This business is not BBB accredited.

Marquette Frame & Wheel

Phone: (773) 434-1221 2348 W. 59th St., Chicago, IL 60636

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Marquette Frame & Wheel include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Marquette Frame & Wheel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marquette Frame & Wheel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 01/31/1974 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Cook County State's Attorney
69 W Washington St, Ste 3130, Chicago IL 60602
Phone Number: (312) 603-8600

Chicago Commission on Human Relations
740 N. Sedgwick, 3rd Fl, Chicago IL 60654
Phone Number: (312) 744-4111

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Dougherty, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Dougherty, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Brake Service Welding Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Tire Changing Equipment Wheels Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Tires - Commercial Sales & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Marquette Frame & Wheel Align

Additional Locations


    2348 W. 59th St.

    Chicago, IL 60636 (773) 434-1221


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2001 ISUZU VEHICROSS This note serves to state that a mistake was made when Marquette Wheel and Frame Alignment attempted to repair my 2001 Isuzu Vehicross 3.5L, V6VIN *************XXXXX on Friday, 3/28/2014. I arrived at Marquette repair shop at 7:45am. The shop opened at 8:10am and I spoke to ************** on 3/28/2014 with a complaint of noises coming from the right side of the vehicle (scrapping, grinding, thumping). I was told the repair person originally could not get the car to make the noise when test driving the vehicle. While sitting in the repair shop I was then told that it was the Wheel Hub which I was asked to pay $246.00 up front in order to get the part ordered and sent to their shop. The first (Invoice # XXXXX) - (Org. Est. #XXXXXX by **************, Manager) I was also told that I would need Front Inner Bearing Set $65.79 and Front Outer Bearings $29.57, Lower Ball Joint $68.32 and Front Wheel Seal $7.99 at a total cost of $171.84. The Odometer reading going in read (XXXXXX) and to my surprise the Odometer reading going out was still (XXXXXX). Was my vehicle properly driven long enough for the inspection before I was asked to purchase parts for repair on my car? I took the car home on 3/28/14 due to the part not being available until sometime the following week. I drove home and as I was coming off the Bishop Ford at Sibley the car started to make the noise once again. Two mile pass ** house I picked up a pizza from ******* pizza but when I attempted to make a right hand turn into their parking lot the car steering wheel LOCK-UP and I was unable to turn my vehicle in to their lot. I then pulled up onto the sidewalk where I sat for 3 hours until *** towing came to tow my car to the front of my home at XXXXX ************ Avenue in ******, Illinois. My car was then towed again to Marquette repair shop on Wednesday, April 2, 2014. I was contacted by ************** regarding the now additional cost I had to encounter with this new problem that occurred after leaving their shop last week on Friday. Now I was notified (Invoice # XXXXX) - (Org. Est. #XXXXXXX) by **************, Manager) that the Belt Tensioner Assembly $69.36 and the Serpentine Belt $34.31 was now among the other items to be repaired on my 2001 Isuzu Vehicross with an additional charge for parts of estimated amount of $104.00. Was this a coincident or was something done intentionally to my vehicle for these extra charges? I am seeking return funds for the total Labor cost which was $317.00 plus tax $48.24 = $365.24. Add car tow from my house to Marquette repair shop $80.00 and the second ********** Car rental $253.02 due to the mistake of the repair on the weekend of 4/04-4/09/14 was a total of $650.26 Just here to state that a mistake was made when attempting to repair my 2001 Isuzu Vehicross, and we have a report showing that the problem with the vehicle was detailed in a group forum and shown to an employee at your location. The mistake is said to have been with the employee inspecting the vehicle and the employee assigned to do the work. The issue with describing L/S (left/side) versus the passenger ***** The employee inspecting the problem on March 28, 2014 and Mrs. ****** said the noise was coming from the front passenger **** wheel area. It was noted that the employee (****) could not duplicate the noise. Spoke with ************** on the phone and Mrs. ****** told him that she was shown from another shop that in fact the left side of the car had the new items place on the car and not the passenger **** of the car. Mrs. ****** decided to take her car to *************** in ************, Illinois near her home where an inspection was performed in front of her. Mrs. ****** was given her car back because while driving the noise was duplicated but when they *************** Mitsubishi Motors tried to duplicate it up on the rack it would not occur. So they did not want to repair the car and gave suggestions what might be the problem. They pointed out where the new parts were added to the car. They showed her the ball joint (new shinny looking part). The bearings are not visible but she was shown the difference in where the bolts were unscrewed and where the other side (right) was not touched. This now shows that there was definitely no work done on the right side of the vehicle. To reiterate, this is not to show that unnecessary work or parts were given to a female customer but only a clear mistake was made in this inspection and repair with Marquette Frame and Wheel Alignment. I would like to resolve this matter between the two parties where I am seeking a return amount of $640.26 from your establishment. Product_Or_Service: Isuzu Order_Number: Invoice # XXXXX and

