Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-S. Western

Phone: (773) 776-8747 Fax: (773) 776-5988 7137 S. Western Ave., Chicago, IL 60636 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-S. Western meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-S. Western include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Western
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Dale Mueller, Owner Mr. Manny Vasquez, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Mueller, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 7137 S. Western Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60636 (773) 776-8747

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to have it fixed for emission inspections on September 24, 2015. I paid $400 on their invoice 833316. After the repairs, my engine light came on and would not go off. I could not pass inspection. They told me to drive it 150 miles. I did that. Eventually, they determined it was a faulty part. That was replaced on October 1st. The light still did not go off. I was told to drive it more. I went back on the 19th and 27th of October and that charged me $26.21 for a PC Valve and Tube. The car still could not pass inspection, the light would not go off. I asked them to drive it since I'm a senior citizen and don't drive. They said they could for an additional $80+ an hour. I now have a car I cannot drive. I asked for a refund. They told me that they would not give me one, and not to come back. I spoke primarily with Isalas. I used all the money I had for the repairs and I am now stranded. I tried to contact Midas' corporate office but after a week, still have not heard back.

Desired Settlement: I would have been happy if they could just make this right. But considering the number of times I went ther,e and the way it ended, I would like a refund so I can pay to have somone else fix the car...which I feel now has more problems than it did when I started out.

11/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took my car to midas because my engine light was on and my break wasn't stopping like they and gasket that needed to be replace and the front and back breaks needed to be done and rotors.They told me it was the idle motor .they replace the idle motor and the gasket. the engine light was still on when I got the car back. went back several time and they wanted me to pay 521.00 more once they found out the problem that was causing the engine light and THE BREAKS.

Desired Settlement: I WANT A FULL REFUND BECAUSE I GAVE THEM A CHANCE TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THE WERE TRYING TO GET ME BECAUSE I AM A FEMALE. I DON'T TRUST THEM AT THIS POINT. I PAID SOMEONE ELSE TO FIX MY TRUCK

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/11/17) */ We repaired the customer's vehicle based on the diagnostics we preformed and what Ms. ***** authorized us to complete. After Ms. ***** drove the car more, she was experiencing separate issues from what we repaired. We paid several hundred dollars for an outside mobile diagnostic service so we could properly address the additional issues, but when we explained to Ms. ***** what else was wrong with the car, she took it to her own mechanic to repair. We had to eat the additional expense of the mobile diagnostics, and were not given the chance to repair Ms. *****'s vehicle. We made necessary repairs to Ms. *****'s vehicle and believe we are entitled to the money we were paid. As it is, we spent additional money towards helping Ms. ***** to perform additional repairs. We will not be refunding any money at this time and consider this matter closed. Thank you, *** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Western
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)