Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ernie's Auto Service

Phone: (847) 746-5861 Fax: (847) 746-2817 2804 Deborah Ave, Zion, IL 60099 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.erniesautoservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ernie's Auto Service is a NAPA Auto Service Center, so we do sell NAPA brand parts, however, not exclusively.  If we find that the manufacturer's brand part or another aftermarket brand part is available that is less expensive, we will purchase and install that part for the customer.  We will insure that all parts we install are of top quality, and we back all parts and labor by the NAPA 24 month/24,000 mile warranty.

Ernie's Auto Service is a full service auto repair shop.  We service all makes and models of passenger vehicles, both foreign and domestic, as well as light to medium duty trucks and buses.  Some of the repairs and services we offer are oil changes, brakes, emission repairs, heating and cooling systems, air conditioning recharges and repairs, charging/starting systems, exhaust systems, shocks and struts, tune ups, battery replacements, tire repair and tire sales, transmission service, winterizations, safety & pre-purchase inspections, alignments and glass replacement. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ernie's Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ernie's Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie's Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2007 Business started: 07/23/1999 in IL Business started locally: 07/23/1999 Business incorporated 02/05/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Renee Isley, Vice President/Co-Owner Mr. Ernie Isley, President/Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renee Isley, Vice President/Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Engines - Gas Clutches Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

Ernie's Auto Service sells the following brand(s): AC Delco, Chrysler Products, Delphi, Ford Motor Company, GoodYear TIres, HanKook Tires, Michelin TIres, Mobile 1, Monroe, NAPA, NGK

Ernie's Auto Service offers the following product(s): Alternators, Batteries, Brakes, Exhaust Parts, Fuel Filters, Mufflers, Oil, Oil filters, Rotors, Serpentine Belts, Shocks, Starters, Struts, Timing Belts, Tires, Tune Up Parts, Water Pumps

Method(s) of Payment
Ernie's Auto Service accepts Cash, Visa, Master Card, Discover and Debit Cards. 
Refund and Exchange Policy
Ernie's Auto Service offers a very generous 24 month/24,000 mile NAPA peace of mind warranty with every repair we complete.  If a customer encounters a problem with a repair, we encourage them to contact our shop immediately, so that our technicians can address the problem as soon as possible.  If the problem identified points to a part we installed, a new part replaced if it is covered under the warranty.  If the problem identified points to a service problem, then we will do our best to rectify the matter to the customer's satisfaction. 
Alternate Business Names
Isley Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2804 Deborah Ave