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to get a refund for the labor charges and the rental of the automobile used because of the non-correct repair to my vehicle.I am seeking return funds for the total Labor cost which was $317.00 plus tax $48.24 = $365.24. Add car tow from my house to Marquette repair shop $80.00 and the second Enterprise Car rental $253.02 due to the mistake of the repair on the weekend of 4/04- 4/09/14 was a total of $650.26

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/12) */ ******* first and foremost let me say we value our BBB accreditation, it means and says a lot about Marquette frame and wheel alignment and our customers. We have been in business since 1948 and wouldn't still be here without satisfied customers. That being said let's address the issue with ******* ******. Miss ****** states she has two issues. Her first issue is with the repair of a ball joint and wheel bearing. Marquette and wheel inspected the Vehicross, an inspection includes addressing customers written complaint, test drive, shaking down suspension for loose parts and a visual inspection for signs of wear. When The Vehicross was test driven the noise could not be duplicated. While on the rack the noise could not be duplicated and this was explained to ******* ****** in detail. We further noted and explained there were parts on the left side showing signs of excessive wear and while not a noise or safety issue they certainly could cause tire wear. ******* ****** then agreed the parts needed attention and left a deposit for the nonrefundable dealer special order parts. This leads us to the second issue, which occurred coincidentally after visiting Marquette frame. It is sad that there is an accusation we somehow sabotaged the 2001 Vehicross. After the vehicle was towed to our shop, upon re inspection we noticed what actually happened was a tensioner pulley failed and locked up from age (it was a 13 year old original part) and caused the serpentine belt to burn up which then caused power steering failure on the 2001 Vehicross. Had a taillight burned out would we have been blamed? No I think not. Why would we have sabotaged the 2001 Vehicross when there was a deposit left and we were going to work on it anyway? Secondly Marquette Frame does not do mechanical repairs, the repairs we do include: framework, steering, suspension, batteries, brakes and tires. As a courtesy to save a new customer from having to pay to have the vehicle towed to another repair shop, we replaced the pulley and belt. ******* ****** states a "master mechanic" (probably an online forum guy)told the Mitsubishi dealer what was wrong ( Marquette Frame has never been told of the "master mechanics" findings) but the dealer would not repair because they could not hear the alleged noise or find fault with any part. In a nutshell let's recap. We stated we never heard the noise. We also stated there were worn parts on the left side causing tire wear and the repair was approved and a deposit was left. Later there was a power steering failure caused by a worn pulley which locked up causing the serpentine belt to break and power steering to be lost. No other mechanic has ever duplicated the noise. Through emails and phone calls numerous good-faith attempts to recheck for the noise were made and denied each time. The alleged noise has never been pinpointed by any mechanic to our knowledge. It should also be noted that the mechanic ******** has worked at Marquette frame and wheel alignment since 1978 and is the shops troubleshooter when any other technician has a serious problem that they cannot solve. At Marquette frame we trust our manager and mechanic made the correct decision regarding the VehiCross. We also trust any decision the BBB makes. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please see my attached response.