Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Parkview Automotive

Phone: (773) 847-9626 Fax: (773) 847-1246 4139 S Western Blvd., Chicago, IL 60609 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.parkviewautobody.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parkview Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parkview Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parkview Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 1996 Business started: 01/14/1986 Business started locally: 01/14/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elias Magallanes, Owner Ms. Patricia Magallanes, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elias Magallanes, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Towing - Automotive Auto Body Repair & Painting General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • 4139 S Western Blvd.

    Chicago, IL 60609

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY CAR WAS TOWED TO PARKVIEW AUTOMOTIVE IN APRIL OF 2014 TO GET AN ENGINE ESTIMATE FOR MY INSURANCE COMPANY. MY HUSBAND ADVISED THEM WHEN MY CAR WAS TOWED THAT IT WILL TAKE QUITE A WHILE TO GET APPROVAL FOR REPAIRS. THE ASSOCIATE, ******* SAID THAT WAS FINE AND NEVER MENTIONED STORAGE TO MY HUSBAND. WE WERE WAITING FOR APPROVAL FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND IN THE MEAN TIME, MY CAR WAS DAMAGED ON THEIR LOT - MY WINDSHIELD WAS SMASHED (I AM NOT SURE WHAT DAY THIS ACTUALLY HAPPENED, I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO THEIR SHOP). IN MAY, ****** CALLED MY HUSBAND TO INFORM HIM OF THE DAMAGE TO MY WINDSHIELD, AND THEN PROCEEDED TO TELL HIM WE NEED TO MOVE MY CAR IMMEDIATELY AND PAY THEM $500 IN STORAGE FEES. THEY WOULD NOT RELEASE MY CAR WITHOUT PAYING STORAGE. I HAVE TRIED AGAIN AND AGAIN TO GET THEIR INSURANCE INFORMATION TO FILE A CLAIM FOR THE DAMAGE TO MY CAR, AND THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME ANY INFORMATION. I HAVE ATTEMPTED REPEATEDLY TO SET UP A TIME AND DATE WHEN I COULD PICK UP MY CAR WITHOUT PAYING STORAGE, BUT THERE HAS NOT BEEN A SINGLE DAY THAT THEY HAVE ALLOWED ME TO REMOVE MY CAR FROM THEIR LOT WITHOUT PAYING STORAGE FEES. THEY SENT ME A LETTER DATED JUNE 20TH STATING I AM NOW BEING CHARGED STORAGE FEES SINCE JUNE 12TH, (JUNE 12TH WAS THE DAY I SWITCHED TO EMAIL BECAUSE CALLING THEM WOULD GET ME NO WHERE, ALL THEY DO IS YELL AT ME ON THE PHONE.) I HAVE OFFERED AGAIN AND AGAIN TO PICK UP MY CAR AND PAY WHAT I AGREED TO - THE $100 TOW AND THE $85 ESTIMATE FEE AND I WILL REMOVE MY CAR FROM THEIR LOT RIGHT AWAY. BUT THEY REFUSE TO ALLOW ME TO REMOVE MY CAR, FURTHER RACKING UP STORAGE THEY NEVER TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY WHEN I TOOK MY CAR TO THIS SHOP. THEY HAVENT EVEN COVERED MY WINDSHIELD TO STOP THE RAIN FROM DESTROYING MY INTERIOR - THIS NEGLIGENCE IS UNDOUBTEDLY RUINING MY INTERIOR. THEY REFUSE TO TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR MY WINDSHIELD AND YET CONTINUE TO CHARGE ME STORAGE. I DONT BELIEVE I SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR STORAGE FEES IF THEY NEVER TOLD ME THEY WERE GOING TO BE CHARGED BEFORE THEY STARTED CHARGING. THEY ARE NOW SAYING THEY ARE CHARGING ME SINCE JUNE 12TH - BUT I HAVE EMAILS PROVING THAT ON THE 12TH (AND SINCE) THEY WOULD NOT RELEASE MY CAR WITHOUT PAYING STORAGE FEES. SO HOW CAN THEY SAY THAT THEY'RE CHARGING ME FROM THE 12TH BECAUSE THAT IS WHEN I BECAME AWARE OF STORAGE, IF ON THE 12TH (AND EVERY DAY SINCE) THEY HAVE REFUSED TO RELEASE MY CAR UNLESS I PAY THEM HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS IN STORAGE??!! THEY ARE NOW THREATENING TO TAKE A LEIN ON MY TITLE, WHICH IS ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS. I JUST WANT MY CAR BACK, AND WANT THEIR INSURANCE INFO SO I CAN SUBMIT IT TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY. I HAVE NO PROBLEM PAYING WHAT I RIGHTFULLY OWE THEM, WHICH IS $185.00. BUT AS OF TODAY, I HAVE NOT BEEN GIVEN ONE SINGLE OPPORTUNITY TO REMOVE MY CAR FROM THEIR LOT WITHOUT PAYING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS OF STORAGE FEES I WAS NEVER WARNED OF. I FULLY BELEIVE WHEN MY CAR WAS DAMAGED ON THEIR LOT, THEY PANICKED AND THIS IS THEIR WAY OF BULLYING ME INTO REMOVING MY CAR SO THEY DON'T HAVE TO FIX THE DAMAGE. I NEVER SIGNED A WAIVER OF RESPONSIBLITY, I'VE NEVER SIGNED ANYTHING AT ALL WITH THEIR COMPANY. HAVING MY CAR THERE WAITING FOR INSURANCE APPROVAL WAS NEVER AN ISSUE UNTIL MY WINDSHIELD WAS DESTROYED. THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I STARTED GETTING THREATENED THAT THEY WILL TAKE MY TITLE IF I DONT GET MY CAR OFF THEIR LOT AND PAY THEM AN ASTRONOMICAL AMOUNT OF MONEY. RIGHT NOW, THEIR ILLEGALLY CHARGED STORAGE FEES ARE APPROXIMAELY $1000 AND GROWING EVERY DAY. EVEN THE CERTIFIED LETTER THEY SENT ME, STATING THE STORAGE WOULD START ON JUNE 12TH IS DATED ON JUNE 20TH - THATS $280 IN STORAGE BEFORE THEY EVEN MAILED THE LETTER. AND ON THE 12TH THEY WERE STILL REFUSING TO RELEASE MY CAR, SAYING THEY WANTED ME TO PAY STORAGE SINCE APRIL!!! THIS IS RIDICULOUS, I JUST WANT MY CAR RELEASED AND FOR THEM TO FIX MY WINDSHIELD- OR AT THE VERY LEAST, GIVE ME THEIR INSURANCE INFO. I HAVE NO PROBLEM PAYING BILLS THAT I RIGHFULLY OWE - BUT STORAGE IS NOT ONE OF THEM!!!

Desired Settlement: DROP STORAGE FEES SO I CAN REMOVE MY CAR LIKE I'VE WANTED TO FOR OVER 2 MONTHS. THEY ARE FORCING MORE STORAGE BY REFUSING TO RELEASE MY CAR UNTIL I PAY THEIR UNLAWFUL STORAGE FEES. AND I WOULD ALSO LIKE THEM REPLACE WINDSHIELD DAMAGED ON THEIR LOT AND ALL RELATED INTERIOR DAMAGE; OR AT LEAST PROVIDE INSURANCE INFO SO I CAN MAKE A CLAIM.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** - Office Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@hotmail.com I have enclosed the first complaint filed by Ms. ****** from the Attorney Generals Office. Please notice Ms. Nelsons complaints from the Attorney Generals office and today's complaint are very different and also conflicting. We believe that this is not a case for the better business bureau it is more of a case between the husband and wife. The main problem is that Ms. ****** did not get the car towed into Parkview her husband Mr. ******* requested the tow and spoke to ******* She was not at all involved in the conversations between ****** and Mr. ******** Therefore there is some serious miscommunication between Mr. ******* and Ms. ******. They need to come up with a resolution among themselves so that they can take this vehicle off of our premises immediately. We regret that they are having personal problems and have not been able to come in and make the necessary arrangements to get there vehicle towed out of our facility. We are a professional business, we do not yell at our customers. Since Ms. ****** said that we yelled she must be able to prove it since she claims that she recorded the only phone call she ever made to our shop. Please see the facts of what has happened with this vehicle. Ms. ****** is taking this to another level by lying to her convenience and making us look like we want to bully and rob her. We are not that kind of business. We have notified her of the storage fees and as of today the vehicle is still here and please notice that it is still costing her $35.00 per day and the chances of us working something out with Ms. ****** are getting minimal since she is not telling the truth and continues to argue the facts when we would like to work something out as soon as possible. Please notice that they are free to come into our shop at any time, our hours of operation are Monday - Friday 08:00am-06:30pm Saturday 08:00am - 03:30pm. The facts and response to original complaint filed to the Attorney Generals Office. Re: File No: 2014-CONSC-XXXXXXXX 1. First I will address the fact that this person is accusing us of criminals since she failed to sign her complaint because we might attempt to forge her signature. Please notice that we are a professional business and we are not criminals. We are in the business of repairing vehicles not storing vehicles in our parking lot due to our very limited parking spaces. This is not consumer fraud. 2. This vehicle was towed into our shop at Mr. **** ******** request on 04/25/2014 because the vehicle was overheating. ****** ******* spoke to Mr. **** ******* and the conversation was about the vehicle overheating excessively. On 04/26/2014 after the diagnostic inspection was completed it was determined that the vehicles engine is not working. ****** spoke to Mr. ******* and informed him of the problem. Mr. ******* declined all repairs and said he would get back to us on when he was going to pick up the vehicle since it is non-drivable and does need a tow truck to be removed from our back storage lot. No insurance adjuster or representative from an insurance company ever came into our shop nor were we ever notified of an on-going insurance claim. The shop did not have a claim number to assist with the claim therefore it is not an ongoing claim with Parkview Automotive. It is not our practice to let people park there cars here without being repaired. We hang a sign in our front office that says that that we do charge storages after 7 days of vehicle being left here with out any customer communication. 3. On April 29th 2014 we discovered that the windshield was cracked in on our parking lot by our next door neighbors; we have agreed to repair the windshield if they will pay storage charge fees. The customer is well aware of this. 4. ****** did speak to Mr. ******* regarding past auto body work done to his vehicle but Parkview was never involved in the claim process if there is or was any ongoing claim as the customer is claiming. Regardless of the claim status the shop was not aware and was not participating in the claim. Please notice: It is our standard procedure that Parkview Automotive has an established and valid claim number for a vehicle to be waiting for the insurance company over an extended period of time. There must also be an agreement to repair the vehicle between the customer and Parkview in order for the vehicle to sit in our lot. In this case we did not have a claim or an agreement all we have is a car that is non-drivable taking up space in our parking lot with a customer we could not reach. 5. After many attempts to contact and speak to Mr. **** ******* over the phone between the time periods of 05/01/2014 until 06/25/2014 we were un-successful. We left repeated messages to the phone number provided by Mr. ******* (XXX)XXX-XXXX regarding the storage charge fees. We also sent out three certified letters to the address on file making them aware of the storage charge fees. Parkview Automotive will be charging storage charge fees since 06/12/14 the date the charges were acknowledged by Ms. ****** Mr. ******** wife through continuous emails which I have also enclosed as part of our response. Mr. ******* and Ms. ****** clearly understand that we are charging storage and have refused to pick up the car. They have also failed to speak to us or come in person to work something out which they know we are willing to do. We are not a parking lot and we pay a high amount of property taxes to have a vehicle that is non-drivable sit in our parking lot without any established insurance claim or agreement to repair. We have sent out the letters notifying them that we will be charging storage. Please direct any questions to ******** ********* Parkview Automotive 4139 S. Western Blvd. Chicago IL 60609 (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I guess the only way to address Parkview's response is to go number by number: Intro: I have a very close relationship with my husband; I have no problems communicating with him. In fact, since we are down to one car (and have been for over a year) we are sitting next to and speaking to each other for 3 hours of commute time every day, and I live and work with him (he is a customer of my company) throughout the day. We have been in very strong, consistent communication throughout this ordeal. The person who filled out this response, however "********" has not been involved in this entire matter whatsoever and neither I nor my husband have ever spoken to her at all. I also never claimed to have recorded "the only call" I ever made to them - I stated that I actually have made a few calls, with the most recent calls being recorded BECAUSE Miguel was so rude and yelled throughout our entire first conversation. I have not lied to my convenience, I have repeatedly stated the fact that I WANT TO REMOVE MY CAR yet they have given me not one single day that I could pick it up without storage. 1. YES I am accusing them of dishonest business practices, trying to bully and rob me, as I will attempt to prove my case thru the remainder of this response. 2. Yes my vehicle was overheating excessively. I could drive it about a mile or so before overheating. Not far, but enough to get it off their lot had they asked me to before my windshield was broken. My husband informed them at the time it was towed that this is an ongoing insurance claim and we were waiting for approval from our insurance company. We were never at their shop (which the shop is aware of), and because of this, had no way to know if there are signs anywhere. Nobody advised us of storage, and no one at the shop ever requested a claim number, which we would have happily provided to them had they asked. 3. This shop is COMPLETELY contradicting themselves in this paragraph. If storage is charged after 7 days after losing customer contact(as stated in #3 of their original response) how could they waive storage fees on April 29 in order to replace the windshield? It would not have even been 7 days (towed April 25, damaged April 29th? That is 5 days!!). I have absolutely no doubt we are being charged storage BECAUSE my car was damaged in their possession and they don't want to pay for repairs. This statement alone should prove the dishonesty in their response. 4. Nobody at Parkview ever requested a claim number. Again, we would have happily provided upon request. And my car was drivable for short distances until my windshield was shattered on their property. In fact, in one of the emails from their shop, they refer to my windshield damage as "one small crack" and attempt to act as if it is nothing - BUT this damage is extensive and has rendered my vehicle illegal to drive, even the short distances it could move before damaged on Parkview's property. I asked a friend of mine (he lives close to their shop, I could have driven my car to his house if the windshield was intact!!!)to drive over and take pictures of my car. Photos are attached. They still have not even bothered to cover my broken windshield even though I have asked them repeatedly to do so. Yet - they want to charge me storage? For what, a "safe" place to store my car? I don't even want to know what my interior looks like right now!! 5. We have absolutely no messages from Parkview. I have stated this again and again to them. The only certified letter I ever received from them is dated JUNE 20, 2014 informing me they are charging storage since JUNE 12th. If they were really making an honest attempt to let me pick up my car, they would have not sent me this letter after 8 days of storage had already accrued. Letter is also attached. I have made numerous attempts to set up a time and date that I could pick up my car If I am going to have to tow it due to the damages on THEIR PROPERTY I need to know my vehicle will be release before sending a tow truck and incurring more charges. I have asked via email (so I would have proof if something like this happened) over and over again to tell me when I can pick up my car without paying storage. If you look at the email Parkview included as evidence, you will see it is dated June 12th 2014 and the body of the email is me requesting them to release my car!! I just want my car back and I want their insurance information. To be fair, I think they s(or at least their insurance) should be responsible for the damaged incurred to my vehicle while on their property. My car was damaged on their lot, and I have the right to their insurance info. Please see the attachments for some evidence to back up my claims - I also have recorded conversations and about 20 more pages of emails requesting over & over again that they release my car. Thank You, ***** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/28) */ RE: 2006 CHRYSLER 300 VIN# ***********XXXXXX We have clearly stated our facts in the previous response and we strongly regret that Ms. ****** is upset and having a very hard time with this situation that we have tried to settle since May of 2014. We would like to resolve this issue as soon as possible to avoid any further delays in coming into a resolution that is acceptable to Ms. ****** and Mr.********. Please notice your vehicle is still in our facility. At this time we are going to stop responding to Ms. ******* claims because arguing the details is only going to prolong this case further due to the amount of dishonesty and confusion coming from ***** ******. As I stated before the problem is that Ms. ***** ****** and her husband are in serious disagreement and need to make a decision to pick up this car as soon as possible. I will also mention that Tony our service writer did have an agreement with Mr.******** to remove the car from our facility and pay some storage fees right around the time Ms. ****** filed the first complaint in June of 2014. He had agreed to get the car picked up and pay some storage but Ms. ****** did not agree and stopped him from sending the tow truck (according to Mr.********). For that reason the vehicle is still here and why this situation has arrived to this point. As for a resolution to Ms. ****** and Mr.******** regarding the 2006 Chrysler 300 which is still sitting in our storage lot taking up valuable parking space, Parkview will waive storage charge fees prior to 6/20/2014 and include a discount so that the total amount of storage charge fees are $500.00 ; the windshield will also be fixed. Please notice the vehicle is non-drivable due to the engine overheating excessively. A tow truck will be needed for the vehicle to be removed from our storage lot. Please notice we will not accept personal checks. We require that the vehicle will be removed from our lot before 08/15/2014. We will not provide the towing for the ******* and we will need a telephone notice of when the vehicle will be picked up 48 hours in advance to them sending the tow truck so we can make the necessary arrangements to have the vehicle in our front lot ready to be towed away. After 08/15/2014 we will be taking further legal action to remove the vehicle from our premises. Please take this as an official notice and proper notification of storage charge fees of $35.00 per day in the event a mechanics lien is necessary to remove this vehicle from our premises. Your vehicle arrived into our shop on 04-25-2014. Best Regards, ***** ********** ******** Hernandez Parkview Automotive 4139 S. Western Blvd. Chicago IL XXXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to state that the only "hard time" I have had with this entire situation is the way this has been handled by Parkview Automotive. Again, they are accusing me of lying but I have submitted more than enough evidence to support every one of my claims. (I am attaching my husband's phone records for May 2014 to further prove my case and their dishonesty in their response submitted to the BBB on 7/15, their point # 5 claiming they could not reach my husband from 5/1/14-6/25/14) The only reason my car is still in Parkview's lot is because they have refused, repeatedly, to allow me to remove it without paying the storage they are have been illegally charging me for months. I would have picked my car up a long time ago had it not been for this fact, in addition to the fact that my car was damaged on their lot within the first 5 days of them taking possession of it, and they refuse to repair it or even so much as give me their insurance information. Now, knowing that I have 2 open cases with their shop (with the BBB and the Attorney General), they are refusing to even respond or acknowledge the proof I have set before you and STILL refusing to release my car without storage. Let me please just reiterate the key facts: My car was towed on 4/25/14 and according to Parkview, the windshield damaged 4/29/14. At the time it was damaged, according to their "7 day rule", since April 29th is the 5th day, this car was still technically under their care could not in any way be considered "abandoned". They have already stated that after 7 days of no customer contact, the vehicle is considered abandoned. This is only 5 days. Tony and my husband never had any agreements for payments of any storage fees - that is why I was involved in this. When my husband learned of the illegal storage fees, he involved me since this car is in my name. In fact, my husband also has recorded the phone calls with Tony, in every one he explicitly refuses to pay storage. I can provide these recorded calls at any time; this website only allows me to upload pdf files. My vehicle was drivable for short distances on April 25th before going to their shop. I drove it the day before they towed it for a couple of miles. However, because of the damaged incurred on their property, which they refuse to take any responsibility for, legally my vehicle can not be driven on any public street with a shattered windshield. Parkview now tells me they will fix my windshield for free if I pay them $500 in storage.... Why didn't they just fix it when it was damaged, so I wouldn't have to pay any storage since it was damaged on only the 5th day (if you count business days, it would be the 3rd day) and no interior damage would have occurred. They could have gotten this car off their lot months ago, but have continued this case to attempt to charge more fees. I could have had my car off their lot months ago, but THEY refuse to cooperate. I never signed a release of responsibility for my vehicle, my husband never signed anything, and we have never even stepped foot in their shop. They forced the accrued storage by refusing to fix my windshield or give me any of their insurance info, then further forced more storage by not allowing me to remove my vehicle until I pay them this insane amount of illegal storage. I want my car back, I've been actively attempting to arrange to pick up my car but the only thing stopping me is Parkview. They refuse to release it unless I pay hundreds of dollars in storage. And their neglect has resulted in damage to my vehicle rendering it non-drivable at all. I want the windshield and any related interior damage fixed. They are responsible for this, they parked my car in the lot exposed to the public, KNOWING that the neighbors have frequently damaged vehicles in their lot. They did not even bother to cover the damage to my windshield to avoid further damage to my interior by the elements. They were absolutely negligent, and forced this case upon themselves due to their absolute refusal to take responsibility for the damages their neglect caused to my vehicle. Now, to top it off, they are threatening to take a mechanic's lien on my title, KNOWING this case is in mediation with the BBB as well as the IL Attorney General and there is an open case with the IL Department of Insurance for my original engine damage (which, by the way, they are preventing any progress with, because I have no access to my car to prove my original claim with my insurance company). Parkview's practices throughout this entire ordeal have been absolutely unprofessional and unethical. They force storage that was never agreed to then refuse to release my (now-damaged) car while