BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-N. Western

Phone: (773) 761-5200 Fax: (773) 764-6516 7501 N. Western Ave., Chicago, IL 60645

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-N. Western meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Midas Auto Centers-N. Western include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-N. Western include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-N. Western
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Ricardo F. Chaquinga, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ricardo F. Chaquinga, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report:

Additional Locations

  • 7501 N. Western Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60645


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is what I sent to Midas's corporate office. I dropped my vehicle off after hours on 2/4/15 because I knew my alternator had blown. **** called me on the morning of 2/5/15 to say that he has the car and asked what was wrong with it. I told him the alternator is blown and that the power steering is bad because it is whining really bad. He said he would check it out. He called me later and told me that the alternator was indeed blown and that not only did the power steering pump have to be replaced, but the pulley needed replacing as well. He quoted me the price and I said that I was going to bring my own parts in. I said that I would try to get them in by 1 or 2 the following day if I could get out of meetings in time to do so. He said he was not going to do anything to the car and I said that made sense so he can move the car around for space for other customers. When I talked to him the following day, 2/6/15, I told him that I was not able to get the parts today. I told him that I can come and get the car to the street and leave it there until I get the parts in. He proceeded to tell me that he already took the parts out of the car. And if he put them back in he would charge me the full labor fee and then charge me again when the parts needed to be replaced. Our discussion got a little heated and he threatened me that he would pull up the recording of our call where I agreed he would take the car apart in the morning. I told him that I misunderstood what he said; that I did not get that he was taking the car apart without the parts. Especially since I recall saying that it makes sense not to do anything so he can make space for immediate customers. He then told me that they are not even supposed to allow me to bring in my own parts but I was grandfathered in. I told him to just get his own parts, which cost me an extra $200 than what I could have gotten from the parts store, so I can get my car back. I have five kids and this is our only vehicle that can fit my family. He said he would have it completed. He then called me on 2/6/15 and said that the alternator rebuilder didn't have some pieces for the alternator so the car wouldn't be ready until Saturday, definitely by end of day. He then called on 2/7/15 and said that the power steering cooler needs to be replaced, but he couldn't get that until at least 2/10/15. I told him I just need to get the car. Now I have no power steering as the fluid does not stay in the car for more than 15 minutes. It all completely leaks out. This wasn't happening before. They say it is because I probably hit ice or snow or something. Except that the location of the cooler and its hose makes that very very difficult to do. All and all, I am extremely upset with the treatment I received from ****. *** and **** have been great to work with in the past, and I had never worked with **** before. I will no longer be taking my car to Midas, anywhere. It seems like **** is pulling the old-school mechanic trick of forcing people into situations that were not present prior to showing up at the shop. I will also be reporting this to the BBB. **** looks to be doing things that should not be happening. I sent this complaint to Midas on 2/10/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $200 dollars back that he overcharged me for. I would also like to have the funds I have to spend to have my power steering cooler replaced reimbursed as well since this was not a problem prior to leaving my car at Midas and having discussions with ****.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ Mr. ******** agreed that he wanted us to remove the parts from his car so that when he came in with the parts in the morning it would be a speedier process to get his vehicle completed..he called back the following day and requested that we put the parts back on due to the fact that he could not find the parts himself...which states the fact that he did not misunderstand **** the manager about removing the parts.. we said fine but he would still have to pay the full amount of labor to r&r both components. He became upset and got heated, however, we did not! He claimed we didn't say that HE WANTED US TO REMOVE THE COMPONENTS and we simply stated the phone calls are recorded so we can always play it back for him to hear..that is far from a threat!!!!!!!!! He decided to let Midas supply the parts and is now complaining that we mislead him. We never want to encounter these battles but when we do we are thankful for our phone service recordings. AT this point there is nothing we can do for Mr ********. We will not issue a refund under any circumstaces Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like them to listen to the recordings and provide copies of the phone call recordings to be listened to in order to determine what was said. I am not looking for a full refund. I am looking for a refund on the additional cost incurred outside of what I could order the parts for. I said on the call that I needed to order the parts because no one carries them in the store only in the warehouse. I found the parts but could not get them by 1 or 2 like I wanted to. The call recordings will clear everything up. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/17) */ We stand firm with our decision to not refund Mr ******** as stated in our previous response due to the fact that Mr ******** agreed to do the service at the price we offered. Thank you

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I phoned Midas to set up an appointment to do brakes on Thursday, 8/21/2014 and spoke to Mr. *** ************. He said OK, drive the car in the shop and will work right away. Yesterday, Sunday, 8/24/2014 he phoned in to say that the car is ready. When his mechanic picked me up from my house *** said that the total repair bill is $3,100.60 because he had worked on other issues that I did not confirmed.He had not issued an itemized bill before and after to verify the job order and I did not see the problems other than the brakes.I made a mistake to park my vehicle at Midas repair shop parking and I did not sign the work order. Product_Or_Service: car repairs Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Reduce the repair bill to a reasonable amount.To release the vehicle.I realize that my vehicle is old but it still runs great.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ On Thurs Aug XX XXXX Mr ******** came into Midas located at 7501 N Western Chicago Il XXXXX and had many concerns about his car. We understood his complaints and initiated an inspection. Upon our inspection we found several problems with the vehicle. We then called Mr ******** and explained the results of the inspection in great detail. He explained that he loved his car and wanted to fix everything and he also asked to check some other components. He agreed to the price for the extensive repairs and then came into to sign the agreement. we have a copy of the signed agreement. We gave Mr ******** a very fair price along with quality parts and expert workmanship. He also has a nationwide guarantee on all part and services. Mr ******** came in paid cash and thanked us for working on his car and apologized for taking so long to make the payment as his credit card declined at his first attempt to pay. I would also like to add that we treat all of our customers with fairness and kindness. We make every attempt to go beyond our call of duty to make a trip to the "mechanic shop' a pleasant and fair experience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I DID NOT SEE THE CASH DISCOUNT NOR THE SERVICE AGREEMENT THAT WAS ONLY FOR THE BRAKES. I DID NOT RECEIVE THE WRITTEN ESTIMATES FOR THE WHOLE JOB AND DID NOT SIGN THE AGREEMENT FOR ADDITIONAL WORK. IN ADDITION THE OLD PARTS WERE NOT RETURNED TO ME AS I HAVE INDICATED. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/17) */ If u provide us with an email address we will be more than happy to send u a copy of the signed estimate of repairs and another copy of the invoice to show that you paid cash and the discounts that you were given. At this point we will not provide you with any refunds on the services provided.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, ******* I took my car over to Midas Auto Service because the night before, my muffler had fallen & was dragging on the ground. I had to take it to the nearest place because I could not drive the car far & the cars behind me were honking even though I had my hazard lights blinking. I was also afraid of more damage to my car. They quoted me a price of $1800.00 & they already had disassembled the muffler from the car, that they took off. At this point, I didn't agree to anything & my muffler was still disassembled from the car, that they took off. I told them that was out of my league. I couldn't afford it. Then they quoted me a price of $1200.00. I told them that, that was still unaffordable. At that point, I told them to put the muffler back on,that they took off, on the car, until I decide what I am going to do. They told me that they couldn't do that. I then told them to put the whole muffler system inside the car, until I decided what I was going to do. They couldn't do that either. I talked to the manager and he stated that they could fix it for $700.00, of which $500.00 was just for labor alone.I had no other choice but to pay it, since I have no muffler on my car. I now have a car with the original muffler, my own muffler, back on the car. The only thing that they did was replace the metal bracket that holds the muffler in place. All that for a price of $700.00, of which $500.00 was for labor alone. I talked to a couple of other auto repair shops and they stated that, that should have only cost $125.00, total. That is why I am disputing this case. I feel that I was taken royally.

Desired Settlement: Bottom line, I am seeking a settlement refund of $500.00 & we will call it a day & consider this case closed. Thank you, in advance. ***** *********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ On Saturday March 8 2014 Ms ********* came into our shop and her exhaust was falling off. She wanted and estimate for repair and as we raised the vehicle the exhaust fell off as it was only being held on by a half torn rubber hanger. We gave her a price for a front pipe, converter, center pipe and muffler 4 gaskets, 2 clamps and labor for approx 1200.00 She said she could not do it so we were trying to figure a way to get her muffler and center pipe that broke off the converter into her car so she could leave with it. I asked her what she wanted us to do and even offered to take her parts in our shop truck,,, she said she just wanted her car fixed. So I asked her what she could afford and she said said 700.00 I truly thought by giving her that price for the amount of work we were doing, i was doing a good duty. Cuz it was not the price she should have paid. Unfortunately we cannot refund any of Ms ********** money. I would like to see an estimate of the service we provided for Ms ********* in the amount of 125.00... Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response because, first of all, they did not offer to take my parts in their shop truck. They didn't say anything about that. I wanted them to put my parts inside my car. Second of all, I do not have a new muffler, converter, or anything like that. I've got my original parts back on my car. And also, the front pipe had already been fixed and they even could see that it had been fixed already. So, there was no need to replace the front pipe. What they did was attach a metal piece to keep the muffler in place. For what they did, it was not $700.00 worth. It was only worth $125.00. I feel that I have been taken. Bottom line, to resolve this matter & close this case, I am seeking a settlement refund of $500.00. I am sure that we can come to an agreement, so we can close this case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/13) */ There is a misunderstanding of the service we did to Ms *********'s car....We replaced the front pipe and the converter as stated in the previous response. We gave her a fair price for the work provided. We will not refund any money to Ms *********. We are sincerely sorry for the misunderstanding. If Ms ********* would call and get estimates on what we actually did and not what she thinks we did she would be assured that our price and warranty is fair. Thank you..!

3/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this Midas location on Thursday, January 30, 2014 during my break (between 1pm and 3PM) for a routine oil change and also asked that they rotate my driver's side wheels. The gentleman at the front desk, ***, put in the order and I sat down awaiting completion. About the time that they had finished, the mechanic that had been working on my car came up front and told first *** and then myself that he could not rotate my wheels because my lug nut key had broken while he was attempting to remove the lug nuts. *** apologized for the inconvenience and recommended that I buy a replacement key to have the wheels rotated later. I thought nothing of it as *** gave me a few other recommended fixes for my vehicle but told me all in all my vehicle was in great shape. The next day, Friday, January 31, 2014 with my friend in the car driving North on Interstate ** that the wheel came completely off, bouncing across two lanes of Northbound traffic, the median, four lanes of Southbound traffic and finally landing in a ditch. The car itself immediately pulled left, pulling me into the adjacent lane; luckily the driver who was next to me had the reflexes to quickly brake to avoid a collision. I then had to steady the vehicle and steer it off to the shoulder while avoiding traffic behind me. I called Midas and spoke to **** the next morning to make them aware of the situation as well as request that they reimburse me for any expenses I incurred. I explained the situation fully to Mike and while showing to concern or remorse he simply told me to get him a copy of the estimate once the work was completed. The repairs on my car were finished on Thursday, February 13, 2014 and they totaled $423.05. With my $500 insurance deductible this cost fell on me, but I was fully expecting Midas to take responsibility for their negligence in this situation and reimburse me that amount plus my $44.00 towing fee. I went into Midas on Saturday, February 15, 2014 and spoke directly with Mike, gave him all of the necessary paperwork and explained to him that I fully expected to be reimbursed $467.05 for the total cost of repairs and towing. Again **** showed little remorse or concern for the gravity of the situation but told me that he would forward this information to the owner of the shop to be evaluated and that he would call me by Wednesday, February 19, 2014. Upon not receiving a call from **** on Wednesday, I called on Thursday, February 20, 2014 only to find out that Mike had the day off. Instead I was transferred to **** who flatly told me that they had done nothing wrong and would not be reimbursing me for anything. He told me that since they had not actually rotated my tires, that they could not be held responsible. He went on further to say that they never even attempted to rotate the tires because my lug nut key was already broken when I came in. I explained to him that I was told the key broke while they were trying to get the lug nuts off but he interrupted in stating that he was told the key was already broken. I know that the key itself had been broken previously but was welded back together by a previous shop and was in perfect working condition when I gave it to them. He denied this claim and said that this was not their fault. I asked him, how then in his opinion could a wheel manage to come off at all, much less a day after they had been working on my car and that wheel specifically. He said he did not know but that even if they had taken one lug nut off that it would not be enough to cause the entire wheel to come off. I reminded Moe of the fact that his mechanic's negligence could have led to a much more serious accident albeit one that was avoided and again he simply stated that it was not their fault.

