Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wentworth Tire Service, Inc.

Phone: (773) 821-4802 Fax: (773) 821-7180 11130 S Corliss Ave, Chicago, IL 60628 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wentworth Tire Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wentworth Tire Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1932 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1932 Business incorporated 01/18/1964 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ken Jager, Jr., General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Jager, Jr., General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Locations

  • 11130 S Corliss Ave

    Chicago, IL 60628


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 14th my vehicle was in for service at Wentworth tires tire rotation and oil change service technician driving my car pulled out of the service bay when my vehicle was hit by another car wow the service tech was driving Wentworth tires refuse to cover the damage my car was being driven at the time of the accident by their employee will not give me insurance information instead

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) to cover repairs of my expeditiously

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ The customer was at Wentworth Tire for service on Feb 14th. Our employees was in his car at a stand still blowing the horn to get the attention of another person backing down the length of our driveway. That person kept backing up until he struck the r/f of our customers vehicle. The person, our and customer and our manager proceeded to the police station which is located right behind us and the policed advised the three of us that the police report should be made between our customer and the person who struck our customer car. Come Monday morning, our customer returned to our shop advising that his insurance company had told him that our insurance should be contacted. After placing a call on the following Monday morning, we were contacted back by our insurance and a claim was started. Our customer was aware that a claim was started by 1145 on Monday and that he would be contaced in 24 to 48 hours by an adjuster. On Wednesday morning, our customer returned saying he had not been contacted yet. We proceeded to call the insurance company and give our customer the claim number along with the name and phone number of the adjuster on the claim. Our customer was never told that we would not handle the situation. We were steered in the wrong direction from the police department saying the report was to be between our customer and the other driver. On Monday morning, our customer and myself came to the conclusion that the information of the accident may have been misinterpreted and from that point on it has been turned into our insurance and been moving forward.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/3/14 I purchased 4 tires from wentworth tire. They replaced all four of my tires. As soon as I begin to drive I hear a rattling noise on the right side of my car. On 4/5/14 I took my car back to the shop because I kept hearing a rattling noise in the front right tire. I spoke with Devon who took my keys and drove the car around the area, he then explained to me he thought is was the breaks but he would put the car in the air and look at it. He then came back and said that I was right that it was the front right tire and that I needed a wheel barren. I asked why would I need a wheel barren when I just paid them 3 weeks ago for a service, how could you just put brand new tires on a car without checking it first? He explain that the tire guys are not trained to look at the wheels the just replace the tires. I asked him if this is a tire shop how could you just say I need 4 new tires without checking all parts of the wheel as a whole, wouldn't they notice it when the took off the tire he said yes, but they're not trained back there to see that. I again asked him how would I know someone is trained or untrained to put on tires. I then asked how much the repair will cost, he stated another 345.00. I expressed my dislike in having to pay 345.00 to them when I just paid them 650.00 3 weeks ago but fine as I have no choice. He then stated he couldn't repair my car today I can come back Monday. I expressed my frustration as I had been sitting in the shop with my two children for 2 hours and they don't close until one. He said I have cars in front of you. I asked him was he done with me he said yes I got in my car and headed for the express way. As I drove onto the Bishop ford expressway my car begin to shake vigorously it had never done this before. I then heard a loud noise and my front right tires falls off, I then loose control of my car my children begin crying and screaming and the cars that are on the expressway began to blow their horns trying to dodge me and my flying tire. After my car comes to a halt I check my children and try to console them as the crying and shaken up. I immediately called the tire shop as I just left there less then 15 minutes ago. I talk to the guy who serviced me and explained that my children and I almost lost our life, he say well what do want me to do about it, I was outraged! Something needs to be done to prevent this from happening again to someone else. You think your paying for a service I almost lost my life. Now instead of a minor tire repair my car is now getting body work, I had to file insurance claims, and I have hospital bills for my children.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to reimburse me for my loss. I want the cost of repairs for my car and my children's hospital bills due to their negligence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ******** Ms. ********* came in to the building very upset from the start claiming that her vehicle has been making noise since the tires were replaced on March 3,2014. 