they attempt to extort me for hundreds of dollars. Please take this as official notice that if Parkview Automotive takes a mechanic's lien on my title, I will be forced to sue them for the full replacement value of my vehicle plus court costs and attorney fees. They are fully aware that these storage charges are illegally charged and they are holding my vehicle essentially hostage. I don't want to do this - I just want my car back and the damages they are responsible for, repaired. I am not paying storage for my car since they, and their refusal to take any responsibility for their own neglect, is the reason for my car being on their lot for this extended period of time. Also please be advised, I have notified Parkview Automotive that because of the hassle of not being able to access my vehicle to attempt to repair it for the last 3 months (I work 40 miles from home, this is very difficult), the harassment from their shop, and the fact that their refusal to release my car and repair the damages they are responsible for have been detrimental to my original insurance claim for my engine, I have been charging Parkview Automotive $350.00 per day until they release my car to me with windshield damages repaired and no storage charges. I have email confirmation sent on 6/20/2014 that I notified them of these terms, as well as a recorded phone call (recorded legally and with permission) with Tony at Parkview Automotive dated 7/8/2014 reiterating these charges of $350 per day in rental and inconvenience fees. To date, their total rental fees are totaling $14,000.00 and accumulating $350 per day until my car is released back to me in the condition they took possession of it. They are holding my car hostage; this is auto theft, and I want my car back. All I wanted was for my car to be returned to its original condition and released, and they have done nothing but consistently demand obscene amounts of money from me while refusing to repair or release my car, so even more storage (not to mention elemental damage from the hole in my windshield)would accumulate. I am offering, one last time, to let them repair my windshield and release my car without storage fees. This should have been done long ago. If Parkview agrees to these terms by midnight 8/1/14, I will drop their rental charges and remove my car from their lot within 48 hours of my car being repaired to its original state when they took possession of it. Otherwise, I have no choice but to retain a lawyer and hold them to the $350.00 rental fees. After all, they agreed to the rental fees just as much as I agreed to storage - so, why not? If they can decide on whatever charges they want, I can do the same. To me, that car (and this headache) is worth at least $350 a day. Please also take this as official notice that if Parkview attempts to take a lien on my title, I will be suing for the full replacement value of my vehicle PLUS rental fees since June 20, 2014 at $350 per day until the day the case is resolved. Please see the attached for phone records from May for my husband's phone to prove the flat-out lied when they said they could not contact my husband, and also a copy of the email on June 20, 2014 informing them of the rental charges. Thank you for your time, Laura Nelson I don't want to take it to this level, I am not a "sue-happy" person; I have never sued anyone in my life - I just want my car back, my windshield replaced, and any interior damage fixed. I am offering, one more time to pay the $185.00 I legitimately owe them for towing and storage BECAUSE THIS IS WHAT I LEGALLY OWE THEM, and to drop the rental fees, if they REPAIR my windshield-related damages and RELEASE my car without storage. If Parkview agrees to these terms by midnight 8/1/14 I will drop the rental fees. But if they are going to be this unreasonable, I have no choice but to protect myself and stand up for my rights. Attached are my husband's phone records for May to prove that the statement they made in their last response on 7/14, saying they could not reach my husband at all between 5/1-6/25 was a false, dishonest statement, just as most of their responses have been so far. He also made more calls from work but I have no access to those.