Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-S.Cicero

Phone: (773) 585-6500 Fax: (773) 585-6565 8245 S. Cicero Ave., Chicago, IL 60652 View Additional Email Addresses http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-S.Cicero meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-S.Cicero include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S.Cicero
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1989 Business started: 08/01/1988 Business started locally: 08/01/1988
Business Management
Bob Bratcher, Owner Ms. Cheryl Allen, Owner Mr. James Brachter, Owner Ms. Dorotha C. Bratcher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Bob Bratcher, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 8245 S. Cicero Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60652

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-8-14 I took my 99 Toyota Camry to Midas to get an oil change.When it was time to pay I presented ******(the store manager)my $5off reminder coupon I received in the mail. In a very unprofessional tone he said where do you think you are going to get a $14.99 oil change? not here. We went back & forth so I eventually paid the full price of $21.83. I was so disturbed by his behavior that I called the corporate office & spoke to a lady that ref # XXXXXXX. After telling her the story she called ****** on 3way. She asked him what would he do to resolve this matter. He said he would change my other car oil for free. So on X-XX-XX I took my other car which is a 2003 Toyota Corolla. They supposedly changed the oil for free like he said. I have gotten my oil changed from there before and was never told I had any kind of oil leak. But on 5-23-14( me and my daughter was on 95th & the Dan Ryan expressway)the oil light came on then my car coast from 60miles per hour to 0 and stopped on the middle of the expressway on 87 & the Dan Ryan. I called my kids father and he came and pushed us to the side of the expressway on 87th. He tried to start the car, it made a clunk sound and nothing came on but the oil light. He lifted up the hood and checked the oil. He showed me the dip stick, it wasn't a drop of oil on it. I called ********** and they called a tow truck and towed me home. I had a person I know look at the car and he also informed me that my engine was lock because of the oil. I didn't have him take it to the shop because I didn't want no one to touch it or fix I because I didn't want MIDAS to say someone messed it up. When they changed my oil before there was no problem but after I made a complaint all of a sudden in a months time my engine locks because it had no oil in it.

Desired Settlement: I just bought the car in Feb of 2014 for $3,000. I want Midas to pay for my engine to be rebuilt or give me back my money I paid for the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** owner Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: *******************@yahoo.com as we have explained to the customer if we had not put oil in her car it would have seized within a few miles not 6 weeks later we did not get a chance to look at her car to find out what happened but we def put oil in her car Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is very unprofessional to say there was oil put in the car when you wasn't there to actually see him change it. The right thing to do was to ask me to bring it in so you can check it. You are a big well known business, so to cover up wrong and to keep from paying you just going to say it was done. Just for the record I did have my car looked at and he said my filter was changed and some of the oil was drained but never replaced. He got a towel and wiped and also explained to me that even if only if I had an oil leak it still wouldn't be that dirty within a months time. ****** purposely had him do that to my car to get revenge because I called the corporate office on him all over a $5 off coupon. But it"s ok, I'm glad we didn't get killed when my car cut off on the expressway and I'm also glad if I had've hit and hurt somebody,thank God it wasn't nobody in your family. God is good after you all messed up my car God blessed me with a new one... Just so you know God sits high and looks low. I'm done with it because we are still alive but you better believe karma is real.. thanks for your time Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/08/04) */ ****** ******** has already responded and addressed this complaint and I feel he is being reasonable in his reply. Whether we charge for an oil change or if the oil change is free, we install a new oil filter and the proper amount and specific grade of motor oil. If the vehicle left our facility without putting oil into it, the engine would not have survived the day let alone weeks. *** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S.Cicero
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)