Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Hanover Park

Phone: (630) 830-0500 Fax: (630) 830-0262 1505 Irving Park Rd, Hanover Park, IL 60133 View Additional Email Addresses http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Hanover Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Hanover Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Hanover Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2006 Business started: 12/01/1973 Business started locally: 12/01/1973
Business Management
Jon Mirski, Owner Mr. Jeanine Mirski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jon Mirski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 1505 Irving Park Rd

    Hanover Park, IL 60133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to go to Midas 5x for a repair. The repair was never fixed. I had to go to a different repair shop to have their errors corrected.I spoke to the regional manager **** There was no conclusion that was in my favor. As a result I am contacting the Better Business Bureau. Attached is our conversation via the web. I had to contact him a dozen times in order to get a hold of him. Per our conversation, below and attached are the four bills for the tensioner pulley, serpentine belt, power steering pump and installation for the 2004 Hyundai XG350L. The total cost of repair on the four bills is $499.08. The attachments show the labor charge for the installation of the serpentine belt and tensioner pulley as well as the power steering pump and labor. Please contact me (instead of my mechanic) with any questions regarding the repair, as my mechanic does not need to be involved in a matter of being issued defective parts by your repair shop. I went to Midas roughly 5 times to solve the screeching noise from the belt and wasted several hours. Each time I visited, various things were replaced and I was told that the parts were defective. Because the belt was not working properly and defective during that time frame, the store replaced the serpentine belt, idler pulley as well as a power steering belt. I am disgusted that a nationally recognized auto repair shop is selling defective parts. I believe because the car was not functioning properly, that is why I had to replace the power steering pump as well. Because there was a defective drive belt installed on my vehicle by your Hanover Park branch, the power steering pump needed to be repaired. I also called the Hanover Park location several times as the car was making noises. Because the issue was not solved and the car was an embarrassment to my husband and me, I showed the mechanics a video of the screeching noise which I still have on my phone. I had to take further action and get a second opinion. I took the car to a certified mechanic who replaced the belt tensioner because the store manager at Midas believed that could be the only alternative to the issue. The certified mechanic replaced the tensioner and stated the car was still screeching loudly and put a new serpentine belt on. I came back at a later date and had the power steering pump replaced by my certified mechanic. I have called the Hanover Park office numerous times about this matter. If this issue is not resolved by the end of the week and I am not compensated for my repairs of $499.08 as well as the $89.28 in labor I incurred from your shop, I will contact corporate as well as the Better Business Bureau. I want a check for this amount ($499.08 + $89.28 = $588.36) as opposed to an in-store credit.********* ******(***) ********

Desired Settlement: I want a $600 settlement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/01) */ I have been going back and forth with ********* and ***** for quite sometime. We have never refused them service and have installed parts that were never paid for at no cost. The noise was an intermittent and we installed new belts as a matter of customer satisfaction. On 4/18/2015 it is noted on the invoice about the power steering leak that she didn't choose to repair at the time. She is upset that we couldn't diagnose the problem over a video and audio tape???. I offered a full refund(not an in-store credit)for the original work that was done for $168.44 and she refused. I have been very easy to get in contact with other than two weeks in July in which my voicemail indicated. There are some in inaccuracies to the complaint. It was brought in (4) times and two of the times belts were replaced as a matter of satisfaction based upon the noise the customer was describing not because the technician heard the noise. I was not contacted a dozen times to resolve the issue. I have spoken with ********* twice and have sent an email to her husband twice because she claimed he did not to get it the first time. I believe my resolution is fair based upon our warranty and the circumstances.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The last two times I have used this Midas, I have had to have additional repairs done to my car. First, I had my tires rotated, and not 3 days after my front right tire bearing went out, resulting in a $250 dollar replacement. The second time, I got an oil change from Midas, and just today I went to get another from a different vendor, and found out that my drain plug had been cross-threaded, which could potentially result in the damage and replacement of my oil pan, which could cost $325. It is unacceptable that this keeps happening, and that I must continue to pay more money for Midas' negligence.

Desired Settlement: I would like Midas to pay for the cost of the repairs that I have incurred due to their shoddy workmanship, and I would like the store to be sanctioned in some way by the BBB. It is unfair and unacceptable that I have to pay extra to fix their mistakes that could have been easily avoided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******/Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXX Contact Email: *******@aol.com This complaint does not appear to be from our location. I have no history of **** ******* ever being at the Hanover Park, IL location. Being from ********* *** I would like to think that he may complaining about the shop in ********* ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Hanover Park
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)