Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Auto Care Inc

Phone: (773) 282-1466 Fax: (773) 282-3211 3011 N Central Ave, Chicago, IL 60634


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Auto Care Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Auto Care Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Central Auto Care Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1994 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 10/05/1998 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ted Piekut, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted Piekut, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Service - Tires/Batteries/Accessories Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

This business offers: Auto repair including engine, fuel system, emissions, and performance maintenance; brake systems, axle service/replacement, wheels, and tires; cooling system service, air conditioning and heater service; electrical circuits, switches, and electronics; transmission and clutch service; charging and starting systems; complete computer diagnostic; computer re-programming.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Central Auto Care Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3011 N Central Ave

    Chicago, IL 60634 (773) 282-1466

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to CAC because I had, until now, known this business to be one of integrity, therefore I have been loyal to this business even though it is not local. I pass several businesses to patron here and I believe it to be a blessing to have remembered something that I looked over that could hold CAC solely responsible for damage to my vehicle. I often drive without my radio because sometimes I like silence when I drive to be alert and in tune with my vehicle. Immediately after driving away after having my oil changed, I noticed a loud clinking/clonking sound, which at first I didn't believe was coming from my vehicle because I knew my vehicle had no issues, and I know the mechanic has so far done reliable work. I allowed the proprietor to test drive my vehicle, and he drove it on roads that did not properly recreate the circumstances I tried to explain. So I asked for a second test drive and to allow me to drive. I was able to recreate the noise for him. He had the audacity to tell me that the noise was normal. Upon starting my vehicle 1 day later, I shifted into gear to pull out of a parking space and I heard the clink/clonk sound that usually I only hear while driving, only this time it was immediately followed by a very loud rumbling sound as my engine revs. It was then that I remembered an oversight that I should have mentioned, had I known it was relevant to my issue. While getting my oil changed, I dined next door at a restaurant. Upon finishing my meal, my card was declined causing me to have to walk to the nearest ATM machine to withdraw cash. As I left the restaurant, I noticed one of the mechanics backing my vehicle out of the garage, however I noticed also that my reverse lights were not lit. I assumed maybe the vehicle was in neutral, which is a mistake that some people do make, so I didn't think anything about it. My vehicle was moving backwards, but the reverse lights were not on. It wasn't until now that I realize that the mechanic may have been backing my vehicle out of the garage without the gear selector properly in gear. Also from the moment I drove away I could smell oil, which again I assumed was the outdoors, but the same scent has been following me now since my oil change. I patron this business often and have for a long time, and the most insulting part of all this, was for the proprietor to ask me was the sound there before I brought the vehicle to him. I was so upset over the noise that it completely slipped my mind that I witnessed mishandling of my vehicle because I had no clue what was the cause, all I do know is the noise was not there before I brought my vehicle, and now the noise is there. Rather accidental or not, there was negligence that has caused additional damage to my vehicle and I would like it to be handled with a strong sense of urgency. My vehicle had no issues when I brought it to him, and I want it returned to it's previous condition before trusting him with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like this business's insurance information, and I want the freedom to have my vehicle evaluated by a 3rd party, and I want the additional damage caused to my vehicle to be covered and my vehicle returned to it's original state before trusting it with CAC.

Consumer Response: After having my vehicle diagnosed, it was determined that the damage was caused to the exhaust flex, which is a part designed to accommodate the jolting of the engine while shifting gears. Upon evaluation, it was determined that the only thing that can cause this part to wear is when the vehicle is shifted improperly. I brought to the proprietors attention that while visiting the restaurant that day, my card declined which caused me to have to walk up the street to Belmont to go to the atm. I explained to him that it had to be fate because had my card not declined, I wouldn't have caught his mechanic rolling my car out of the garage without it being completely in reverse. It was determined that there was some negligence, and I feel like the fact that the noise was not there prior to my vehicle being serviced at CAC, the proprietor should have had enough integrity to consider that because he did not focus on my vehicle 100% of the time, that he could possibly be wrong. Instead, he argued that my accusations are ridiculous and impossible. I had my vehicle diagnosed by 3 facilities, Midas, Velasquez (who specializes in exhaust), and the Ford dealership. I paid $180 to diagnose my vehicle, which is actually over double what it costs to actually replace the part. I feel like I've been a patron of this business for well over a year, and he should have enough integrity to make this right. Rather he doubts it or not. I've brought him 2 other relatives vehicles, because until now I trusted him.

Business Response:
On September 18, 2015 Mr. ***** brought his car in - 2007 Taurus to change the oil. I, myself brought the car in on the lift. One of my technicians worked on the car and changed the oil. After the oil change was done my technician pulled the car out in front of the garage and brought the key to the office because he thought the customer was in the office waiting. Otherwise we park the cars in the front of the shop on the parking lot or in front on the street so it is easy to pick up by the customers. I told my technician to move the car since the customer was not in the office waiting so the entrance would not be blocked. My technician took the keys and went to the car and slowly backed out from the entrance on reverse, even stopped for traffic and parked the car on Central Ave right in front of the shop for easy pick up for the customer. While he was backing out the car on reverse Mr. ***** was passing by and my technician stopped to let him pass (apparently this was when his card was declined and he left the restaurant to go to the atm). On my surveillance system you can clearly see Mr. ***** did not even look at his car or wasn't paying any attention to the entrance way of the shop and just went straight ahead. My technician had the car on reverse to pull out of the entrance. Mr. ***** claims the back lights were not on while my technician was backing out of the shop which is false because he wasn't even paying any attention to the car which you can clearly see on my video. On my surveillance system you can see the car backing out slowly, watching for the pedestrians, stopping for Mr. ***** to pass by and then being parked. After some time passed by Mr. ***** came in to pick up the car and he asked me if we checked clinking noise which was the first time I heard about it even though he claimed he told me to check it when he brought in the car for an oil change. At this point we were busy and all our lifts were occupied so I told him he would have to wait and asked why he hasn't told me that in the first place while we were putting the car on the lift. He then said he did tell me and said he drives a long distance to my shop for service so I decided to check the noise and bring the car in again. Mr. ***** and I took the car for a test drive and at that time the car did not make any noise, no clinking, nothing. However we brought the car in second time and put it on the lift. Mr. ***** and I checked the car, from the bottom, we checked the suspension, brakes, exhaust, engine mounts. I showed Mr. ***** that the suspension parts are old (this car is 8 years old) but there was no indication that the parts need to replaced right away or that there might be any danger driving except he would need to replace front and rear struts soon as well as engine mounts were weak. I did not try to sell him these parts because they were still ok to drive for a while. I was not sure what clinking noise he was talking about as I never heard it. The whole time the car was at my shop it did not make any noise even during the test drive so I couldn't determine what noise he was talking about. Mr. ***** was by my side during the inspection of the car and up until he left the shop the car made no noise. To support my response I can provide my surveillance system video from the time he brought the car in to the moment he left the shop.
On a side note from this claim he made against my business I would like to mention that the first time I met Mr. ***** he towed his car to my shop about two years ago after hitting a pothole. He asked me to help him do an insurance fraud and lie to the insurance about the damages he had on his car. At that time he owned a different car that was old either Buick or Oldsmobile. He wanted me to do more damage to his car and claim it to the insurance it being a residue from hitting the pothole. I did not agree to this nonsense and told him this would be ridiculous and not logical for the insurance adjuster.
Please advise how I can provide you with the video evidence to my response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Central Auto Care Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart