Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-S. Kedzie

Phone: (773) 523-7878 4433 S. Kedzie Ave., Chicago, IL 60632 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-S. Kedzie meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Midas Auto Centers-S. Kedzie include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Kedzie
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Dale Mueller, Owner Mr. Sam Bautista, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Mueller, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 4433 S. Kedzie Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60632

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Went to midas in june to have shocks put all around, a control arm, and seal replaced it all cost me a $1000.00. When i left midas i went to get my oil changed a few days later the person doing the oil change work told me my axle was not connected into my transmission properly which caused tr my transmission to be damaged. I went back to him at midas( the manager) told me there was no damage he would fix the problem he told me i needed a new axle. I brought the axle but the transmission was still leaking. The transmission was damaged and had to be replaced on December 24,2015. I went to this midas dealer on three different occasions, still was told the same thing that he doesn't know whats the problem but get someone to fix it and he will reimburse me but now since i have paid to get my car repaired he want reimburse me for the repairs like he promised,

Desired Settlement: I want to be paid in full for the repairs i'm out of $1200.00 in total.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This unscrupulous business owner uses not just high pressure tactics but also threats to persuade you into whatever he wants to do with your vehicle. We went in for an oil change and tire rotation. He returned with awful news, we needed in excess of $500 in repairs. For what? Who knows! He would not detail what needed to be done, rather just said it needed to be done. He the refused to put our car back together when we declined the service. In fact, he refused until I told him I was going to call the police, this was holding us captive and our car for ransom. Only then did he agree to put the car back together. Still, he refused to list what was wrong. We were not given a print out detailing services rendered but were threatened when questioned if they even completed oil change. They did NOT complete the oil change, we went to another mechanic who stated the oil was dirty and the filter was obviously old. Additionally we watched in horror as the owner sweet talked customers and when they left, he bragged to a staff member about how his "smooth talking always makes them more money". He does not tell people what they are being charged for or what is happening on their car. He sweet talks them into thinking that they need whatever and he wins them over by saying that it will be done at a very good price. He seems to prey upon the elderly as he made numerous comments regarding "how dumb these old fools are" and how he loves when women come in and think they know about cars and he makes them pay for it. This man (the owner) is a monster and should not be allowed to run a business. I have contacted local media with video of his business dealings with us as well as the corporate headquarters. All of this occurred the morning of 3/9/15

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of services allegedly rendered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/18) */ This customer was never in my shop, how she can state her opinion of me this way is unjust and unfair. I have never used any unprofessional tactics and never threats anyone for services. I am a firm believer in show and tell, and have always showed my customer their needs. Ms. ***** was not here, Her husband was and what Ms. ***** forget to say is that her husband asked me to check the brakes for noise and sinking feeling on pedal. When we lifted the vehicle we noticed major brake fluid leak within the drum brake on left side, as always, took customer and showed him the situation. When mechanic took brake drum off, the brake shoes and hardware fell apart and could not put together. as always showed Mr. ***** his vehicle and his brake system, and told him the importance of getting it done and how the vehicle is unsafe to drive because of the wheel cylinder and hardware/shoes. Customer in communication with wife on phone declined work and threaten to call cops (the wife) I asked her to do so, because the vehicle was unsafe to drive and was not willing to be responsible for them or anyone on the road. I had given the customer an option that i would beat anyone's price including an alley mechanic, just to make sure they were going to be safe on the road. Please close this case.. I did everything within reason. Just ask the husband..... Thank you, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not true at all. They attempted to bully my husband into services that we wanted to discuss as we were there for a simple oil change. The oil change was never performed. They argued that THEY would phone the police as my husband declined payment as the shop refused to provide proof (old oil filter) that the change ever took place. We have a censor that gives a percentage on oil life and this was at the same number (14% remaining) as when we arrived, there is no way services were rendered. They also never rotated the tires. Mr. ***** never stated that he would beat anyone's price and surely never came across as a caring and considerate person. He berated my husband and questioned if he even cared about his family as we declined services that day. The mechanic in questioned banged, with a HAMMER, at my rear brakes. They were not broken nor leaking upon arrival. We now have numerous alerts regarding the brakes. I also have real mechanic who will attest to the fact that this damage is not mechanically possible. This is a result of someone causing physical damage. Furthermore, after I advised them that I would be calling the police, they stated that they would put the car back together. Mind you, this is something Mr. **** said was impossible. It is worth noting that there are numerous YELP and other reviews posted around the web attesting to the fact that this business is shady in their dealings. My husband is not Mr. *****, they can't even get the names correct in their response. Great bookkeeping there! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please refund it to the credit card used as your behavior and tone has been threatening and we do not wish to put ourselves into a dangerous or uncomfortable situation. I also have a notarized statement by a mechanic from the following day that states the oil was not changed as not just the filter, but the oil was dirty; thus your claims of a free oil change are inaccurate. You never changed the oil on our car and furthermore we incurred additional expense to have the job performed elsewhere. Alternatively, you may mail (minus postage costs of course) the refund as since you keep such impeccable records, I am sure you have our address handy. Should've had read the terrible online reviews before trusting a business like this. Typing in caps means nothing sir, you have proved my point over and over again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/04/16) */ HOW CAN I RESPOND TO SOMEONE WHO CALLS ME A LAIR WHEN IN FACT SHE IS THE LAIR. I HAVE NEVER DEALT WITH THIS CUSTOMER, BUT HAVE DEALT WITH HER HUSBAND. Please have her husband come and I will be more then happy to refund his money. consider the oil change free of charge...Thank you.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a muffler and resonator from Midas 5 years ago with a lifetime warranty. Both muffler and resonator rusted out and needed to be replaced. Midas refused to honor the lifetime guarantee and gave me the estimate to repair the vehicle for over $300.00. I spoke to a gentlemen their by the name of "***".

