This business is not BBB accredited.

Steve's Auto Repair, Inc.

3404 Chadwick Dr, Rockford, IL 61109 http://stevesautorepairs.procarcarezone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Steve's Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steve's Auto Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2010 Business started locally: 05/01/2010 Business incorporated 11/29/2011 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Osterberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Osterberg, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Headlight Restoration Auto - Emissions Testing Transmissions - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3404 Chadwick Dr

    Rockford, IL 61109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** ***** ******* went into *****'s shop on X-XX-XX only to have the idle adjusted and the carbs set then within a week I called shop to see how my repair was coming along and I was told they had not even started on what I authorized them to fix, but instead they were running up my bill replacing gaskets underneath car to repair some leaks. When I ask ***** why he was doing that he told me because my car was leaking on his shop floor, I told him I did not want those things done right now, I only wanted the idle and carbs issues fixed then ***** told me that is just how he does things, he goes over everything. Then on X-XX-XX I picked up car and argued over this huge repair bill. After I drove my car home I noticed under the hood that it was spitting oil all over the top right side of engine and I called *****'s shop right away and he had his truck come pick up my car once again to bring back to his shop on ******* So he worked on my car for over another week and when I went to pick it up on X-XX-XX it wouldn't start so I ask ***** to work on it and get it running and I will pay tow truck to bring it back to my home the next day X-XX-XX and ***** told me he wouldn't have time to work on it because he had other cars to work on. So now after 4 weeks in and out of his shop and a bill of $913.52 my car sat crippled and wouldn't even start and transmission was still leaking fluid. Me and my brother went in to *****'s shop on X-XX-XX to try to resolve this issue and he just told me to replace the spark plugs and change the oil and it should start so I had to spend yet more money to fix what I already paid him to fix and that he didn't fix. So the summary of this is, He worked on thing I did not authorize and charged me for, he didn't even fully fix what I did authorize him to fix. I left there with my car in worse shape then it was when it first went there and still charged me a huge bill and I am convinced that he didn't even know how to fix my car but told me up front that he has worked on this particular type of car before.

Desired Settlement: I only want my money back for things he charged me for that I did not authorize and he didn't properly fix so I can take my car elsewhere to have it fixed correctly. And here is the break down of those charges. auto transmission pan gasket $17.44, labor install $95.00, valve cover gasket set $21.10 labor install $95.00, oil pan gasket set $25.00 labor install $95.00. 10W30 motor oil $25.16, Dex 3 trans fluid $25.56. Total $399.26

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service