Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue

Phone: (312) 787-8828 909 W. North Ave., Chicago, IL 60642 http://www.firestonecompleteautocare.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1976 Business started locally: 11/01/1976
Business Management
Mr. Garrett Knasko, Branch Mgr. Mr. Ray Gonzalez, Asst. Dist. Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Garrett Knasko, Branch Mgr.
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire-North Ave.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 09/26/13 I brought my car (Blue 1996 Chevy Blazer, IL license plate NXXXXXX ) into the Firestone Complete Auto Care at **** ******** in ********* *** They performed a checkup, and replaced my starter and battery for a total of $582.34. The starter came with a 24 month/24,000 mile warranty (09/26/13 to 09/26/15 or 142,633mi to 166,633mi.) My starter began to malfunction; it would crank very slowly and frequently had to be tapped before it would crank. On 01/15/14 I brought my car into the Firestone at **** ***** **** in Chicago. They performed a battery and electrical check (work order #XXXXXX) for $25.99 and told me that my starter did not need replacement. My starter continued to malfunction for nine days and then on 01/24/14 it failed. On 02/03/14 my car was towed through Firestone Roadside Assistance for a total of $104.95. On 02/08/14 the Firestone at ***** ****** in Chicago inspected my car, found that the starter did in fact need replacement, and replaced it free of charge under the warranty. Because the Firestone Complete on ***** Ave did not replace my starter when it was malfunctioning, I incurred a total of $130.94 in costs in order to get it replaced when the malfunctioning turned to failure nine days later.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed $130.94. $25.99 for the cost of the battery and electrical check performed at the ***** Ave location, which would have been covered under the starter's warranty if it had been replaced then and there, and $104.95 for the cost of the tow, which breaks down to $64.95 for the initial cost and $40.00 that was tacked on afterwards for the use of a winch. Had the starter been replaced when the problem first arose I would not have incurred these costs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/15) */ I left a message for ******* and also send him an email to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ask for *** ********. I do not have a problem reimbursing him for the cost of the tow and electrical check. A total of $130.94.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Complete Auto Care-North Avenue
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)