Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Pete's Service Center

Phone: (708) 598-6968 Fax: (708) 598-7025 View Additional Phone Numbers 6717 W 79th St, Burbank, IL 60459 http://www.petesservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pete's Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pete's Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2004 Business started: 10/01/2004 Business started locally: 10/01/2004 Business incorporated 09/03/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ted Alexander, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted Alexander, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Auto Repair - Suspension Brake Service Carburetors Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Fuel Conversion Engines - Gasoline Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Towing - Automotive Differentials - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Boosting Services Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Cylinder Heads - Auto & Motorcycle Starters - Engine Auto Electric Equipment Clutches Heaters - Automotive Shock Absorbers Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

This company offers all types of automotive repair and service.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6717 W 79th St

    Burbank, IL 60459 (708) 598-6968 (708) 469-4411

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On *** *** 2013, approx 5:30 pm, vehicle released all of coolant from coolant bottle. Contact Pete's Service Center and spoke with *******. Per statement if can make it by 6 pm would take a look at it. Contact *** and was able to make it by above mentioned time. ******* and several gentlemen were there. I informed ******* that the coolant was running out of the antifreeze reservoir, his reply was, "its can come out of reservoir", stated I had a leak but could not see from where. I stated again to ******* that it overflowed from the coolant reservoir and that the reservoir had what appeared to be a crack around the top of the reservoir. ******* stated we would replace it, but I needed to leave the vehicle for further inspection to find where the leak was. On ******** at approx 10:00 am, contact was made with Pete's Service Center, was informed had not located the leak. Approx. 1 - 1 1/2 later contact was made again, informed that my leak was located and $382.48 would be the cost of repair minus $20 for an oil change. Received a ride from my boss after work to pick up car, ******* was asked you found the problem and took care of it, he replied, yes you will have no problem. Vehicle is not driving the same. Smelled antifreeze, called stated excess will burn off. I contact Pete's again due to antifreeze boiling out of reservoir again. Did not speak to ******* initially, gentleman stated bring car in to find the leak, i stated you already found the leak with the $400. I then asked for *******, informed him of the situation, I put some anifreeze in the vehicle and left work early. I informed ******* that what he fix was not the problem or it isn't working. Approx. an hour after I arrived, ******* places some kind of pump over the top of the coolant reservior and stated that what the repaired was fine the leaks is the hose leading to the coolant reservior and a clamp is needed.I stated now the leak is coming from there when you told me that you repaired the leak. ******* stated, its not leaking now because I am tring to show but this is your leak. I am not agitated, and stated are you going to replace the clamp or am I. He stated well you can and I'll give you the clamp. I said I am no mechanic how am I going to put that on, his reply was it easy and told me what to do. I asked him about replacing the bottle as he previously stated, ******* stated did not say that, but there is nothing wrong with the bottle except you need a need cap. He direct me to the **** ****** ***** up the street where I purchase the cap and attempt to put the clamp on, in which I had to get assistance, due to clamp on securely. After removing the clamp no damage to hose or clamp. I take my car to **** Dealership for oil change. I am told that I need what Pete's was said to have repaired already and showed **** Dealership receipt. Now I do not want to talk with ******* anymore I contact the owner **** he was working out at Countryside location *****'s ******** ********** *** Inc. Told **** of the situation he stated bring to me I'll make it right. Stated lower half of housing was replaced and the whole thing should have been replaced and the part is not sold separately and he doesnt know why it was done like that. This is after sitting there since around 12:30 pm - 7-7:30, end the end I got a ride home and arrive at 9:30pm. Had to get a ride to work that Monday and a ride to pick the car up in which we(my ride and myself) left work early to do. **** charged me another $54.57. He to say no I am ok, but my fan was coming on but with a 4 or 5 sec. delay so when I am ready he will change a sensor to make it come on when its suppose to, but your ok. We got 5 mins away and a noise and smoke was coming from the car, we turned back around, **** stated like the other ******* did its burning the antifreeze. The smell was there also. Drive to work the next day, antifreeze comes out again the same way every time. Call ****, got his wife and he is in a meeting all day.

