 days after the agreed upon date. I asked for them to make it up to me by paying for a rental car until the car got to *** ****** ***** said, "I'm going to cancel the contract." He hung up the phone. I relied on the BBB A+ rating in hiring them. They have left me stranded. Please advise.

Desired Settlement: I don't know what the money damages will be as a result of their refusal to honor their contract. Whatever those damages are - for example needing to rent a car when I get to *** I think they should cover them. Thank you for your help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@lepkeautotrans.com When placing the order I told ***** that we should have a carrier pick up her vehicle between April 8-10. As the date approached I advised her that the only truck available would pick up on April 12. Mrs ***** wanted a partial refund for the delayed pick up as well as payment for her rental car. Our contract clearly states that we do not pay for rental cars due to delays. She insisted on us paying for the rental car so I kindly advised her that we would not be able to haul her vehicle and canceled the order. Again, we apologize for the delay. However, we feel that a two day delay does not obligate us to take $500 of her vehicle transport. We believe Mrs ***** was being unreasonable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. *****'s response does not accurately state the facts. Mr. ***** broke his contract and hung up on me. He thought that was 'kindly"? I don't. And he completely made up the "$500.00" amount. I asked what he would do to help me and if he would pay for a rental car since he was responsible for the lateness of his company. (renting a car for a few days would have been much less than $500.00 so I don't know where he got that amount.) That was when he hung up. I was able to find another company. This company came when they said they would and delivered the car when they said they would. So I have no need to ask ***** Auto Trans for reimbursement of expenses. What is important to me, and I hope to the BBB, is that the ***** company couldn't be bothered to help me. I tried for three days, unsuccessfully, to reach them as they hadn't come to get the car as agreed to in our contract. After three days I reached ****** ***** and asked what he would do to help me. His response was that he was not honoring his contract and he hung up. This is not a reliable company and does not deserve the BBB rating they so prominently advertise. I hope the BBB will reconsider its rating and I ask that you post my comment so that other buyers can take my bad experience into account as they make their decision. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/23) */ Lepke Auto Transport ships over 1000 vehicles per year. Since having an account with the BBB we have averaged less than one complaint per year. That is a 99.99% success rate. That is an exceptional record, especially in such a volatile industry as transportation. Lepke Auto Transportation is very well deserving of the A+ rating that we have earned.

10/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from *** ******* to ******* ********** to attend school. This company picked up my vehicle on Wednesday and said it would be in ** the upcoming Monday or Tuesday at the latest. I arrived in ** on Monday and my car did not arrive until Friday. Upon receipt of my car it was filthy. My car was a little dirty before it travelled but after it was transported it was covered in filth. I tried to look around to see if there was any damage to my car but the delivery guy said he needed to get back to his truck and therefore I only had a slight time to view for dents since that would have been the only noticeable damage since the car was so dirty. After the truck left I got a flat tire. I then had to replace the tire. The driver said it was not his fault so I replaced it. The next day I got my car washed and noticed huge scratches on the top of my trunk. The delivery guy said he did not know how I got them. It is NOT listed on the scratches on my car at the original pick up. He said he is not responsible since I did not list it when I first received my car. But my car was so filthy I was unable to notice any scratches! He explained it was typical for cars to get very dirty on the road. But if that is the case they should be responsible for causing damage since it was not initially notated on the pick up review. He said he is not because I didn't mark it down when I picked up the car. I called ***** and he made the driver so mad he refused to even help me find a body shop for my car. My car is leased and therefore needs to be repaired. It is unfair I was coerced to sigh a contract saying the car was in adequate condition when I was unable to tell due to the dirty condition of the car.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to be at least able to find a body shop out here in ******* *** That is the least they can do. They should be responsible for the paint job since the damage was not there before travel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 7010 Contact Email: ******@lepkeautotrans.com ***** Auto Transport is fully licensed and bonded and we contract carriers that are fully licensed and insured to transport vehicle nationwide. ******** *** contacted us on ******* to report some scratches on the trunk of her vehicle. She advised us that she signed the BOL on delivery that the vehicle was clear of any damages but did notice the scratches the day after, once the vehicle had been cleaned. I contacted the carrier and the driver said that ******** complained that the tire was low once the vehicle was delivered and then later called concerning the scratches. He said that the scratches were marked on the BOL on pick up and they were very old scratches. I still contacted the carrier's insurance company to try and get them to send an adjuster to take a look at the damages. However, the insurance agency refused to process the claim once they were informed that there was a signed BOL stating that the vehicle was clear of damages. At this point there is nothing else Lepke Auto Transport can do. I advised ******** *** to contact her insurance company or seek legal counsel to resolve this claim. We ship over 1000 vehicle per year and this rarely happens. We do remind customer in all our correspondence with them to do a thorough inspection upon delivery to avoid this situation. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The carrier was originally going to be cooperative and see if he could get one of his buddies out here in San Francisco to look at the damages on my car and see if there was something that could be worked out until the carrier spoke to ****** who he said was so rude to him and he refused to help me. This is truly unacceptable that I paid 1000$ to have my car shipped and it is delivered with damages. Responsibility needs to be taken. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/01) */ Sorry, but there is no proof or documentation that the vehicle was damaged during transport. You signed a document saying it was clear of damages. Lepke Auto Transport is not responsible for damages during transport, your carrier is. If you had marked the damages on the BOL, then Lepke Auto Transport could help get a claim filed through your carrier's insurance. Without that we can not file a claim. Your complaint is with the carrier; *** **** ********** Not with Lepke Auto Transport. We have done everything that we can. I suggest you contact *** or their insurance company.