Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scott's Service Place, Inc.

Phone: (630) 682-9760 Fax: (630) 682-9838 110 Bridge St, Wheaton, IL 60187 http://www.scottsserviceplace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

  Welcome to Scotts Service Place Inc. your one "Place" for all your car care needs. We offer complete automotive repair, maintenance services and tires. We work on all makes and models from Acura's to Yugo's, Hybrid vehicles, and everything in between. All our technicians are ASE Certified with (2) Master Technicians. Whatever your issues are we have the knowhow to get your car diagnosed and back on the road quickly. We use the most up to date equipment, with 4 different computer based factory information systems. We truly are your best dealer alternative. Any questions about your car, please feel free to call us, Scott, Rich, or Nick will be able to help you.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott's Service Place, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Scott's Service Place, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scott's Service Place, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1996 Business started: 01/19/1995 in IL Business started locally: 01/19/1995 Business incorporated 01/19/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Parsons, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Parsons, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Engines - Diesel Starters - Engine Steering Systems & Equipment Clutches Heaters - Automotive General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

Scott's Service Place, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Mastercraft Tires , Monroe Shocks and Sruts, Walker Exhaust

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express. Cash. Check. Car Care One Card 6 Months Financing through Synchrony Bank.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend first brought his 1999 ***** ******** to Scott's one year ago to be serviced. They told him then, on top of the work they were doing, to consider getting his serpentine belt replaced because hot coolant had leaked onto the belt and weakened it. Since he had already spent money on other maintenance, he decided to hold off on the belt. Last week he got his brakes fixed, and while he was paying for them, the guy at the front desk told him again he should consider getting the serpentine belt replaced because it was in bad condition and could break at any time. Another mechanic was in the lobby telling a woman she needed to get her serpentine belt replaced, and he came over to us and said, "I'll show you guys too." He brought over two belts, one in horrible condition with rubber ripped off the top and one that was in mediocre condition with a few large cracks in it. He told me the condition of my boyfriend's belt was between the two belts he was showing me and that in places, the rubber had ripped off the top. I asked him how long he thought we had before it broke, and he said it was impossible to tell. We came back a few days later because my boyfriend was moving to Memphis and wanted the belt replaced. They charged us $117.30. He said the belt itself, a ******** Gatorback belt, costs $70, and the labor costs $50. I asked to see the old belt after they put in a new one, and the mechanic showed it to me. At that point, he told me an entire row of rubber had been ripped off the belt's side. There were no cracks on the ridged side, and the rubber on the top was in perfect condition. There were surface-level grooves on the back. I took the belt to a mechanic at ***** **** in Moline for a second opinion, and he said it appears to be in "good condition" and that no rubber had been ripped off the belt's side. I took it to ***** Repair Shop in Wheaton and got a third opinion, a man named **** who also said that in his opinion, the belt did not need to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: A complete refund: $117.30.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern:

 On 5-19-2016 I had called to reach out to ********* regarding this matter and left her a message to please call me. ********* very promptly called me back, and we had a very good conversation regarding her dissatisfaction with our services on her boyfriends vehicle. She was very receptive to what I explained to her, and why we replaced the serpentine belt on the vehicle. I do believe it was a matter of our staff not conveying exactly why the serpentine belt needed to be replaced. After explaining exactly why we had recommended replacing the serpentine belt ********* had a much better understanding why it was recommended. I did offer if she wanted to, her boyfriend could bring the vehicle back to us and we would put the original serpentine belt back on and completely refund her money. ********* said no, that was ok, as she understood now why it was replaced, and she expressed none of this would have happened if things were conveyed to her correctly in the first place. I did let ********* know if she has any further questions to please call me. *********, if you do end up reading this copy, again I do apologize that all this had to go to this level.                                                

  After our conversation, all this should be resolved now between Scotts Service Place and ******** as she is now comfortable with the replacement of the serpentine belt service that we performed.

   Sincerely,

***** ******** Scotts Service Place Inc.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is fine. However, the customer service that I received throughout this entire process was not sufficient. Though no monetary amount was exchanged, I still do not fully trust this business and think that they should be held accountable for the way I was unapologetically lied to. 

Sincerely,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Scott's Service Place, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)