Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Niles

Phone: (847) 588-1800 7369 N Milwaukee Ave, Niles, IL 60714 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Niles meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Niles include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Niles
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Ricardo F. Chaquinga, Owner Mr. Murad Guiragossian, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ricardo F. Chaquinga, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a groupon for $45 that included a full synthetic oil change up to 5 quarts and a full vehicle inspection. I made an appointment on 7/28/2015 with Midas and told them about the groupon. They completed the service and then said that the total cost of the procedure was $120.00. The groupon would cover $69, so I owed a balance of $51.00 for the service. They stated that there was an additional charge for synthetic oil rather than standard oil, as well as an additional fee for the tire rotation. I never requested a tire rotation and assumed they completed it as a part of the full inspection covered in the groupon. Additionally, the groupon states that it is for a synthetic oils change up to 5 quarts. I said I would be willing to pay for the extra half a quart that my vehicle took, but would not pay for a synthetic oil up charge since that is specifically what the groupon states it was for. They said they could not change the price.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the services described in the groupon. I do not want to pay an additional $51.00 for synthetic oil and a tire rotation which should have been included in the services under the groupon. I am willing to pay for the extra half a quart, but no more. I would never pay $120 for an oil change. The price they are trying to quote me for this service is absurd and should have been disclosed before they performed the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ******, District Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@gmail.com The Groupon was not for a synthetic oil change and clearly states "techs replace used motor oil with standard oil." if the customer wants synthetic oil there is an additional charge.

1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 10/7/14 I went to Midas my 2002 Saturn was was making a knocking noise.The sales rep.*** ********* said I needed new struts and a front end alignment which cost $728.50. Driving home my car was still knocking I went back & he said I needed new bushings on my sway arm which would cost another $700.00. I said I would have to wait & said he could discount to $500.00. I went another mechanic who repaired the bushings and had to realign the front end I could see that the front wheels were not straight. This cost $297.44. My concern is why didn't they see the rusty bushings when the car was on the lift? It makes me wonder if I really needed struts in the first place. I feel I should at least be reimbursed $89.95 for the front end alignment since it wasn't properly repaired.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be reimbursed $89.95.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@comcast.net the customers car came in with, two front springs broken, all four struts leaking front lower control arm bushings torn, lose front sway bar links and used tire she just installed. The customer was informed that the main noise was the broken springs and front struts and that there was still other stuff that needed to be done. The alignment had to be done because of the camber spec after the strut replacement. Customer was informed that it wouldn't be perfect with the control arm bushings being torn and unevenly worn tires. Customer came in the next day with more noises, was given and estimate of the needed work , told the service adviser she could get it done in a month. she never tried coming back or calling to say she was unhappy. The customer chose to go to a another shop to do the alignment again. Customer was called but no answer. We can not offer a refund at this time because we couldn't verify the work we did and see if it was something we did. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On my first visit to Midas I was told I needed new struts an alignment and new tires. I was not informed about sway arm bushings, I was only told that when I came back. Nothing was said that it would not be perfect because other stuff was needed. My tires were installed by my son who has 30 years in the tire business. They were MIchelien tires with at least 25,000miles left. Since Midas as having a tire sale I assumed that was why they told me I needed new tires. As soon as I left Midas I heard the same knocking noise. Since I had an important errand to run I could not return till the next morning. That is when I was told about the control bars bad bushings. After I was given two different prices I decided to go somewhere else for a second opinion. To my knowledge I was not called I always answer my phone even 800 numbers. No voice mail was left and I received no letter from the company. In closing I will never do business with Midas again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Niles
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)