Desired Settlement: I had my car towed to Ford Dealership,got a rental and received vehicle 1 day. Cost of $476.49. **** stated fan was working but had a 4 - 5 second delay and a sensor should be replaced, however the fan was not coming on at all and thats why my coolant was coming out of the reservoir. Dealership fix the problem, Pete's took my money and repaired something that did not need repair. **** refunded the $57.84, and stated wanted to see the bill for the repairs just completed to see if actually had repairs done before any refund. I gave them Ford's number and the gentleman who worked on the vehicle/per his approval name and would answer any question Pete's or Peter's shops would have. I haven't received any other refund. I gave both shops the chance to make right the wrong that was done to me. They did not make it right. I lost time off work, find rides to and from work and to pick up the car that they knew was not repaired. Pete's owes me $362.48 for not repairing my vehicle. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ We have tried to work Ms. *****. Her vehicle had an intermitten problem, meaning that it would not act up all the time. In August we repaired what was a known problem. In December we did what Ms. ***** requested us to fix. She pointed to the thermostat housing asking us to warranty it out. Again we towed her car for no charge and other services. We offered to do more for Ms. ***** in our quest to have outstanding customer service but she declined. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contacted **** about my vehicle because the same problem was happening after several attempt's for his workers at Pete's at 6717 W 79th failed to find out what was wrong with my vehicle. I got my vehicle to Pete's Service Center at my expense on each time. ****'s worker assured me that the work done on my vehicle was indeed where my leak was and that I would not have any problem. When the problem continued I returned the vehicle at my expense(meaning with no assistance from Pete's Servie Center),I was told that the leak was coming from a hose connected to the resevoir and given a clamp to put on myself., after I was assured that the initial repairs was the leak. I told ****'s worker that the coolant was coming out of the coolant bottle, his answer was "that's not possible". In trying to give the company an opportunity to repair my vehicle,I reach out to the owner. I did not instruct **** to warranty my vehicle I ask him to find out what is wrong with my vehicle, because the same problem is still happening, and this part of the vehicle was repaired why is it leaking. **** reply " I will look at it and take care of it" "and this should not be leaking". I was at the Countryside location for approx. 6 1/2 hrs only to leave without my vehicle.**** stated, " they only replaced part of the housing unit and they should have replace both". also stated that **** does not sell that part separately, and the part was ordered. When I came to pick up my vehicle, I was charge $57.84. **** assured me that I am fine now. WRONG!, drove vehicle less than 5 min after leaving the business, vehicle is smoking and making a loud noise. I immediately turn the vehicle around and head back to the shop. I was told its just coolant burning off. Picked the vehicle up on 12/3 at approx. 4pm, arrived at work on 12/4 at 8:30am, put vehicle in park, breathe a sye of relief that the coolant remained in the resevoir, got out of the vehicle took approx..5 steps and the coolant came out of the resevoir again. I was able to get on video. I immediately called to speak with **** twice, but was told he was in a meeting. I did not receive a call back until around 3pm and it was not from ****. I told the gentleman I call to speak to ****, and again I was told he was in a meeting. I told the gentleman that I am having same problem that I initial brought my car in for, his response was that the leak must be somewhere else but need the car to check it. I told him I want to talk to **** because **** assured me my vehicle was taken care. **** did not call me until 4pm. Both Pete' and Pete's II were given chances to repair my car, and it did not happen. I contacted ****, towed the vehicle to them, was informed that what I stated was happen indeed did happen, but it cost an additional $476. Throughout this ordeal, Pete's towed my car once. The other times I got my vehicle to them. I requested a copy of all work order vouchers for services and repairs conducted and completed on my vehicle, I have not received it to date. The only thing **** stated he repaired for no charge was replaced a radiator cap. **** is inferring that other services were completed with no charge, what were they. No, **** did not provide good customer service, because he is not being truthful about the matter and my vehicle was not repaired. What I declined was the continued run around that **** had given was going to continue to give. I wish to take this matter further. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/04/14) */ I do not see our last response listed. The vehicle in August had a visible coolant leak that was repaired with the thermostat housing. In December, at the Ford dealership they repaired a electrical problem in the cooling fan assembly. The the repairs are unrelated. We have a nationwide warranty on our repairs and will continue to stand behind the repairs we have preformed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not have a conversation with you at any time. I do not see a resolution in your response, if one was proposed. The situation as you call it, occurred while **** and **** were the owners of the business's. I am requesting my money be refunded due to failure to fix my vehicle. I was charged for a service that was not done and had to pay out additional monies to get my vehicle repaired.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pete's Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)