Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Tinley Park

Phone: (708) 614-1600 Fax: (708) 614-1794 7011 W. 159th St., Tinley Park, IL 60477 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Tinley Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Tinley Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Bob Bratcher, Owner Ms. Cheryl Allen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Bratcher, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Midas Muffler
Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report:

Additional Locations

  • 7011 W. 159th St.

    Tinley Park, IL 60477 (708) 614-1600


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2012, I had all of my front and rear struts replaced at Midas in Tinley Park, IL. They matched a price that was offered by a competitor and I agreed to the service. At the time of service, I was unaware that they did not change the dust boots on the front struts. Two years later, I changed my brakes and noticed that the dust boots were destroyed. I went back to Midas to see what happened during the struts repair. They stated they did not replace the boots as they said they looked fine, but did not offer to change them to me (even though my car was over 80,000 miles and it was due for replacement anyways). Typically, you replace the dust boots, or at least offer to replace them, when you change the struts as you do not want to use old worn out parts on new ones. When asked what we can do to resolve the situation, they quoted me at a price ~$230 to put on a new dust boot. I asked what would happen if I do not get this replaced as dust is now getting in the strut chamber and wearing down the parts. They said we would recommend you coming to us when your struts start to leak as they are under warranty, but we do not recommend putting the boot on as they could damage the strut mount and it would cause more damage to the car. A few things, I do not feel comfortable paying $230 to replace the dust boots as they could have replaced them when the initial struts were replaced but chose not to or even ask me to. Also, making generalized claims such as if we do replace it, it will cause more damage to the struts is a false statement as Midas is a repair shop and should go through all measures necessary to minimize or avoid damage to a vehicle while performing repairs. I definitely feel like I was duped into spending more money.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the appropriate settlement for this would be to replace the dust boots for the cost of the parts ~$60 and no cost for labor, I already paid for labor getting my struts replaced (when the boots could have initially been replaced). Also, thoroughly cleaning and readjusting the struts, chambers, associated parts and seals to safe driving standards as the dust boot not covering the struts has caused a lot of dirt, dust, sand, salt, etc. to enter the strut chamber and wear it down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/05) */ Contact Name and Title: *************** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@*****.com I am sorry mr ****** feels this way but on 09/22/2012 inv #XXXXXXX we did struts only wich do not come with dust boots they are a separate part we would have no way of knowing they would go bad 2 and half years later I think if we tried to sell him a part that was not bad he would have been upset Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Midas's response does not solve anything. I have spoke to several mechanics and read articles that stated when you replace the struts, the boots should also be replaced to preserve the struts, regardless if the boot looks OK or not. It is part of the process of changing struts. My car was at 80,000+ miles at that point, the boot was due for replacement. Midas failed to follow their own protocol of asking their customer if an associated part due for replacement would be OK to service as well as follow proper protocol for changing struts on a vehicle. Midas asked me almost every time I went in for an oil change to service parts that were due for replacement and I agreed 90% of the time to their suggestions as they were in fact due for replacement, so why would I be "upset" if they asked that a necessary part to my suspension needed to be replaced when I am paying hundreds of dollars to have my car serviced correctly and agreed to prior suggestions. I stick by my desired resolution as stated prior: "I feel that the appropriate settlement for this would be to replace the dust boots for the cost of the parts ~$60 and no cost for labor, I already paid for labor getting my struts replaced (when the boots could have initially been replaced). Also, thoroughly cleaning and readjusting the struts, chambers, associated parts and seals to safe driving standards as the dust boot not covering the struts has caused a lot of dirt, dust, sand, salt, etc. to enter the strut chamber and wear it down." Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/03/24) */ We have responded with our we cannot give away labor on a job 2.5 years later if we sold parts that were good and lasted 2.5years then we would be wrong Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/04/20) */ I will not be satisfied until something is done on Midas' part to resolve this situation. Midas claiming they are at no fault and not wanting to redo a job 2.5 years later is complete nonsense for something that could have been avoided with simply asking if the part needs to be changed. Midas needs to resolve this situation appropriately instead of avoiding all responsibility. I stand with my original complaint regarding to redo my front struts with new dust covers or a refund of $800.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Tinley Park
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)