Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Waukegan

Phone: (847) 623-8395 Fax: (847) 623-9725 501 S. Green Bay Rd., Waukegan, IL 60085 View Additional Email Addresses http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Waukegan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Waukegan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Waukegan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Mirski, Owner Mr. Christopher Mirski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Mirski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 501 S. Green Bay Rd.

    Waukegan, IL 60085

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After running a hand-held diagnostic test, Midas informed me that the catalytic converter was no longer working and needed to be replaced. They also performed a 4 Cylinder Maintenance Tune up and replaced Air Filter. See details on MIDAS invoice XXXXXXX, $970.11. On March 17, 2014 the engine light came back on and the car was putting loudly and driving poorly. I took my car back to Midas and was informed that the Leak Detection Pump needed replacing. See invoice XXXXXXXXX $527.62, plus $100 to cover advance payment. On April 7th the engine light and gas cap light came on. This time, I was advised by Midas to purchase a new fuel cap from Volkswagen (see VW invoice XXXXX,$38.75 ) and bring the car back to Midas so that they could replace it and also switch the check engine light off. When I brought the car back to Midas (with new fuel cap) April 9th, Midas couldn't open the fuel cap because the wiring on the driver side stopped working. They repaired the wiring on the driver side, installed the fuel cap, and turned the engine light back off. See MIDAS invoice XXXXXXX $88.89 . The driving condition got progressively worse, and on April 24th the engine light came back on. I took my car back to MIDAS on May 14th at which time I was informed that the valve cover and gasket needed to be replaced. See MIDAS invoice XXXXXXX, $475.10. On May 21st the engine light came back on again. I called Midas and was advised to take the car to Volkswagen for a diagnostic check. Volkswagen discovered that the valve was put on backwards (by Midas) which caused poor circulation and caused the vacuum pump to fail. Volkswagen charged me for a new valve, vacuum pump, and diagnostic check. See Volkswagen invoice XXXXXX. The issue Over the course of four (4) months, Midas failed to honor their commitment to provide the expertise, value and responsiveness I expected. I brought my car to Midas on four occasions specifically for my check engine light. On each occasion, I was provided with a different reason why my check engine light came on (catalytic converter, leak detection pump, fuel cap, and valve cover and gasket). To add insult to injury, after taking my car to another mechanic (Volkswagen), I had to pay to fix repairs caused by Midas' mechanics faulty and incorrect work. Since I've informed Midas of Volkswagen's assessment of the issue, Midas has failed to accept responsibility for the damage done to my car as a result of their lack of expertise. I feel that I was taken advantage of and am seeking a refund that covers the valve and vacuum pump repairs at Volkswagen and the parts and labor from Midas related to the valve. I do not trust that my check engine light issue was a $2,000 repair and after learning from Volkswagen that after-market parts were used by Midas for repairs, I do not trust that I received parts at the correct price.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement for 100% of all the labor costs from Midas and 50% reimbursement for all parts from Midas visits on 2/ 19, 3/17, and 5/14; and the following: MIDAS refund owed for valve work: 100% repair parts and labor for invoice XXXXXXX. $475.10 Volkswagon refund owed: 100% N80 VALVE-was put on backwards and cause bad circulation and vacuum pump to fail.-$161.37 100% Vacuum pump-$984.57 100% VW Diagnostic check $125

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******/Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@aol.com We were working with Ms. ***** into getting her vehicle fixed as reasonably as possible. All the repairs performed were not to fix the same problem. The vehicle had multiple issues that came up over the mentioned time period. In regards to the last issue with the engine light turning on due to a P0455 code was more of a challenge. The vehicle was in multiple times for the same code, after the last visit **** ****** the shop manager, and Ms. ***** agreed that the vehicle be brought to Volkswagen and we would reimburse Ms. ***** for the diagnostic charge. The agreement was not to have the vehicle fixed, just diagnosed. There was a discussion with Mr. ***** after the diagnoses was done at Volkswagen and Ms. ***** was offered to install a new valve and a new pump at no charge by Midas. Ms. ***** decided to have the work performed at the dealer. She had a choice to save quite a substantial amount of money, but chose to spend the money with the dealer. Our last discussion with Ms.***** was to reimburse her for the valve, $150.00 and the diagnostic charge of $125.00. For a total reimbursement of $275.00. She has yet to accept the reimbursement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/01) */ To whom it may concern, I forgot to provide supporting paperwork for the complaint I recently filed on 6/23/01. Please see the attachments which includes a letter that I sent to the company whom I filed the complaint against, copies of the invoices and pictures. The case # is XXXXXXXX. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions. Thanks you. ******* ***** **** ******** ******** IL XXXXX ***********@gmail.com Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX Hm: XXX-XXX-XXXX Wk: XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/25) */ To whom it mat concern: A verbal agreement was made that Midas(Waukegan) would cover the diagnostic portion of the repair. Which Ms. ***** had done and the attached quote was brought into Midas believed to be by Ms. *****'s husband. The quote was discussed with **** ****** the shop manager, on May 31, 2014. The quote was reviewed and it was agreed that he would discuss the repairs with Ms. ***** and get back to Mr. ****** At no point did Mr. ***** agree for them to fix the vehicle at Vollswagon Gurnee. There was no more communication until the a complaint was reported to Midas, BBB, and Attorney General. Mr. ***** believe he was working with the customer in good faith. Also there are many items not related to the repairs Midas performed. The items related on the quote attach are lines 4,5, and 8. The other items are unrelated to any repairs Midas was involved with. A refund for $275.00 is over and above what the original agreement for the payment of the diagnostic work.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Waukegan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)