Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Mundelein

Phone: (847) 949-6500 Fax: (847) 949-5885 7109 N Highway 83, Mundelein, IL 60060 View Additional Email Addresses http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Mundelein meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Mundelein include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Mundelein
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Mike Bulgarelli, Owner Ms. MaryBeth Bulgarelli, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Bulgarelli, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 7109 N Highway 83

    Mundelein, IL 60060 (847) 949-6500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To ***** regarding midas disputes. Case number:XXXXXXXXX $149.59...I did approve the work to be performed on radiator and transmission lines. The manager called to say it was finished and that I can pick it up. Upon doing so he informed me of the need for a new starter in the future.(at no time did he say I would not be able to start it again) The starter was replaced 4000 miles earlier. When I tried to start the car later in the day I got nothing. I got under the vehicle to find they tied the transmission line to the starter wires for support. Not a good decision in my opinion. There Mechanic came to my house to try to get it started at which point he told me he knew it would not start for me. Far cry from the manager saying I would need a starter soon. I told them of the age of the starter and that they broke the wire lead going to the starter by tying the tranny line to it. They cleaned said line and had no more problems with it (They tried to sell me a starter) They charged me for a tow to get it back there and the reconnection of starter wire. I went in to Midas to get a transmission line replaced due to a slow leak. They broke the line on the radiator for which I now had to replace as well. Then was sent home with a vehicle that wont start. Case number:XXXXXXXXX $1204.35...The transmission line midas replaced ruptured. Lost all the fluid, had to tow the vehicle (150.00) ********* *******XX XXX-XXXX) to another shop. My lack of trust kept me from sending it back to midas. ******* ************* (XXX XXX-XXXX) repaired the line and fluid but unfortunately the damage was done. The vehicle is now at *** auto (XXX XXX-XXXX) It will now cost me $2500 to rebuild the transmission. All this because I noticed a small leak in the transmission line a few weeks earlier. So yes, I am disputing these charges rigorously. Sincerely, *****

Desired Settlement: full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ Dear BBB: We have had a lot of correspondence with ***** ********* credit card company. Now he has contacted the BBB where he has copy and pasted his credit card chargeback claim to your website. He has attempted a chargeback 4 different unsuccessful times. Now it seems he wants to try another angle. He has not once taken or returned our phone calls throughout the time of his complaints. He left our facility after his second repair and we have not had any contact with him since. I have written an outline as to what transpired and a closing statement at the end of this letter. ***** ****** came in 11/21/13 for exhaust check, and fluid leaking. ******* (Asst. Mgr.) addressed the original concern by recommending transmission cooler lines, which then turned into needing a radiator because the fittings in the radiator were rusted solid. Our customer approved charges for the cooler lines, transmission fluid, radiator, hoses, clamps and coolant. After completing this job the engine did not crank or start, **** (mechanic) noticed the starter was extremely rusted, and the connections were rusted at the starter. This was not near where we were working earlier on the original repairs. **** (mechanic) wiggled the wires at the starter to get the truck to start. **** (Manager) called our customer toward end of day to report the radiator and cooler lines were complete but the engine did not want to start and seems to have a starter/wiring issue. Our customer said not to worry about it, could we come pick him up at his work/home. **** (Manager) explained that the truck may not start again, and it needs further attention. **** (Manager) told our customer that we would not shut the engine off because it may not restart, and the customer agreed. The customer paid his bill and drove the truck home. He did not have to start it, as it was already running. 11/22/13 Our customer called the next day acting surprised the engine wouldn't start. **** (Manager) reminded our customer about the previous night's conversation. That we left the truck running, told you it probably wouldn't start, that it may be a starter or some other problem and offered to look into the problem further. **** (Manager) then told him we can take a look at it, we'll do whatever we can to help out. **** (Manager) sent **** (Mechanic) to the customer's house to try to get the truck to start to avoid the tow charge. **** (Mechanic) couldn't get it to start at the customer's home, and the truck had to be towed. We again reiterated the previous night's conversation; and advised our customer that Midas will not pay for the tow or the charges that our customer would incur to repair his vehicle of the no-start problem. Our customer approved the tow, and also approved repairs up to and including replacing the starter motor if necessary. The pre-approval amount was defined by **** (Manager) as being $300-$400. After our customer's vehicle was towed to our shop, we removed the starter and found a connector broken on the starter motor's main wire. Rather than replacing the entire starter for the full cost of what our customer authorized, we repaired the old rusted starter to save the customer money. Additionally, we gave our customer a discount for most of the labor. Although, the customer agreed to our charges before the repairs were started, Dave (Manager) could see that he was not happy that an additional problem appeared on his vehicle. Our second bill was $204, plus $75 for towing, plus tax. We gave our customer a customer satisfaction discount of $140. Our customer's net bill was $149. Our customer told Dave (Manager) that he appreciated our help, and he understands that the truck is old and only used for snow plowing in the winter. The reason the vehicle is so rusted is that it sits unused for such long periods of time. Our customer paid his bill and was on his way. We have not had any contact with our customer since then, until the charge backs were sent to us. In closing: We have tried to contact the customer and have not been able to reach him. He has not contacted us to attempt to resolve. We are available at the shop, by phone, customer service phone, and Midas.com. All this information is available on his repair order as well as on his warranty sheet we provided him. The warranty on his transmission lines is 12 months, 12k miles at our shop in Mundelein, IL. and 90 days at any Midas nationwide. The customer was given a sheet outlining the terms of the warranty and it is posted in our waiting room as well. If there was a problem with installation and or a defective part; the repair was, and still is, under warranty. Please return to our shop or any Midas for service. We are accessible, we have multiple locations in our group and we have Chicagoland and Nationwide locations. The work we performed is under warranty. I own this Midas location and we pride ourselves on being better than other auto repair shops. We do honest and quality car repairs. We are not perfect, we are human, but we are approachable, nice and have a great warranty. For these reasons, I would ask that you close this case. If there is any additional information needed, please contact me. Sincerely, **** ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/03/11) */ I have never disputed anything in my life. For me to do such would tell you I'm not a happy camper. Might have to get them under oath now Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/12) */ Dear BBB, ***** Rudolf has not contacted us directly on any of the issues he claims. We can't help ***** if he doesn't participate in the warranty. He must make his vehicle available for us to check and repair if necessary. We have tried to contact the customer and have not been able to reach him. He has not contacted us to attempt to resolve. We are available at the shop, by phone, customer service phone, and Midas.com. All this information is available on his repair order as well as on his warranty sheet we provided him. The warranty on his transmission lines is 12 months, 12k miles at our shop in Mundelein, IL and 90 days at any Midas nationwide. The customer was given a sheet outlining the terms of the warranty and it is posted in our waiting room as well. If there was a problem with installation and or a defective part; the repair was, and still is, under warranty. Please return to our shop or any Midas for service. We are accessible, we have multiple locations in our group and we have Chicagoland and Nationwide locations. The work we performed is under warranty. I own this Midas location and we pride ourselves on being better than other auto repair shops. We do honest and quality car repairs. We are not perfect, we are human, but we are approachable, nice and have a great warranty. For these reasons, I would ask that you close this case. If there is any additional information needed, please contact me. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sure wish they were under oath for their statement


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Mundelein
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)