Desired Settlement: Full refund of purchase price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/25) */ Customer was contacted by the shop manager to do a follow-up inspection, but the customer informed the manager that he had his repairs done at another auto repair facility and refused to come in. We consider this matter closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason for this complaint was for failure of the business to warrant the affected parts. In addition, a fee was charged to me to inspect the vehicle in the amount of $29.99 plus applicable taxes. The inspection was paid in full and could not be waived upon request. I was given an estimate by Midas over the phone, for the cost to replace the parts by them as they were not going to honor the warranty. I explained to them that I would never give them my business to them again and if anyone was going to replace those parts, it would not be by them. My vehicle was recently serviced by another reputable repair facility and all parts have been replaced. This complaint involves my request for Midas to "refund" me the money paid to them for parts that were not honored under warranty. If Midas grants a refund for parts not covered under warranty to me; my vehicle can be inspected by Midas; to perhaps "satisfy" their request to verify if repairs were performed indeed. I can also provide them with a receipt for the recent repairs performed to my vehicle for exhaust work. This complaint is for failure to honor warranty and not for inspection concerns. My vehicle was already inspected by Midas. In addition, the manager did contact me via phone but the request for full refund was unsuccessful. An inspection is not necessary unless a full refund is given. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/07/29) */ My name is *** ******* the store manger at **** ********* Mr.********* came to Midas on 6/9/2014 and wanted us to inspect his exhaust system. After the inspection was done we saw that the resonator was rusted and had a hole, the muffler was recomenned because it was starting to rust. I called the customer and told him what we had found and how much it would cost. the customer then told me that it was under warranty with us. I told Mr. ********* that the resonator might not be under warranty. I told him I would look into it and let him know. We shook hands and he left. I tried to call with no luck on reaching Mr. ********** To my surprise he made a complaint. when I called to fine out what happen Mr.Ruvalcaba told me that he fix the problem elsewhere and that he would be filing a report to the BBB. I tried my best to find out what went wrong but Mr. ********* told me that's how I do things when I don't get my way right away. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/07/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My vehicle was already taken to Midas and was inspected at Midas for warranty repairs. Midas refused to honor the warranty. Once again, it was inspected and a fee was charged to me for inspection. The result was that Midas could NOT warrant the parts as promised. As a result, I did take my business elsewhere to perform the necessary repairs. I Do Not trust repair shops like this Midas to "reinspect" a vehicle for work they are not going to warrant. We already went through this and I refuse to ever take my vehicle their ever again unless it is to receive a full refund as asked. Like I stated before, work on the vehicle was already done by another shop. Midas, please refund the money to me as soon as possible.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Kedzie
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)