Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee

Phone: (847) 855-0400 Fax: (847) 855-0194 6320 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031 View Additional Email Addresses http://midas.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Jon Mirski, Owner Mr. Christopher Mirski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jon Mirski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966 As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 11, 2014 my husband and I took our 2007 Chrysler Sebring to Midas Auto Service Experts in Gurnee, IL. We had a few different lights that came on the dash and our vehicle smelled like fuel. We were told that the intake manifold and the fuel tank sending unit needed to be replaced. They also replaced a break light while we were there. The total cost of this service including tax, parts and labor was $1713.00. After having our vehicle fixed at Midas, the same lights that were on previously came on again around 90 miles of driving. On June 1, 2014 we took the vehicle back to Midas since the work still was under warranty. We spoke with an employee named ***** and that employee stated that it would cost me more money because it was something completely different than what was wrong the first time. We did not get the service performed at this time. On July 11, 2014 we took our vehicle to ******* Chrysler and were told that the fuel pump should have not been replaced. They stated that the only time it should be replaced would be if we had trouble starting the vehicle, which we did not have that issue. They also said that it was highly unlikely that the repairs should have been done because there was no fuel residue. There should have been some type of residue or some type of sign that fuel was leaking if those were the needed repairs. ******* made minor repairs to the vehicle; they replaced an evap detector, a cap- fuel filler, a seal - vapor canister, and a hose to the total cost of $444.52. Since this repair, we have not had any issues with the vehicle. Antioch gave me the parts that they had replaced so that I would be able to show Midas what was needed. I called Midas back and explained what happened at ******* Chrysler, and I found out that the employee I had spoke to previously had left the company. We spoke to a new manager named ***** and he assured us that he would contact the district manager. We explained that we would like the amount refunded to us for the previous work due to it most likely not being needed on the vehicle, and it did not actually fix the issue. The work that was needed was performed by the dealership and fixed the issue. On July 19th, 2014 ***** told us that he was trying to get the company to only cover the repairs that Antioch made and not for the work that was not needed on the vehicle. ***** also assured us that the district manager would be calling with a status and as of August 1, 2014 we have not heard anything. I also asked Midas for the parts that they replaced, and they would not return them. They have also kept the parts that ******* gave me because they stated that they needed to show them to the district manager. I am requesting the full amount of $1713.00 back for the cost of repairs and labor that Midas charged because I believe that the repairs that Midas performed on my vehicle were not needed. I feel they were taking advantage of my husband and I and were giving us false information the first time we took the vehicle there to be fixed.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a refund of $1713.00 for the work that was done on our vehicle by Midas. We ended up having to take it elsewhere to get the problem fixed since the work that Midas did, did not fix the issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******/Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@aol.com ***** ******** had agreed to issue a refund for $444.52 which would cover the repairs performed at ******* Chrysler. The check is waiting to be issued based upon a resolution. Check engine lights can be triggered by a multitude of different reasons. There are hundreds of codes that can be produced when a check engine light goes on. Even the same code can relate to many parts in the same system. In this case, the evaporative system was one of the issues. The evaporative system is responsible for collecting raw fuel vapors. This a sealed system that when a leak occurs it will send a message to vehicle'c computer informing that there is a vapor leak and the system needs to be checked. To test the system the service port for the system is injected with a dyed "smoke" that can be picked up with a black light. The services that were performed were to repair where the leaks were found. After the leaks were repaired the system is re-checked. At the time of the completion of the work there were no other leaks to be found. Keep in mind that these leaks can be very small and sometimes very hard to detect. I realize that Ms. ******** spent a lot of money to have her vehicle repaired and my ex-manager should have re-diagnosed the vehicle at no charge, but for ******* Chrysler to say parts shouldn't have been replaced is ludicrous. If they didn't originally see the condition of the vehicle, how can they make those claims. Offering to pay for the repairs done at ******* Chrysler as a matter of customer satisfaction is a fair resolution in my opinion.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)