Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Irving Park

Phone: (773) 725-7171 Fax: (773) 427-8520 4216 W Irving Park Rd, Chicago, IL 60641 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Irving Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Irving Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Irving Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Eugene N. Taylor, Owner Mr. Curt Lichon, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene N. Taylor, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • 4216 W Irving Park Rd

    Chicago, IL 60641 (773) 725-7171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2014 I took my van to midas to have new brakes put on. Throughout the day Midas keep telling me that this and that had to be replaced. I agreed the final bill came to 1200.00. In Jan of 2015 while I was driving my brake light came on the all of sudden I had no brakes. Had to have the front brakes replaced. The place I took it to told me that the front brake lines were never replaced. I email Midas Corp. they had someone from the store call me and the gentleman told me that I should have had the van towed to them they might have paid for the tow he could not tell me yes or no just maybe when I asked about the brake lines being replaced he said he could not tell me. On my invoice it shows I was charged labor for brake lines. When my van was there they told me I needed new all new brake lines and I said yes. My bill was 1200.00 I would like Midas to pay for the new brake lines that I had to put on in the front.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the money that I paid to have new front brake lines put on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@yahoo.com midas offers a ninety day warranty on all brake lines we did the work on 4/8/14 she is no longer under warranty it is past the ninety days her receipt does state this in black and white. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because they claimed that they replaced the front brake lines and like I stated they did not replace them. When I took my van to a different mechanic to have the front brake lines done I was informed from the mechanic that the back brake lines were replaced but not the front ones. If the front brake lines were replaced in April of 2014 I would not have to have them repaced in less then one year. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/03/04) */ Midas has nothing else to add and we stand by our decision. the customer was never charged for front brake lines Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still believe I was charged by Midas for front brake lines and I am not going to let this rest until I get a refund of some sort. They gentleman told me he was going to have to replace the front and back brake lines now they are stating they did not charge me I believe they did. And they did not change the front but charged me anyways.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called for an appointment for service on *** 23rd. The person on the other end asked me if I would be using an ******** card. I said YES. He told me that I could specify the exact set of services I would like when I came, and he set me an appointment date of *** 5 at 11 pm. I came across to the shop through a wintry and ugly day in Chicago, arriving to the shop at ****** I told "****" that I had an appointment and took out the ******** card I was going to use. He refused to honor the appointment and the card, and told me it could be used only on Sunday. There was absolutely no mention of this on the card, nor was anything like this mentioned when I made the appointment. I eventually talked to the shop's owner, who apologized but could not offer a reasonable resolution since it would be very risky, I feel, to leave my car in that same shop for service ever again. After some words, I left the shop and am presently reporting this incident exactly as it happened to BBB.

Desired Settlement: The shop should offer me the exact same ******** program card at one of their other franchise shops in the area. This report should definitely become a part of this shop's BBB record.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** owner Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***********@yahoo.com apologized to mr ***** and invited him back in for a complimantary oil change he declined the invatation manager made a honest mistake Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Why would anyone leave his car to be serviced by a shop whose service manager has just treated him totally without respect and lied to him? This shop took my appointment and then refused to do the service that was requested. There was no "honest mistake" here. It was a blatant attempt to change the rules on an offernot to mention that a 72-year-old gentleman had to ride across town in severe winter weather in order to keep his appointment and then was denied service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/12) */ AGAIN I APOLIGIZE FOR THE MISTAKE ON BEHALF OF THE MANAGER AT THIS POINT THERE IS NOTHING MORE I CAN DO BUT LEARN FROM THE MISTAKE AND TRAIN MY EMPLOYESS BETTER THANK YOU


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Irving Park
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)