Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Lake Zurich

Phone: (847) 438-1660 Fax: (847) 438-3351 888 S Rand Rd, Lake Zurich, IL 60047 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Lake Zurich meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Lake Zurich include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Lake Zurich
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Judd Shader, Owner Mr. Ricardo F. Chaquinga, President Mr. Dustin McConaughy, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Judd Shader, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 888 S Rand Rd

    Lake Zurich, IL 60047 (847) 438-1660

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/22/16 I took my car to the Midas on Lake ******, IL to get an oil change and to have them check and exhaust leak I had. They said they could fix the exhaust leak for $250, since I don't know nothing about cars I went ahead and told them to fix it. I picked up the car in the afternoon and on my way home my CHECK ENGINE light came up, I got scared and took immediately took the car back. I spoke to the manager and he said he would check the codes for me. He came back and said I need a new Oxygen sensor and to fix it, it would cost me over $400. I was outraged and told him that my car never had a check engine light before I took the car in earlier that day. He said that the repair they did had nothing to do with that sensor and that it was pure coincidence that the sensor broke after they did the repairs. He also stated that the sensor is no where near the area where the repairs where done. I told him I wanted my car back fixed and that I wasn't going to pay all that money when my car didn't have a problem with that sensor before. He was very rude and said that there was nothing he could do about it. My dad took the car to have it inspected and first, he was upset that they charged me $250 to weld a piece of tube 3 inches long to cover the leak and second, he found out that the sensor that is now "broken" is only inches away from where the repair was done. Also he called 3 other Midas and asked them how much it would be to patch an exhaust leak and all 3 said anywhere between $40 to $100 depending of how big the patch was. Those locations were Gurnee, Waukegan and Libertyville IL. Even one of the employees he spoke with was surprised about how much they charged me to patch the exhaust. I honestly feel like I was taking advantage of. I would never take my car again to any Midas. I am very disappointed with the way the treat their customers and how they perform their work,

Desired Settlement: I want Midas to fix the sensor since my car didn't have that problem until they touched it.

Business Response:

We feel that the customer has had their concerns resolved to their satisfaction.  Details are below.

After vehicle was serviced for an exhaust repair, the check engine light came on for an oxygen sensor failure. Oxygen sensor was not damaged during repair. An oxygen sensor's function was explained to the customer and information relayed that the exhaust repair did not cause the failure. The store offered the customer to replace the sensor at no labor cost but that option was declined. DM spoke to customer,customer did additional research on the sensor and came to the same conclusion that it was unlikely the cause but was still frustrated by the timing. I again offered the replacement at no labor cost. Customer appreciated the contact but has a friend that will install the sensor.
After closing out the complaint, customer changed her mind. She brought ****** a OE sensor and the sensor was replaced for zero labor charge. Customer was happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Lake Zurich
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)