Desired Settlement: I'm am asking to be reimbursed $467.05 for the total cost of repairs needed as well as my towing expense. The repairs totaled $423.05 and the towing $44.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ On Jan. XX XXXX Midas on Western performed an oil change on Mr *****'s 2006 Saturn Ion. He requested a tire rotation on the left side only. Upon inspection of the vehicle we found that the wheel lock key was damaged and welded back together. We informed Mr ***** of our findings and that it would be impossible to rotate the wheels without the wheel lock key. He understood and we did not do the tire rotation. We informed him that he could possibly purchase a new key at discount tire. He nodded and said thanks. We completed the oil change and said if he finds a new wheel lock key that we would rotate the tires for free on his next visit. We sympathize with Mr *****, however when he left our shop the wheels were in the same condition as he came in. We did not remove any lugnuts. He claims we left the wheel lose and yet he drove 100 highway miles, which in my professional opinion would be impossible. We will not take any responsibility for Mr *****'s accident as we were not the cause. A Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While it is accurate that the wheel lock key was previously broken, it was in fact welded back together and was in perfect working condition when I arrived at Midas. The mechanic very clearly stated to myself and the gentlemen working the front desk (not ***) that the key broke while attempting to remove the lug nuts. Additionally, I am unsure where or how it has been determined that I drove any amount of miles between the time that they loosened my lug nuts and the time the wheel came off. No one ever asked me how far I had driven, nor did I ever inform anyone of how far I drove between these two occurrences. This is just the latest lie amongst several that include the claim of video surveillance (which Midas cannot produce) and the basis of this situation that they did not loosen the lug nuts which the mechanic stated he had been doing when the key broke. It should also be noted that I was never made aware that I could have a free tire rotation once I got a new wheel lock key. This appears to be a feeble attempt to salvage any resemblance of customer service on the part of Midas and it's management team. All of these lies by Midas and their management team point to an obvious cover up for their negligent service. Couple the lies with the atrocious customer service that my step-father and I have received (*** hanging up on the customer numerous times) from the management at Midas and it becomes clear that this is how this business is run and operated and it is beyond unsatisfactory. I will restate that this issue is not resolved, nor will it be until Midas reimburses me $467.05 for the cost of repairs and towing that resulted from their negligent service of my vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 14, 2014/03/13) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: At this point in time, *** ********* (business owner) has reimbursed me $467.05 for expenses incurred after the negligent service received at this Midas location. While it did take quite some time to get a resolution, I do appreciate him finally clearing things up. With that said, it should still be noted that the customer service received from *** was unprofessional to an extreme and I sincerely hope that appropriate measures have been taken to prevent a similar incident from happening again with another customer.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did contact Midas Corporate complaint office reference# XXXXXXX zero response/call back.Invoice# XXXXX dated ******** labor/part for rack & pinion that was not the problem. Paid $802.71 and the exact same noise was still there and paid another $150.00 labor to install the power steering pump that was the initial problem. Invoice# XXXXXXXXX dated ******** That pump started leaking and Midas claim the pump because I purchased on ******** was faulty. I then had to pay another $150 plus the core based on their advise their power steering pump is better and they gurantee it would work better. Invoice# XXXXX dated ******** Yes the pump finally worked but I paid labor three times and was sold a rack & pinion that I really don't think I needed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the full refund of the parts & labor of the rack & pinion on Invoice# XXXXX dated ******** of $802.71 or the $300 unnecessary labor charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ************ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ Ms. ***** came into the shop on 12/26/13 and was told the steering gear was leaking and that the pwr steering pump was making noise due to the fact that there was no steering fluid in it. She was informed that we had to repair the leak first and that it was possible that the pump may need to be replaced. After determining that the pump was needed she declined and decided to purchase a steering pump from ******** and asked us to install it. We agreed and informed her if we install it there would be NO WARRANTY BECAUSE IT WAS NOT OUR PART. She agreed to have us install it anyway on 1/3/14. The ******** pump was defective and was making a loud whining noise. Ms. ***** was upset and became irrate and paid and left. She returned on 01/17/14 and wanted an explanation again so we explained the pump was defective again and convinced her to purchase our pump and the noise would go away. She agreed to put our pump on and we discounted the labor. The problem was resolved and she thanked us and we returned her ******** pump to her and she returned it. We also fixed her lift gate for free as a courtesy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If on 12/26/13 Midas told me the power steering was leaking fluid as stated above, why did they replace the rack & pinion steering and not the power steering pump. Invoice# XXXXX dated 12/26/13 with a charge of $802.72 My complaint still stand, why was unecessary work done on 12/26/13 if that was not the problem. As for the repair of the liftgate this was not done, I have a where I had to take it back to dealer and an auto repair to have it fized. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/11) */ We did inform the customer that she had 2 problems, 1st Rack N Pion gear and 2nd Power Steering pump. Customer was informed that she needed to repair the 1st problem to be certain the 2nd problem. Once we did that we confirmed she also had a bad power steering pump, customer declined to repair pump and when customer returned we tried to help her by installing her own auto zone purchased part, this turned out to be a bad idea as the customers part was defective. After we installed our own pump, the problem was solved . Bottom line is we found 2 problems with the car and the customer wanted to only fix one at a time, which is how we proceeded. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have a copy of the written document dated 12/26/13 where at no point the powering steering pump was mentioned. The total estimate quoted was $2816.61 estiamte# XXXXXXXXXfor the following: direct fit converter $1679.96 rack & pinion $829.99 front oxygen sensor $99.99 I elected to purchase my converter from ******** so the invoice for this visit #XXXXX was only for the rack & pinion that I purchased their part and had repair cost $802.71 I took vehicle back on 1/3/14 and had them install the powering steering pump & converted that I purchased at ******** invoice# XXXXX total $555.41 The noise persisted so I took vehicle to the dealer where we saw the new power steering pump was leaking and they advised me to take it back to whomever did the initial repair. I immediately took the vehicle back on 1/17/13 invoice# XXXXX and I was told the part was faulty and that I should haev purchased their part. I did at that point and paid $229.32 It is very clear from the back and forth that Midas is not being truthful at this point.