    Zion, IL 60099 (847) 746-5861

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in for an estimate for a non-working air conditioning unit. They said they leak tested it and found that it leaked and that I needed a new evaporator core. He charged me $45 for this service and said he'd take that amount off when he replaced the evaporator. The total charge for the evaporator replace/labor/etc was going to be $1,137.75. I made an appt to bring the car back to have it fixed. In the meantime I checked on the price of the evaporator and found that I could get it for $200 less than *****'s could. I also decided to take it to the dealer where I bought the car. They did the same test that *****'s supposedly did and told me that there weren't any leaks, that the only thing it needed was to be charged. This was much, much less than what *****'s was going to charge me.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of the $45.00 I paid which was really for nothing. I think he was going to charge me over $1,000 and replace something that didn't need to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/27) */ When the Complaint (Mr. ******) made an appointment with our repair shop to have his air conditioning system looked at on his Chrysler, he told the receptionist upfront that he was told "it has a leak." Upon turning in his car for the inspection, the Complainant presented to ***** the paperwork he got from another dealership indicating that a leak was detected in the system in the evaporator core. The Complainant omitted this detail in his BBB complaint. He felt the estimate he was given by the dealership was too high and that is why he was asking us to provide him with a second opinion. We obliged the Complainant to do the diagnostic test and provide him the results and recommendations only after we pre-qualified the Complainant to a charge of $45 for the diagnostic fee. We also explained that we would give him credit for the $45 diagnostic fee if he agreed to have the repair work done at our shop after the initial inspection. The Complainant agreed with the fee and left his car with us to perform the test. Our test did discover a leak in the A/C system as previously detected. ***** compiled an estimate to replace the evaporator at $1,137.75. This is a labor intensive repair as the entire dash of the vehicle has to be removed to get to the evaporator. Even when the evaporator is exposed, the leak test must be performed again to verify this component is indeed defective, and to make sure that there are no secondary leaks elsewhere in the system. When the Complainant arrived to pick up his vehicle later that afternoon, ***** went over the estimate with him and gave him a copy of the estimate. It was then that the Complainant questioned ***** as to why it took so long to get his car in and out. ***** explained to him we have only one A/C recharge unit to use for testing and we had to wait until that unit was free and a technician available to perform the test. The complainant's wife paid the $45 fee in cash and made appointment to come in on June 10th to have the recommended repairs performed. A few days later, The Complainant arrives at our shop with his copy of the estimate. He insinuates that the prices we are charging for our parts are too high. He said he has done some research and he can get the parts for less at other parts stores or he can use his "discount" to get the parts for less. When ***** explained to him that we do not install parts brought in from customers and that our price for the parts is final. The Complainant continued to argue with *****, insisting that we were overcharging him. ***** invited him to take his business someplace else if he felt that way. On the day of his scheduled appointment, the Complainant did not arrive, nor did he call to cancel. Several days later, the Complainant is again back at our shop. This time he tried to intimate our receptionist by raising his voice to her in our waiting room complaining that he got his car's A/C fixed and all it needed was a recharge. He was demanding his $45 back. Since the complainant was being overbearing to the receptionist, ***** took him outside the shop to listen to him complain. The complainant again demanded his $45 back. ***** refused; he said that he, the complainant, agreed to the diagnostic test to get a 2nd opinion and that is what he got. Yes, we could have charged up the system but the Freon will eventually leak out all over again. We would not have performed such a procedure if we were confident that there was a leak in the system. Two shops, independent of each other, verified the car's condition. Just because the Complainant claims to have gotten yet a third shop to recharge his system and the A/C is working now, does not mean the other shops got it wrong. The A/C may be blowing cold now, but soon the Freon may leak out and the Complainant will be right back where he started from. In closing, it was very apparent to me and my staff during our first encounter with the Complainant that he is indeed mistrusting and easily agitated. His distrust of repair shops was clearly apparent by the negative comments made to us about the previous repair shop. His expectations of how swiftly we should have taken his car into the shop for the inspection seemed peculiar at first. Then when he learned of our policy of not allowing customers to bring their own parts to be installed, the Complainant became unrealistic and demanding. Finally the belligerent behavior he displayed in at our shop when expecting his $45 back just because he says he got his Air conditioning fixed somewhere else revealed to us that the Complainant is simply not going to be happy about spending money on his car no matter what. The simple fact is cars need to be maintained and repairs are necessary. Our shop offers such repairs with highly qualified and trained technicians to do the job and we back up our work and our parts with a generous warranty. We have our integrity riding on that fact. We will not let our customers dictate to us when to fix their cars, how to fix their cars, or how much to charge for parts and labor.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Ernies auto & repair to do a repair estimate on my truck and with my authorization he repaired it and gave me a bill. Yesterday morning my fiance called *****'s Auto to see if they could do a repair estimate on my truck, and the owner, Ernie said to bring it in around 2- 2:30 pm and he would look at it. I brought my truck around 2:15 pm, and told Ernie what I was told by ***** ***** He told me that He would look and it. My truck was brought into the bay area, and was being checked out. I waited for about an hour an a half, waiting to find out what needed to to fixed. Around 4 pm Ernie came back into the office and told me my truck was done. He left out the door to help another customer, but he left my paperwork and my keys on the counter. So I looked at the paper work and was holding my keys. The paperwork wasn't an estimate but a bill for work performed. When Ernie came back in, I asked him what did he do, and he told me that he fixed my truck and the paperwork showed the amount do. I then told him that i asked for an estimate not for him to repair it that day cause I didn't have the money til Friday. He said no money no truck and ripped the keys out of my hand, and stormed into his office. I called my fiance and told him what was going on, so he said he would call and talk to Ernie. My fiance told me that after speaking to Ernie that he was going to give me the keys to my truck and I wanted a copy of the repairs he had done, and Ernie said no. Ernie and his wife, *****, were in the parking lot,helping a truck to back up. After the truck backed into their parking area, they both used such unprofessional language, and told me to get off their property , loose their phone number, and to never think about bringing my truck back to their shop. I couldn't believe the words that came out of their mouths, like f you get the f out of the shop and off our f property. I told Ernie all I wanted was an estimate not a bill for repairs done without my authorization. Ernie told my fiance that if I didn't pay for the repair he was going to put a lien on my truck so I couldn't get my plates renewed next year. This used to be a place to get free estimates but I will never bring my vehicle back to this shop ever again. I also wanted a copy of the repair work they did, but I never received it either.

