Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fox River Tire & Auto

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 584-0655 Fax: (630) 584-0015 20 North 17th St., Saint Charles, IL 60174 http://www.foxrivertireauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fox River Tire & Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fox River Tire & Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fox River Tire & Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 04/01/1994 Business started locally: 04/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Bickford, Owner/ GM Mr. Chris Griffin, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Bickford, Owner/ GM
Business Category

Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)


Additional Locations

  • 20 N 17th St

    St Charles, IL 60174

  • 20 North 17th St.

    Saint Charles, IL 60174 (630) 584-0655

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 01/22/14 Fox River Tire, upon diagnosis,did an alternator repair on my 2006 Toyota Corolla. The charge $165.39 Paid Visa..2343. (Please note: Alternator drive belt was removed and replaced by them 06/21/12 invoice #7460, $74.90)Upon leaving the shop, (in the lot,)noted engine squeaking which the next day became a loud squeal. 2 days after the repair I contacted the mgr, ***** by phone. told him the problem, confident they'd take care of it. He assured me it was weather related cold/moist &likely would soon subside as new belt was broken in; said this was a common yet unpredictable result after this sort repair. Engine squealing cont., happening 75% of the time driven..loud/obnoxious. I contacted Fox River again who said to come back in to ensure belt was adjusted properly. I did w/i a couple days (late Feb. I think,they have note) & told me it was properly adjusted. Said it was all they could do...*****, repeated,"sometimes this happens after this repair" and, "there is nothing more we can do for you. You just need to wait until the weather changes." I was angry/frustrated and spoke with a mechanic/friend who told me that wasn't true; the tensioner assembly pulley (on which the belt had been manipulated/replaced during the repair,) was damaged, causing the near constant squealing, no matter the weather. I dealt unhappily with this knowledge, feeling I'd been had. Speaking with still others knowledgeable, I waited until Apr.to contact Fox River again, to prove the problem was not weather related & was caused by them. They said things like this happen; there was nothing more they could do; theyd be happy to repair it for a fee, and to return when the squeal was at its worst. This was difficult as the problem did not present itself 100% of the time and the car was being shared. I was furious/exasperated & returned May 28 to demand repair of the problem they caused. I explained, again, that it never existed prior to repair, and had been present since I left their shop; therefore they were responsible and should, under their guarantee, to correct it.I asked them to replace the damaged pulley. ***** denied hearing the (present) minor squeak of the parked car. He had a mechanic come out who verified the squeaks were from a bent pulley and that the squealing would not cease until replaced. ***** said it had always been present. (my blood boiled) He strongly denied responsibility saying they were guilty by association, merely coincidence. I responded, no, they were guilty by cause/effect and therefore responsible, reminding him that the problem did not exist until immediately following his repair. He said they'd already put on a new serpentine belt (insinuating to remedy the situation & done at no charge to me) He showed me the belt already had deep scratches in it, saying they likely were causing the squeals, as well as slippage. I agreed & said the belt was damaged by the damaged pulley due to his mechanic (who likely removed/replaced it improperly) which he was responsible to fix; I said that my car should not come out of the shop in worse shape than when I brought it in. He denied this & all responsibility and said the discount was as far as he would go and would call me the next day with the quote, (which he did, $265.00) Having Lost all trust in Fox River, I left angry and greatly dissatisfied, wondering how I'd be able to afford to have it repaired. On 06/12/14 I had ******** **** & ******* **** ** *** *** , *** *******, IL) do the repair: new alternator belt and serpentine assembly pulley with redesigned Toyota part as per mfr specs. Fee: $385.95 (incl basic oil change. Paid with Visa (Invoice available)

Desired Settlement: I want Fox River Tire to refund me for the price of the pulley repair of $$350.00 done at ******** **** on 06/12/14

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/07) */ I certainly apologize for the inconvenience of having to return multiple times. Unfortunately parts fail and there is no way of knowing when they will fail. As stated in your complaint there is a new redesigned part from Toyota, the reason things are redesigned is usually because they fail prematurely. I was not the owner of Fox River Tire when this repair was completed but as a goodwill gesture I would be willing to split the repair with you 50/50. We value our customers greatly at Fox River Tire and Auto and as a valued customer I will be happy to help in this situation. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to arrange a time for me to refund you. Thank you, ***** ********, Owner, Fox River Tire and Auto


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fox River Tire & Auto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)