Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tuffy Auto Service Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tuffy Auto Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tuffy Auto Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2012 Business started: 07/14/2010 Business started locally: 07/14/2010 Business incorporated 06/29/2010 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Danette Maynard, Owner Mr. James M. Heim, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danette Maynard, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Radiators - Automotive Tire Retread & Repair Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Wheels Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Electric Service Auto Machine Shops General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
SCJ Rockford, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 6574 E Riverside Blvd

    Loves Park, IL 61111 (815) 639-1239

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/4/2015 I took my Range Rover 2003 in for repair of a leak to Tuffy Auto Service Center. They stated that I had a leak on my rear seal and oil can gasket and they advised me on other repairs for example my suspension. I just told them to repair the leaks. Three days later Tuffy auto call me back and stated that the repairs were done and told me to come pick up my vehicle. When I arrived at the Tuffy auto they stated that I have another leak. And that I needed to bring my vehicle back to complete my repairs. I took my truck back on 5/14/15 to have all leaks repaired and it took them one day to fix my vehicle. I drove the truck the first day and notice no leakage at all. Second day I noticed oil leaking on my garage floor and my check engine light was on as well. I called them back on 5/21/15 to inform them of the continuous leakage and they told me to bring the truck back in.The Valve cover gasket set, oil pan gasket, rear main crankshaft seal kit were all repairs done to resolve my truck of the oil leak and its still leaking. Tuffy auto service center continues to ask for me for more and more money despite the fact they are not fixing the problem that they stated they could fix. I want my money back so that I can go to a reputable car service place. Product_Or_Service: Valve cover gasket set, oil pan gasket, rear main

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money ($1,804.20) back and I want my truck repaired by a reputable car service place.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@gmail.com Mr. ****** brought his vehicle to Tuffy Tire & Auto Service on 3/20/15 complaining of a oil leak. The oil pan gasket had recently been replaced at another facility. On 3/25/15 we did another inspection of the vehicle and found the following items were needed: coolant flush, power steering flush, water pump, power steering pump upper & lower ball joints, tie rod ends, valve cover gasket, rear main crankshaft seal kit, rear pinion seal, rear axle seal, engine air filter, trico beam blade, oil pan gasket. Mr. ****** decided to only repair the rear main crankshaft seal kit and put a $250 deposit down on the parts. Mr. ****** brought his vehicle back and had the rear main crankshaft seal kit replaced on 4/4/15. The following items were still needed: coolant flush, power steering flush, water pump, power steering pump upper & lower ball joints, tie rod ends, valve cover gasket, rear pinion seal, rear axle seal, engine air filter, trico beam blade, oil pan gasket. On 5/14/15, Mr. ****** came in and an estimate was given for the valve cover gasket set. On 5/15/15, Mr. ****** put a deposit down for the valve cover gasket kit. On 5/15/15, the kit arrived and Mr. ****** brought the vehicle in for the service. On 5/2815, Mr. ****** contacted the store to complain that he still had an oil leak. An inspection of vehicle only found the declined leaks from 3/25 and 4/4 still present: power steering pump, water pump, pinion and axle seals. Mr. ****** said he had to add a 1/2 quart of oil every 2 hours on 12-hour road-trip. Further inspection, including letting the vehicle run for 2 hours, only produced one drop of oil at the back of the oil pan. Mr. ****** said it leaks a lot if the vehicle is driven at 80 mph for 2 hours. We explained that we do not have a way to test the vehicle under those condition. Our technician found Technical Service Bulletins on oil leaks for this vehicle: crank seal and early application cam bore and galley plugs small leak. The crank seal has been repaired. The technician suggests the vehicle may actually be burning oil and not leaking it. When we went to get the production date off the vehicle to verify the Technical Service Bulletin, the customer left with vehicle. We are willing to continue with diagnosis of the oil issue and repair the items that we found needed repaired. We respectfully decline Mr. ******'s request for a refund and payment to have the vehicle repaired somewhere else Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason why I do not accept this response is that they assured me that the repairs done would eliminate the problem. Also I have provided the information for the technical bulletin and Mr. **** acknowledge me of the problem and to bring in a $150 dollar deposit to get started on the repair on 6/5/15 that will cost me 895.00 dollars when complete. This will put my total investment into repairing an oil leak to 2700.00 dollars. I am confident that the earlier repairs were not needed if the problem exists and I feel I have been misguided during these repairs by this staff. I also explained to him that I have driven the vehicle for about 30 minutes and see oil leaking on the floor of my garage and that he could not have drove the vehicle for two hours and not have seen the oil leak. Mr. **** continues to say the leak is power steering but my power steering levels have not lowered, only fluid levels that have lowered is my oil level. He refuses to listen to the voice of the customer and tries to look at other areas rather than what I initially came in to get repaired. I am not sure where he is getting his information pertaining to the vehicle speed in relation to this oil leak. I have spent 1800 dollars and the leak remains at the same area and the same seapage as it was when I initially brought in the vehicle. Mr. **** as far as to ask me what I thought is the problem as if he and his staff had no clue. Mr. **** and his staff has found a technical bulletin but he should have researched that more thoroughly in the beginning to ensure all research for this problem were resolved. No I feel as if Tuffy Auto Service is merely guessing and taking a stab at repairing this problem but still wants me to pay for repairs that may or may not fix the problem. Mr. **** also keeps bringing up power steering pump as the problem and other repairs and continues to dance around what the customer asked him to repair and that is the oil leak. I told him my oil level has dropped and he keeps stating that it is other problems. I consulted Tuffy prior to making any repairs and made sure that I was clear that my main goal was to stop the oil leak. Mr. **** ensured me that their diagnosis was correct. I placed my trust and faith in this company to render the results they diagnosed being the problem. Nothing has changed since I brought in my vehicle to this company and now I am out of 1800.00. and the problem still exists. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/06/23) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@gmail.com. Unsure how to attach files. please send further explanation Mr. ****** declined repairing all of the oil leaks on his vehicle, therefore he will have leaks. He approved and we repaired only some of the leaks on his vehicle. Please see attached documentation. Mr. ****** claims he has to add 1/2 to 1 quart of oil in every 2 hours of driving, yet when we test his vehicle in 2 hours of driving we find no loss of oil level. In addition, when running in the shop for 2 hours, we observe only 1 drop of oil under the vehicle, which could very well be from the identified leaks Mr. ****** declined to repair (see attached documentation). As a good will gesture, we offered to do the cam bore and galley plug repair (a $1208.88 repair) for $894.41. Still, we do not believe this is Mr. ******'s issue: we observed no oil level loss in our testing. The only oil drip we saw is coming from the previously identified leaks Mr. ****** declined to repair (see attached documentation). If indeed Mr. ******'s vehicle did use a quart of oil every 2 hours on his trip while driving continuously at 80 mph, it is very likely the engine burned the oil. We can find no evidence of such a huge leak. We have invested a huge amount of time in testing and repairing Mr. ******'s vehicle. Mr. ****** approved the rear main seal and we replaced the oil pan gasket at no charge to him since the supplier accidentally shipped us the gasket and did not want it back. We have offered to repair the additional leaks that remain on his vehicle at a discount but he has declined. We have offered Mr. ****** a huge discount on the cam bore and galley plug but he has declined. Unfortunately, until the declined repairs are fixed, Mr. ******'s vehicle will still have some leaks.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tuffy Auto Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)