Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-S. Archer

Phone: (773) 767-4828 Fax: (773) 767-4829 5353 S. Archer Ave., Chicago, IL 60632 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-S. Archer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-S. Archer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Archer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Dale J. Mueller, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale J. Mueller, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
MMS Enterprises, Inc.
Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 5353 S. Archer Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60632 (773) 767-4828

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle needed a starter and I took it to Midas. The mechanic confirmed that it was the starter. **** called me over to discuss the quote, which he did not give me in writing as I had checked off on the form I signed. At that time he stated "it would be 464.00 for a remanufactured or an additional 50.00 for a new one" plus the cost of labor. I then asked him where he was ordering his parts from and he refused to answer, all he said was" I only order the best parts" . I then asked him for the name brand of the starter and he stated" I don't know" I then told **** that I had done my own research while waiting and *** **** had a new AC Delco starter for 234.00 plus 30.00 refunded when the core was brought back. At that moment **** stated "let me look around and see what I can do". Mysteriously he found a part for 239.99. I agreed to have the work done because my car was there and would not start anyway. They charged me 119.00 for labor which was wrong, should have only been 85.00 because I timed the mechanic and they only worked on the car for 1 hour combined. The part was 239.99 and they did not take off the core charge , so I was over charged there as well, and lastly the charged 8.97 for shop parts which I didn't see anything else used other than what came in the box. For a grand total of 390.99 which really should have been around 318.02.

Desired Settlement: The difference of 72.00, thats only fair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/03) */ To Whom It May Concern: We contacted our Customer, and to satisfy their desired resolution, we mailed a check in the amount of $72.00. The Customer agreed with our course of action. Please consider this case closed. Thank you. ************ Midas Auto Service 7******************. Chicago, IL 60636 ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-S. Archer
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)