Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-Chicago Heights

Phone: (708) 481-4466 Fax: (708) 748-1888 656 W Lincoln Hwy, Chicago Heights, IL 60411 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-Chicago Heights meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-Chicago Heights include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Chicago Heights
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Business Management
Mr. Andrea A. Brown, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrea A. Brown, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 656 W Lincoln Hwy

    Chicago Heights, IL 60411

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 4 brand new tires for my 1998 Ford Mustang and was told to get my new tires wheel alignment and the best place to go is Midas Auto Service Experts in Chicago Heights, Il. When I went to Midas Auto Service Experts, at 656 West ******* Highway, Chicago Heights, Il. for tire wheel alignment, I was told my car need ball joints, rack and pinion and it wouldn't do any good to get a wheel alignment for my new tires without replacing ball joints, rack and pinion because my new tires would not last long and I would end up buying new tires. I paid $278.95 for rack&pinion, labor $300.00,misc ($80), ball joints $41.67, misc$41.67, labor $170 X 2=$340, alignment discount tire$89.99. Total $800.00 which is parts $198.95, labor $729.99, shop supplies $15.00 Discount ($159.93) and tax $15.99. On May 02, 2013, I was on my way to work and it was hard to steer my car and I hear something that sound like it broke off and I had to have my car towed to the nearest car repair shop. I could not move the steering wheel. I had to missed work. My car was tolled to *** *** ******** *** *** ******* told me that the rack & pinion that was on my car was leaking at shaft seal & it could not be repair & a new rack & pinion would need to be replaced in order to have a safe & drivable car. I need my car for work. I had to pay All Car Service $250.00 for service, $225 for parts & tax $20.81.I called Midas about refund for the rack and pinion I purchased in Jan 19, 2013 & I was told by the owner that she would not refund me because she doesn't have the original part. I gave her the name of *** *** ******* to get the rack and pinion. I didn't expect to buy 2 racks and pinions for my car. I was told business practice when you get a replacement part for your car that the old parts goes back to the manufacture. Product_Or_Service: 01/19/2013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be refund for the total cost I paid for new rack & pinion, labor cost and taxes. I did not expect the rack and pinion to leak at shaft seal. I did not cause any damage. I did not expect to have to buy 2 racks and pinions and 2 labor costs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/03/03) */ In response to complaint #XXXXXXXX, Ms. **** is seeking reimbursement for parts and labor on a Rack and Pinion job performed on her 1998 Ford Mustang 1/19/13. Ms. **** visited Midas Auto Service Experts of Chicago Heights, IL; thereafter, on 2/2/13 with complaints of squeaking noises when she brakes, which required diagnosing. Customer declined inspection, courtesy check and test drive completion; however, allowed Midas to change the ball joints at no cost to her. On 6/6/13, Midas received notice from Ms. **** stating she was requesting refund from services she received on 1/19/13. The recommendation was made to bring vehicle in for inspection to address the issue. Customer stated she received service from a third party; therefore, inhibiting Midas to properly diagnose complaint. Customer was also unable to produce and return parts purchased from Midas for services in question. Midas Chicago Heights will not grant the request for reimbursement due to customers inability to return alleged defective part and diagnosis of said vehicle. Please feel free to contact @ *******************@comcast.net or XXX-XXX-XXXX for any further questions. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I purchased a new rack and pinion and ball joints for my car because I was told by Midas technician that if I did not get it I would damage my brand new tires I just purchased and I would have to buy new tires again. I did not have any problem with the original rack and pinion and ball joints. The original rack and pinion had no noise, I was able to steer my car. I had to take my car back to Midas because one of the ball joint was defected. Midas had to replace one of the ball joint. I had to purchase a new rack and pinion for my car because Midas put in a damage rack and pinion on my car. I was not able to drive my car because I could not steer my car when the part broke/crack. I had to get my car towed to the nearest car shop. My car was in the middle of the street. I was trying to go to work when this happened. Midas input a rack and pinion that was not safe for me to drive. It jeopardized my safety and other people safety. I did not waive the right to approve unexpected damage of rack and pinion. My receipt did not indicated that I'm buying a damage/crack rack and pinion. I advised Midas to contact the company where I had to buy a new rack and pinion to tell them what the damage was and where they sent the defected rack and pinion part to. I used my car for work. I am not in the business to repeatedly buy the same parts and pay for the same labor. I expected the rack and pinion would last for years and not for months. I would have left the original rack and pinion on my car because I did not have any problems. I would not have to pay double money for the rack and pinion. I would not recommend any one to buy any parts from this company and your safety could be an issue. I would like to get my money back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/03/24) */ Midas of Chicago Heights Illinois contacted the third party vendor to which Ms. **** received other services from, in an attempt to assist the customer and obtain proof of defective parts. Neither Ms. **** nor the third party vendor were able to produce said parts which would have allowed Midas to inspect and return defect to merchant for refund. Therefore, Midas Chicago Heights is unable provide reimbursement due to customers inability to return alleged defective parts. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the proposed resolution from Midas, because this company does not stand behind it product and labor. I did not get the service that I paid for. I paid for a new rack and pinion for my car. I do not like to pay twice for rack and pinion for my car. I will not recommend anyone to go to any Midas Auto Center to get any work done on their car. I did not get 100% satisfaction guarantee on the product. The original rack and pinion was working fine. I was told by Midas technician to buy new rack and pinion and ball joints because the old rack and pinion would damage my brand new tires. My old rack and pinion and ball joints never gave me any problems. The rack and pinion Midas installed on my car was defected. I only want my money back what I paid for the part and labor.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-Chicago Heights
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)