4 weeks later is when Ms. ********* came in to get the noise diagnosed. The Assistant Manager let her voice her frustrations and then offered to take the car on a test drive to hear the noise Ms. ********* was experiencing. The Manager could not determine what the noise was so himself and one of our technicians went for a test drive to determine the noise. They could not determine what it was. At that point the vehicle was pulled in to the shop to be lifted up on one our racks to inspect the underneath of the vehicle. The front end was inspected along with the tires and it was determined that the wheel bearing was had some play/slop to it. It was brought to Ms. ********** attention that the bearing on the R/F needed to be replaced and she was given a quote. She stated that she wanted to have it repaired. At that time we mentioned to Ms. ********* that it would not be until Monday to when the work would be completed. There was not enough time before we closed on Saturday to get that type of job completed. Ms. ********* was expained to that the vehichle was not safe to drive in the condition it was in. She became very upset stating that she needed her car for the weekend and work. We explained that she should not be driving the vehicle with the way it was. She took the vehicle and 10 to 15 minutes after she had drove away she called stating that her R/F tire had come off, she was very upset and then hung up the phone. We made several attemps to reach her to see what we could do to help in any way possible and to find out what had happen. All attemps to call the phone number we had on file did not go through. We continued on Monday when we opened up to make more attempts to call the number on file hoping assist in any way as we were concerned for Ms. *********. The case from BBB is the next contact that we had with Ms. *********. We need to determine what happen to the vehicle to investigate further at this time. We will be happy to inspect the vehicle and talk to Ms. *********. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After the test drive, the assistant manager stated that he felt it was the brakes which was the problem. When he put the car in the air, he informed me that it was the wheel bearing needed replacement. That it was the front right tire that needed a wheel bearing. I wondered how they overlooked it when they had the car three weeks prior to that but I was informed that the technicians were not trained to look for broken wheel bearings. They gave me a quote to get it fixed. But they couldn't fix it until Monday. At NO time was I told that the car was too dangerous to take onto the road. He told me to come Monday. IF he told me that it was too dangerous to drive, why then would he tell me to come back on Monday. Besides, what mother of three would knowingly take a chance by taking a car on the road ,endangering her children's lives?? If he would have stated that fact, I would have left it there and rented a car on the SPOT. I begged this man to fix my car because I needed it for work but they refused saying that there wasn't enough time. So after the accident, I called them and they stated that "I told you it was the wheel bearing. Its' not my problem." At no time have they tried to contact me further. I have phone records to prove that no incoming calls on their end came through. Per investigation by my insurance company, it was noted that the studs were either broken or not screwed in properly, which is why the wheel fell off. NOT the wheel bearing which would hardly cause a tire to fall off the car. I am very upset that this incident has taken place. I've done work with this business in the past and have never had issues. I never thought that they would do this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/05/19) */ Upon inspection of the vehicle the I forwarded information on to our insurance. The original day that Ms ********* and I talked, our insurnace was informed of the situation and a claim was started. I believe regular practice beween the two insurance companies is that deductable and rental should be covered. I have a call into our insurnace company today to get more info on the status of the claim. We do apologize for any covenience as there is no control on our part of the insruance company to speed them up at all. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After I received Wentworth tire's rebuttal stating that they tried to contact me I went to the location promptly at 7:30 I talked to a manager who informed me that I needed to talk to *** *** the owner to rectify the situation. I came back at 9:30 to speak with *** *** Upon talking to him I showed *** ** the pictures from my insurance company that there were no studs on the vehicle and that the wheel barren was completely in tact. He then stated that he would investigate it further, he showed me an invoice stating that he was calling my home number I explained to him that I had checked my caller id and had no records of him ever calling my cell or house phone. I asked him to explain to me how there could be no studs on my vehicle he said he didn't know again he would investigate. I left and went on with my day. Because of Wentworth Tires negligence I have had to come out of my pocket for a rent a car, my insurance deductible, and medical bills for myself and my children. My truck is now fixed and that is not due to any of Wentworth's Tire help. Also I was told by a mechanic that my wheel barren is fine all of this adds insult to injury.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was in shop for tune-up.When I went to pick it up I found it to have both the front and back windshields busted out.The car was in their parking lot infront of the door in the very first parking spot.No one in the shop can give me an explanation as to what happened to my car. The South Holland police came out and did a police report but were unable to determine the cause of the damage.

Desired Settlement: The total cost to have the windshields replaced was $380.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Jr Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ******** To BBB and ********, The vehicle in question was worked on in our shop and pulled into the parking lot and then waited for the the owner to return to pick it up. There was no known inccident at Wentworth Tire, inside or outside, that would have cause the windows to be broken. There was a police report that was made with the outcome being no liablity on Wentworth Tire. I have checked with our Insrance Company and they advised me there is no liablilty on Wentworth Tire. Wentworth Tire feels the same in that there is no liability on the matter. On the other hand, Wentworth Tire has always been a company focused on customer service and understanding of all situations. We do want understanding from the customer that this was not a fault of Wentworth Tire in any way all. This was something that happend outside of our building not in our control. We will take our customer service focus and offer to cover the expense of the glass replacement. Please have ******** contact me.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wentworth Tire Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)