Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Centers-74th Stony Island

Phone: (773) 667-1111 7419 S Stony Island Ave, Chicago, IL 60649 http://midas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Centers-74th Stony Island meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Centers-74th Stony Island include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-74th Stony Island
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1956 Business started locally: 01/01/1956
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pat B. Gorrepati, Owner Mr. Fred Newman, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat B. Gorrepati, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Purni Auto Systems Inc.
Additional Information

As of March 1st, 2009 all complaints for Midas International Corporation are retained at one report. Visit the following link to view this report: http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/midas-international-corp-in-itasca-il-4966


Additional Locations

  • 7419 S Stony Island Ave

    Chicago, IL 60649

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/09/13 I brought my car to the Midas location for repairs. I had a new battery and starter installed without a dignosic report which costed 856.49. On 12/10/13 I had my car towed back to the location because it would not start which cost 70.00. I was told by **** the manager that he could not see the problem and that they would keep it over night. On 12/11/13 I picked up my car and was told everything was fixed. I asked Midas repair men if they checked the battery to see if there was a shortage but I was reassured that everything was fixed. I later drove my car to work and it would not start. It was difficult to get a cab to pick me up from work due to cold temperatures and rush hour traffic. It took over 3 hours to find a cab to get home. On 12/12/2013 I rented a car from ********** while I waited for an appointment from ****** **** ***** on **** S. ******** Ave. I rented the car between 12/12/13- 12/18/13 which cost 404.68. On 12/16/13 I left my car with ****** **** ***** for further investigation. On 12/18/13 I picked up my car from ****** **** ***** and they said that the battery cables were loose. I contacted Midas customer complaint line XXX-XXX-XXXX on 12/23/2013 and was given a reference number XXX-XXXX and spoke with several customer service agents who detailed the situation and tried to contact the team at Midas. On 12/27/13 I heard back from **** the manager. He offered to put in the coolant tank free of charge but he said he could not provide anything else. **** then called back in 3 hours and told me that he could pay me 400.00 for my car rental. I told him that I wanted half of my 856.00 paid because that was careless of Midas to not check my battery cables. Also I told him that I never received a diagnosic report so I just believed the repair men when they said I needed a battery and starter. After several unsuccessful attempts, I was transferred to ******** at Midas Consumer Line XXX-XXX-XXXX. On 01/09/14 I faxed my receipts to ********. Then I spoke with the general manager on Jan 15th. He told me that he would give me he would cover my tow 70.00 and my repair bill from Rogers Auto Group of 58.00 and fix my coolant tank. I told him that I needed at least half of my repair bill of 856.00 paid, my car rental, Rogers Repairs and my tow charges covered. Then ***** took over my case and her number is XXX-XXX-XXXX at the Midas Consumer line. I spoke with ***** on 01/16/2014, 01/17/2014, 01/21/2014,01/22/2014, 01/24/2014 and 01/30/2014. Finally the owner *** ********* called me on 01/30/2014. He said he would give me 250.00 to cover my car rental for only 2 days, tow charges and ****** **** repair bill. I asked him if he would get me half of my Midas charges of 856.00 but he told me it was not his fault that my car did not work after it was repaired. He told me that I worked at hospital and I made a good salary. I later spoke with ***** on 02/01/2014 to discuss the conversation between myself and Mr. *********. She said she was working on resolving the case. She closed the complaint on Feb 3rd and told me that Midas was mailing a check for 500.00 I told her that was fine. Then on Feb 6th she called back and told me that the check was reduced to 250.00 by Mr. *********. I never received a check and I spoke with ***** on 03/25/2014 and she said the check was being held in the accounting office. She said that it was not anymore actions she could take but that as soon as she found out more information she would let me know. I just want to resolve the situation and I want to be compensated for the inconvenience that I experienced.

Desired Settlement: I want to be given half of my repair bill of 423.00, tow charge of 70.00, 58.00 dollars for ****** **** ***** repair and 400.00 for car rental. I want a total of 951.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/05/08) */

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Centers-74th Stony Island
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)