Desired Settlement: Since Ernie repaired my truck without my authorization my bill should be paid in Full, and I want the copy of the repairs done to my truck.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/30) */ Our shop has not nor ever advertised "free estimates". We charge a diagnostic fee for each vehicle being inspected to determine the exact problem and the necessary repairs. We have to pay our technicians for their time it takes to perform such inspections. The majority of vehicle owners understands the necessity of this charge and expects it when they bring their vehicles in to a repair shop for service. After the diagnostic tests and inspections are done and the details of the necessary repairs are explained to the customer, to include cost, if the customer agrees to have our shop complete the repairs at that time, our shop will take the diagnostic fee off the bill. If the customer is only interested in a diagnosis of the car trouble and does not wish, for any reason, to have the repair done at that time, our shop then charges for the inspection. The only thing "free" we give our customers is the owner's time to verify the technician's diagnosis and recommendations, compile an estimate to present the customer and also his time to discuss the matter with the customer. Although the complainant and her fiancé have been infrequent customers to our shop, we have experienced similar disagreements by this couple about paying for authorized inspections and repairs in the past. In this particular instant, the complainant arrived after her fiancé called requesting to drop in (without an appointment) to diagnose a coolant leak and a check engine light that was illuminated. It was clearly explained to the complainant before our technicians took her car into the shop that there was going to be a charge for the inspection; she said she understood and gave us permission to perform the diagnosis. The charge for the entire diagnosis was $88.05; this consisted of $25 for the coolant system inspection, in which loose coolant hoses were discovered. We charged $15 to tighten the clamps on all the coolant hoses and then retested the coolant system to ensure no further leaks were noted. We charged $45 to plug the car into our diagnostic equipment to retrieve the malfunction indicator codes to determine what repairs, if any, would need to be done to correct any conditions discovered. Two malfunction indicator codes were retrieved and recommended repairs were annotated on the work order. After these steps were completed, a bill was presented to the complainant for this diagnosis that she authorized. It was at this point the complainant balked at being charged anything at all. She chose to leave our property to converse with her fiancé over her cell phone. When she came back to confront the owner, she was combative to the point of being disorderly. It was at that point the owner returned the keys to her car and told the complainant he was no longer interested in doing business with her or her fiancé. The complainant got into her vehicle and left our shop. Shortly thereafter the fiancé called the shop and spoke with the shop's co-owner. She told him that we were not at all interested in doing business with them again, we did not want their money, and to please loose our phone number. The man called back, and spoke to the owner. The man promised to come back to our shop that Friday (Oct 18th) to pay the bill in full of $88.05. The shop owner agreed to that action and after the bill was paid, an invoice, which includes the diagnosis for the check engine light, would be provided. To date, the bill remains unpaid. Therefore, the complainant did NOT get her car repaired - it was only diagnosed. The owner did allow the complainant to leave with her car without paying her bill. We did tighten the coolant hoses to stop the coolant leak. This action is not a repair; it is a service. As for the other charges, we performed the inspections on this vehicle that both the complainant and her fiancé asked us to do. If the invoice is paid in full, we will be happy to provide an invoice which outlines the diagnosis tests performed and recommended repairs. Before this BBB complaint was filed, we had already conveyed to the complainant and her fiancé that due to their history of unrealistic expectations of the services of our shop, we do not want their money and we no longer wish to do business with them. We find the accusations of our unprofessional language and the threat of applying a lien to the complaint's car totally untrue. It plain did not happen on OUR part. Those familiar with and do business with the owner of this shop know he would never direct such language to his customers, especially women. The co-owner never addressed the complainant directly during this entire visit; the complainant only spoke to the owner. It is also worth noting that renewal of plates is not impeded by any liens on a vehicle; so the threat of applying a lien was never expressed to the complainant. This shop is not and never was interested in pursuing legal means to obtain $88.05; therefore this couple can rest assured that our company will not waste the time, cost and energy to collect such a small bad debt. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) they are lying about what happened but I dont care any more. No one told me that they were going to charge me to look at my truck, I think they just wanted to fix it and thought i would pay them. This was all done without my authorization. I no longer need their **** invoice, and I have copies of everything that has been written on this page. I have already found a better place to get my truck fixed, so I will no longer bring my truck to Ernies ******* auto service. I really didnt think anything positive was going to come out of this, but I tried. Thank you for all your efforts! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/12) */ The complainant's version differs greatly to recollections of the owners and employees of this shop as to the details of this transaction both during and afterwards. Be that as it may, it seems the complainant, according to the previous reply, is now willing to concede to the agreement that was made with her when she left our shop; she refuses to pay for our services, so therefore no invoice will be provided. Auto repair shops are a service industry; they sell automotive services to diagnose, repair and maintain their customer's vehicles. Service industries must operate for profit in order to stay in business to continue to serve the communities where they exist. Therefore, we are surprised that the complainant feels she is entitled to reap the benefits of our technician's training and expertise to diagnose her car problem without compensation to our business. However, customers are free to choose which businesses they want to patronize, just like businesses reserve the right to deny service to anyone. We wish the complainant luck in finding another shop that can meet her needs and expectations.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie's Auto Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)