Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wise Auto Clinic

Fax: (847) 524-5142 921 Estes Ct, Schaumburg, IL 60193 http://www.wiseautoclinic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wise Auto Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wise Auto Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wise Auto Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2003 Business started: 02/03/1997 Business started locally: 02/03/1997 Business incorporated 12/31/1996 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Danikowski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Danikowski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Brake Fluids Fuel Injection Equipment Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to Wise Auto Clinic and stated that the vehicle had been overheating. I spoke with a repair man named **** and left the car with him. He phoned me later that day and stated there was a crack in my radiator and it should be replaced. He quoted me $540. I agreed to the repair. Less than 24 hours after picking up the car after it was supposedly repaired...it begin to overheat once again. I immediately called the shop and spoke to ****. I explained what happened and stated I would bring the car straight there once it cooled down. When I got there he stated he could be other things but would not offer an explanation as to why these 'other things' were not a part of his original diagnosis for repair. He admitted that he never put the car on the computer to diagnosis the problem. He stated he would give me a new cap for the radiator and would not charge me for it. He did not offer any further resolution. The car once again overheated on the way home so the problem that I brought the car in for was never resolved although he received full payment for the repair. It is also very obvious that there is not a 'new' radiator on the car. I would like a full refund for these reasons. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:  I have read ********* complaint and it is totally without warrant.  She first contacted me as a new customer on the phone to see if I can remove her radiator cap so she can fill her radiator up with antifreeze as her car is overheating.  I said no problem and did it when she pulled up Free of Charge.  She gave me about 2 gallons of antifreeze she had I poured in.  As quick as I was pouring it in, it was coming out of the radiator.  She had mentioned another shop told her the radiator had a crack in it.  I looked and didn't see a crack but did see it coming out of the fins rather quickly.  I had given her a price of 540.00 to replace it and she left.  She called me a few days later saying she had to stop at another shop to get the cap off again as the engine was overheating again and she wanted to get the radiator installed for the 540.00 by me.  She had dropped it off Monday night and we installed it on Tuesday.  We ran the car and it didn't leak, the fans came on and it didn't overheat for us.  I wanted to drive it but the car was so unsafe as the tire was clunking and shifting quit violently to cause the traction control to activate every time you stopped.  We saw it needed control arm and both outer tie rod ends very bad and she said she had to save up.  The next day she said she was overheating.  It was 95 degrees that day.  I told her to come in and I would check it out.  I noticed the reservoir was filled with antifreeze and the system wasn't holding pressure.  I suspected a bad radiator cap so I installed one, topped it off and ran the engine.  It showed just over half on the guage.  I wanted to see what the computer was showing but when I tried to scan the computer, it wouldn't communicate---another problem that needs to be diagnosed.  I had told her this that I would like to check it out further but ti doesn't seem to be overheating right now.  The fans were working but I wanted to check high operation but couldn't due to the problem with the computer.  All during this time, all ******** kept saying was I didn't diagnose it right and her engine is still overheating.  She looked at the guage and said see and I said that just over half is still OK for this temperature.  She kept going on and on that I didn't fix her car and wouldn't admit she knew she had a leak that she had been filling up for some time and I was wrong.  I would of continued to check the engine out some more but felt I was dealing with an irrational person and was getting no where.  She actually was getting irate.  I told her I had no other reason to believe the engine was not overheating from anything other then no antifreeze that was leaking profusely.  Then she was claiming I didn't install the radiator.  I had then made the decision that I fixed an obvious problem she agreed to pay for and verified the fix was correct and didn't want to look at the engine any more.  It is quit possible there are other issues that are causing whatever she is experiencing.  I never saw it overheat. I did what we agreed upon on the repair and am not returning any money back to her.  Enclosed you will find my invoice for the new radiator, her paid invoice, and the picture of her old radiator which shows obvious signs of leakage for some time.   

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I brought my car to Wise Auto Clinic because it had been "overheating". It was their job as auto professionals to correctly diagnose the problem.  Clearly their diagnosis was incorrect if I was still experiencing the same problem less than 24hours later. And the car has overheated several times since then. If it was a mistake on their part they should have at least taken the time to evaluate what could have been wrong. If there could have been another problem causing the car to overheat as I was told, this should have been addressed before I paid $540.00. I was treated very poorly when I went back the next day. Instead of someone trying to figure out what else could have been wrong I was told 'I did what I was suppose to do'. I do not dispute that there may have been a crack in the radiator but if this is not was caused the car to overheat It was not necessary for me to have that repaired at that time. The bottom line is that the problem was not fixed. I should be refunded if I am still experiencing the same problem that I was experiencing prior to the car being "repaired". Thank you.

Sincerely,

******** ********

Business Response:

I want to resolve this issue for both parties.  Unfortunately at this point, I see no reason to return the payment for services rendered and agreed upon that was obviously needed and documented to be needed.  So with this said, I want to move on to the next step of solving the vehicle issue the client is experiencing.  This is where I am willing to provide my diagnosis to get a better understanding of what problem the client may be faced with that needs repair free of charge.  I take our repairs and diagnosis very seriously and I attempted to find out what may be going on.  However, I was faced with many obstacles to allow me to do it.  First was I was instantly faced with I didn't fix her car and was questioned whether I even did the repair when the major leak was obviously repaired.  Secondly, she was waiting and since I wasn't having the engine overheat for me I wanted to drive it to see if maybe that when it occurs but her steering and suspension system in such bad condition I made the decision to not drive her car.  It was VERY UNSAFE.  I can't stress that enough.  I once crashed a car years ago for a ball joint that broke on me.  She had didn't care about repairing that.  Third, I went to "scan" the computer to check some things and I couldn't communicate,  THIS REQUIRES DIAGNOSIS first and repaired before we continue.  I was then blamed for not having the right equipment.  One thing I never mentioned was she had told me a couple times she had a "new" engine installed when I told her it didn't look like it at all.  It smoked blue smoke and burned oil that was visible.  It had massive oil leaks.  So combine all of this and that's what I'm faced with.  Now add that she has been driving around and it keeps "overheating."  I tried to get to what made her think it was overheating and she said the guage shoed it when it was just over half.  Maybe running a little hotter then normal and that's why I wanted to check the high fans but couldn't.  Add that to the overheating I know it was doing to lack of antifreeze in it before she came to me (remember, she carried a gallon of antifreeze to pour in) and now I'm worried it may need a head gasket which is an expensive repair.  I am willing to look at it for FREE to get a better idea of what she's experiencing. I will run some tests.   I will look at why it doesn't communicate.  If it's easy, I'll just fix it.  If it needs a computer or something, I will provide an estimate.  This is a classic case of an old car that needs a lot of work.  And many of these we never found out until now.  She came in to have me pour antifreeze in, it leak out as my picture proves it was major, we fixed it, it didn't overheat for us, we gave it back.  Now I am getting blamed for not knowing everything that's wrong with her car.  I never charged her for any kind of diagnostic report but her husband insisted I provide him one and was mad I didn't have one.  So that's my offer.  It's fair.  I have been doing business for 20 years and have always provided fair, honest, and professional service. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wise Auto Clinic
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)