BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/1988

Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue

(312) 787-8828909 W. North Ave., ChicagoIL 60642-2507 Send email to Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/1988

BBB has determined that Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: On 09/26/13 I brought my car (Blue 1996 Chevy Blazer, IL license plate NXXXXXX ) into the Firestone Complete Auto Care at **** ******** in ********* *** They performed a checkup, and replaced my starter and battery for a total of $582.34. The starter came with a 24 month/24,000 mile warranty (09/26/13 to 09/26/15 or 142,633mi to 166,633mi.)
My starter began to malfunction; it would crank very slowly and frequently had to be tapped before it would crank. On 01/15/14 I brought my car into the Firestone at **** ***** **** in Chicago. They performed a battery and electrical check (work order #XXXXXX) for $25.99 and told me that my starter did not need replacement.
My starter continued to malfunction for nine days and then on 01/24/14 it failed. On 02/03/14 my car was towed through Firestone Roadside Assistance for a total of $104.95. On 02/08/14 the Firestone at ***** ****** in Chicago inspected my car, found that the starter did in fact need replacement, and replaced it free of charge under the warranty.
Because the Firestone Complete on ***** Ave did not replace my starter when it was malfunctioning, I incurred a total of $130.94 in costs in order to get it replaced when the malfunctioning turned to failure nine days later.

Initial Business Response
I left a message for ******* and also send him an email to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ask for *** ********. I do not have a problem reimbursing him for the cost of the tow and electrical check. A total of $130.94.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/25/1990Business started: 11/01/1976
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ray Gonzalez (Asst. Dist. Mgr.)Mr. Garrett Knasko (Branch Mgr.)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire-North Ave.
Industry Tips
Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue

909 W. North Ave.

Chicago, IL 60642-2507

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 909 W. North Ave. 

    Chicago, IL 60642-2507

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Contracts
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.