BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Complete Auto Care-Des Plaines (Golf Rd)

Phone: (847) 437-8818 Fax: (847) 437-9527 783 W Golf Rd, Des Plaines, IL 60016 http://www.firestonecompleteautocare.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Complete Auto Care-Des Plaines (Golf Rd) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Complete Auto Care-Des Plaines (Golf Rd) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Complete Auto Care-Des Plaines (Golf Rd)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Business Management
Mr. Alex Bautista, Store Manager Mr. Frank Painter, Asst. Dist. Mgr. Mr. Rick Tomlinson, Branch Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Bautista, Store Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother brought her car in for an oil change on ******** and came out with a $350 invoice. She was not informed of the price for each "so called" maintenance service they did to her car. She did not know the final price until after the work was done. I called and complained and said they took advantage of a retired old woman who knows nothing about cars. They informed that she was told how much it would cost and that is a lie. Firestone skirts around the truth by saying it is the dealer recommendations when they know these things can wait or at least until my mom can find if she really needs these things done. It is like asking someone to operate on a patient when they are not a doctor!!! Product_Or_Service: Oil Change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund At this point I would like full refund for everything but the oil change.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/30) */ Vehicle belongs to mother of person filing complaint. Vehicle(2006 Chevrolet Malibu) was taken to our store location for an oil change. Upon performing our standrd Courtesy Inspection, that the Customer was informed of at the time the work order was printed, one of the brake lights was out, in addition to that, 3 fluid service items were recommended, based on mileage/age...7yrs old/condition of the fluids. None of the items were a requirement and this was completely explained to the Customer. No attempt was made to mislead or misrepresent these services as anything but Manufacturer based recommendations to keep the vehicle running at optimum performance. We give our Customers the options. The Customer chose to have the recommended services performed. We use MAP(Motorist Assurance Program) guidelines which categorize the recommendations accordingly. The location was never made aware that there would need to be approval from a 3rd party to authorize any additional work, since the owner of the vehicle was present and able to decide wether to perform or not perform the work. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will never accept any reason this business gives to the BBB or me. I will only accept some credit towards my mother's bill. They were unprofessional and they do not care about their customers. My mother was never told how much all this would cost. They just told her she needed some fluids, oil change and the light bulb. If she had known how much this would cost she would never have agreed to the work. She even told the clerk who her checked her out that she was surprised how much all this costs. it goes back to my first point, they took advantage of an older women who knows nothing about cars. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/04) */ Message was left with the vehicle's owner to speak directly. Our position remains the same. The store teammate gave the information/recommendations to the customer and the decision is completely up to the customer to perform any additional work. Light bulb was not functioning. Fluid services were recommended due to age/mileage per Manufacturer of the vehicle. I can give further info if needed.