BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/05/1992

Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee

Phone: (847) 855-0400Fax: (847) 855-01946320 Grand Ave, GurneeIL 60031-4523 Send email to Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/05/1992

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On April 11, 2014 my husband and I took our 2007 Chrysler Sebring to Midas Auto Service Experts in Gurnee, IL. We had a few different lights that came on the dash and our vehicle smelled like fuel. We were told that the intake manifold and the fuel tank sending unit needed to be replaced. They also replaced a break light while we were there. The total cost of this service including tax, parts and labor was $1713.00. After having our vehicle fixed at Midas, the same lights that were on previously came on again around 90 miles of driving. On June 1, 2014 we took the vehicle back to Midas since the work still was under warranty. We spoke with an employee named ***** and that employee stated that it would cost me more money because it was something completely different than what was wrong the first time. We did not get the service performed at this time. On July 11, 2014 we took our vehicle to ******* Chrysler and were told that the fuel pump should have not been replaced. They stated that the only time it should be replaced would be if we had trouble starting the vehicle, which we did not have that issue. They also said that it was highly unlikely that the repairs should have been done because there was no fuel residue. There should have been some type of residue or some type of sign that fuel was leaking if those were the needed repairs. ******* made minor repairs to the vehicle; they replaced an evap detector, a cap- fuel filler, a seal - vapor canister, and a hose to the total cost of $444.52. Since this repair, we have not had any issues with the vehicle. Antioch gave me the parts that they had replaced so that I would be able to show Midas what was needed.
I called Midas back and explained what happened at ******* Chrysler, and I found out that the employee I had spoke to previously had left the company. We spoke to a new manager named ***** and he assured us that he would contact the district manager. We explained that we would like the amount refunded to us for the previous work due to it most likely not being needed on the vehicle, and it did not actually fix the issue. The work that was needed was performed by the dealership and fixed the issue. On July 19th, 2014 ***** told us that he was trying to get the company to only cover the repairs that Antioch made and not for the work that was not needed on the vehicle. ***** also assured us that the district manager would be calling with a status and as of August 1, 2014 we have not heard anything.
I also asked Midas for the parts that they replaced, and they would not return them. They have also kept the parts that ******* gave me because they stated that they needed to show them to the district manager. I am requesting the full amount of $1713.00 back for the cost of repairs and labor that Midas charged because I believe that the repairs that Midas performed on my vehicle were not needed. I feel they were taking advantage of my husband and I and were giving us false information the first time we took the vehicle there to be fixed.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund of $1713.00 for the work that was done on our vehicle by Midas. We ended up having to take it elsewhere to get the problem fixed since the work that Midas did, did not fix the issue.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******/Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******
***** ******** had agreed to issue a refund for $444.52 which would cover the repairs performed at ******* Chrysler. The check is waiting to be issued based upon a resolution.

Check engine lights can be triggered by a multitude of different reasons. There are hundreds of codes that can be produced when a check engine light goes on. Even the same code can relate to many parts in the same system. In this case, the evaporative system was one of the issues. The evaporative system is responsible for collecting raw fuel vapors. This a sealed system that when a leak occurs it will send a message to vehicle'c computer informing that there is a vapor leak and the system needs to be checked. To test the system the service port for the system is injected with a dyed "smoke" that can be picked up with a black light. The services that were performed were to repair where the leaks were found. After the leaks were repaired the system is re-checked. At the time of the completion of the work there were no other leaks to be found. Keep in mind that these leaks can be very small and sometimes very hard to detect. I realize that Ms. ******** spent a lot of money to have her vehicle repaired and my ex-manager should have re-diagnosed the vehicle at no charge, but for ******* Chrysler to say parts shouldn't have been replaced is ludicrous. If they didn't originally see the condition of the vehicle, how can they make those claims. Offering to pay for the repairs done at ******* Chrysler as a matter of customer satisfaction is a fair resolution in my opinion.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Tire Dealers

Additional Information


As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report:

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report:

BBB file opened: 05/03/2002Business started: 01/01/1956
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Mr Christopher Mirski (Owner)
Related Businesses
Midas International Corp. - 4300 TBC Way, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Tire Dealers

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee

6320 Grand Ave

Gurnee, IL 60031-4523

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6320 Grand Ave 

    Gurnee, IL 60031-4523Fax: (847) 855-0194

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Midas Auto Centers-Gurnee is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.