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the shop on Monday ******* and said my check engine light was on and that my car was making a funny noise so they came and towed my car to the shop so they checked my car and said it was the water pump I said ok they said it was going to be 480 then they said they couldn't get the bolts off the cover they took three days trying to get the bolts off so since they couldn't get the bolts off they said I have to pay for a new cover which I believe they broke it trying to get the bolts off so I ended up paying 645 dollars they was through with my car Tuesday ******** the mechanic who was in charge of my car tony specifically told me he let my car run for a hour at least and he drove it around so after I left with my car a couple of hours later my check engine light came on so I instantly called up there *** answered and said tony was gone just bring my car in the morning so when I bring it up there I tell them they need to fix my car cause the check engine light still,on so the a mechanic named ****** and I had a back and forth and he said that them fixing the water pump had nothin to do with the check engine light being on so I said when I called that was my main concern that was the first thing I said when I called my check engine light was on and my car was making a funny noise so they should have checked the reason my check engine light was on instead they did what they wanted to do I don't been know if something was even wrong with my water pump I trusted them to take care of my problem with my car I'm a long time customer with

Desired Settlement: I want half of my money back cause the problem that's making the check engine light come on still exist and the said it was 300 plus I don't want them to fix it cause I don't want them dealing with my car any more cause I feel they didn't do the job they was suppose to do

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** supervisor Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@hotmail.com We apologize to Ms. ***** for any inconvenience in communicating with our employees. In response to the complaint, the vehicle was towed in with a hanging water pump that needed to be replaced in order for the vehicle to start. Ms. ***** agreed to the repairs of replacing a water pump, thermostat, timing cover gasket, and oil change to get the vehicle started up. Ms. ***** was then advised of further problems with her vehicle and refused any other work recommended in order for her vehicle to function properly (without a check engine light coming back on). The check engine light came back on because the valve cover and intake gaskets needed to be replaced. Replacing the water pump alone was not going to resolve all the issues the 1996 dodge caravan was having as it was repeatedly explained to Ms. ***** by all three service writers here at Parkview. Enclosed is the detailed repair order signed by Ms. *****. Please feel free to call us directly if you have any questions. We again apologize for the inconvience and understand that you feel frustrated that your vehicle had a list of problems in need of attention in order for it to function properly. We would be happy to assist you in anything you need. Parkview Automotive Management. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off my water pump wasnt hanging and when I called I told them my check engine light was on and my car was making a funny noise they came to the conclusion that it was my water pump then they said they couldn't get the cover off first they said my car was going to be 480 then since they couldn't get the bolts off they said they was going to have to change the cover which I dont think that was my fault but I still ended up paying 675 so then when I left after driving around for a lil while my check ebgine light came back on so I called and they told me to come back in the morning that's when they told me my water pump had nothing to do with why my check engine light was on and then they said it was going to be another 300 plus dollars to fix whatever problem that was causing the check engine light to come on I don't know about cars that's why I took it to the shop when I first called them thst was my initial concern my check engine light was on they should have checked why it was on instead they did what they wanted to do and then said thr water pump had nothing to do with the check engine light again which was my main concern Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/02/18) */ Ms. ***** we have explained to the fullest detail the repairs that were done to your car, we wish we could do something to help you resolve your vehicle problems. We hope that you might still consider letting us help you. You are welcome here anytime. Feel free to contact us. Thank you, Parkview Automotive Management. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again my car was running when y'all came and towed it the only reason I didn't drive it there was because I didn't want the Problem to become worse and still in all when I called I said my check engine light is on so again that should have been yall first priority but instead y'all did what y'all wanted to do


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Parkview Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)