BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra Motor Mall

Phone: (815) 433-1666 510 E Norris Dr, Ottawa, IL 61350 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Motor Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Motor Mall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Motor Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1988 Business started: 06/27/1958 Business started locally: 06/27/1958 Business incorporated 06/27/1958 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bill Walsh, Jr., VP/General Manager Glenn Corrie, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Walsh, Jr., VP/General Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Services Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Accessories All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)

Additional Locations


    510 E Norris Dr

    Ottawa, IL 61350


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having transmission problems with my Jeep. I took it to a mechanic cause the rpm's have been running high and I have to put my foot down hard on gas pedal just to pick up speed. The mechanic agreed with me that the rpm's are high and that the transmission is slipping and he told me to take it to the jeep dealership where we purchased it cause it's still under warranty. He told us that it would cost at least $4000 to get it fixed. We took it to the Jeep dealer and their saying that it's not the transmission and we have a certified mechanic telling us it is the transmission. The jeep dealership we believe is trying to get out of warranting our vehicle now. We took it in and they said that there was nothing wrong but decided to look at other things and said that the ball joints are wearing out & told us that it is going to be $1000 to fix. So I took it back to other mechanic and he said that's ridiculous that it is only going to cost $150. I am getting this done right now as I ask you for help. I think that the dealership is trying to scam me out of money for the ball joints & plus they won't fix the transmission even though it's under warranty. Product_Or_Service: 2010 Jeep Patriot

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want the Jeep Dealership to fix it without being hassled and without being charged up front for the problem. We want them to honor the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** ** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** ****** ********* GM, and ***** ********, Service Manager, have attempted to contact Ms. *****. We are planning to road test the vehicle with her to verify the condition of concern and if the condition can be duplicated then we have every intention to follow the Chrysler warranty protocol and to then file a warranty claim to have it repaired. The transmission on this Jeep is not a typical transmission, but a CVT (continuous variable transmission) which does not shift or feel like a conventional transmission. To perform warranty with Chrysler, a trouble code must be set in the vehicle and there were no codes set when we looked at it. No problem was found on the road test either. Chrysler does not warranty any repairs without proof of failure which is why we are inviting Ms. ***** to return to the Jeep dealership to further invetigate. On the other conern, the recommended repair is to replace the entire lower control arms not just the ball joints which is the difference in repair cost. The parts were OEM (original equipment manufacturer) genuine parts recommended for the repair. The price also included an alignment which would be necessary after this repair.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car to the VW dealership since its hard to find a shop to work on a VW transmission. Took them over a month to even look at the car and they finally got back to me and said it needs a new transmission. We talked prices and it was $5000 for a new trans and $1800 for a used. The car is old and not worth the new so I went for the used. We talked about the warranty and I was told a general 30 day warranty. So we agreed on the used trans and they went to work on it. Was completed a month later or so and I went and picked the car up. Drove it home to Princeton and noticed that it wasn't shifting very well. Called them up and they asked me to bring it back to the shop. So next day I went back to the shop and dropped the car off. Few weeks later they got to look at it and told me the transmission was bad. I said "ok when can they get another one put in"? They told me they will order another one and the cost will be $800. I asked why am I being charged again? They told me that the warranty didn't cover Labor costs, so its another $800 for labor. Of course I disagreed and reminded them of the 30 day warranty and that I only had the car for 24 hours. They told me as soon as I drive it off the lot its out of their hands. We exchanged a few more calls with me telling them I'm not paying anything more than the $1800 I already paid. They eventually said they'd cut me a deal and save me $400 by paying half the labor cost. I told them I already paid $1800 for a transmission in my car that runs and they have yet to deliver on that and I won't pay anything else. I shouldn't have to pay for the fact they put a bad transmission back in my car. And so that is where we are stuck right now. They want $400 and I don't believe I should be paying for the mistake.

Desired Settlement: Either the $1800 back or replace the transmission with one that works and another 30 day or longer warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ Mr ******** was told by the Service Advisor that used parts carry only a 30 day 'part only' warranty, however, this was not documented on the Repair Order so we will install the replacement part at no cost to Mr. ********. This was an error on our part by not documenting the policy. Thank You. Mr. ******** my contact the Service Department at XXX-XXX-XXXX to schedule his appointment.